Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Blood and Guts™ Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Blood and Guts™ Short

Cleaning your catch usually results in dirtying your clothes. Not with these durable shorts—the lightweight ripstop fabric resists stains, dries fast, and even comes with built-in sun protection.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
39 out of 43(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Review 1 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok

PostedJune 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Maryville, IL
The fit is more tailored then the Silver Ridge II. Good for some but I have thick thighs so had to return them. I ordered these for the fabric and dark sage color which I liked. However, I found the features not has useful as the Silver Ridge II. I prefer deeper front pockets to prevent stuff from falling out when you sit. The zipper on the back pocket was getting caught on its flap cover.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Short legs

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Canton Michigan
The waste is good, the material is good, the features are great, but the legs on too short. These shorts come to above my knees. I can see how shorter legs would benefit fishermen, but they are just not comfortable. I wish the cut on these shorts is similar to the casual shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slime Proof

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer avatar
  • Expert
User submitted photo
During a recent magazine assignment, I wore my Blood and Guts shorts while fishing for big bull reds in North Carolina. The lightweight material kept me cool and comfortable, but the ultimate test came after holding a big slimy bull for a photograph. The front of my shorts were covered with slime, yet they dried quickly afterwards. When I later washed them, all evidence of the slime was gone and the shorts are as good as new. I'm very impressed with quality and performance of these shorts and I've already bought a couple more pairs. For hardcore fishing, the Blood and Guts are "the Bomb."
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NO OTHER SHORTS WILL DO

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: South Texas
These are the last activity short I will ever buy.
They are quick dry and coo fit in hot weather.
Most comfortable work shorts I have ever owned.
Mom hit a Grand Slam with this one.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shorts ever made!

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Texas, Coast
  • Expert
User submitted photo
I am a full-time fishing and hunting guide on the Texas Coast. I clean more fish in a week than most folks clean in years. These shorts do not stain. They keep me looking nice for my customers without blood stains. If they had a downside (which they don't) it would be far outwieghed by the anti-staining features.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love It

PostedMay 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Wonderful FL Keys GOD'S Country
Way tooo short. I also wear size 42 inch waist these are 42 inches but are way to tight. I sure hope they stretch???
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What great shorts!

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Dunedin, Florida
This is the third pair of these same shorts that I have.
I like the sage color very much!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool shorts

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer avatar
I am a female and I enjoy wearing these shorts! They are roomy and super comfortable. The fabric dries really quickly. I bought them for hiking but I find myself wearing them pretty much everywhere. The 8" inseam is a good length for women as it hits me just above the knee.I love the side pocket with velcro to put my ID and cash in so I don't have to carry a purse.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer avatar
I have just purchased my 4th and 5th pair of Blood and Guts shorts. I have worn these shorts almost every day for the last 2 years (I was a concrete construction worker during that time.) The durability is amazing. PLease do not stop making these shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Blood and Guts™ Short

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer avatar
I must get another pair, so comfortable!!!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice style, light, and comfortable

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
I have five of the Blood and Guts shorts. The 8-inch inseam is perfect since I'm 5'-7" and shorts with longer inseams look goofy on me. The product is extremely comfortable to wear, plus the two back pockets and the front-left cargo-style pockets always get used. I appreciate the variety of colors, as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

blood And Guts Rock!!

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
(click to see the video)
hi i use the Blood And Guts collection daily and im very hard on my gear i can honestly say that the product dose what they claim to do."come clean" my only tip is make sure you read the cleaning label and follow directions and im sure you'll be satisfied as i am .
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fit

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houma, LA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit and Fast Shipping. Exactly as described, thin, breathable material. Feels like it would dry fast and stand up to a weekend offshore. Haven't field tested yet.
Activities: Fishing - Deep Sea
Conditions: Open Ocean
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blood and guts

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ardmore,OK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liked the first pair so well bought the other 2 colors. Right length and dry really fast.
Activities: Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Sweaty, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great summer shorts

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like the lightweight but durable material. Perfect for my trip to Hawaii this summer.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

blood & guts

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: naples fl
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
change the name - they are great shorts for everything. the back pockets are a little long -- the front pockets are a little short - other then those two items the shorts are great for warm weather wearing.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very short

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
I wasn't able to use these shorts so my review is solely on fit, not on performance or quality. The 8" inseam, only one available at the time, is really short. Put it this way they were barely an inch longer than my boxers. Also the two main pockets were very small, I could barely fit my hands in them. The waist fit correct but that was about it. The shorts were 30" x 8" perhaps the 10" length would be better but they never seem available.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Over Priced

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After buying 3 pair and wearing them I do like them, but finding them at a local store for a much lower price I will never buy online from the web site again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bld&guts Shorts

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: cape cod mass
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fits fine, comfortable, extremely light weight, and very easy to clean.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Blood and Guts™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice shorts

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really like these. some complain about them being to short, but for an active short i think they are perfect. only thing i notice, i got black, is i see "dust" on them quite often. not big deal but worth mentioning.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>