Customer reviews for Columbia Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress

Columbia Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress

A comfortable, versatile staple of swimsuit season, this beachy full-length maxi dress has a lovely drape, sweat-wicking fabrication, and a flattering high waistline that elongates your figure.
Overall rating:
3.917 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
9 out of 12(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reel Beauty II Maxi Dress

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Tacoma, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this dress for a trip to Hawaii, but I think it will do well for Washington state summers, as well. Fabric is soft. Nice dress!
I would recommend this product.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute basic

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:Yes
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got the maxi dress in black and it's a great little basic dress. It's just a tad on the short side which is why I gave it 3 stars. I'm 5'6, 125lbs and most maxi dresses fit just right in length on me.
It also runs a tad large, I got the XS and it fits perfectly but I would normally wear a S.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Returned-fabric not as expected

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Bellingham, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I thought this dress would be wrinkle free, soft and flowing. It is cotton and somewhat heavy. Might be perfect for some but I wanted it for the basic black dress for travel.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Maxi Dress

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: MizzouRah
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the dress. I bought two last year in another striped pattern. I'm 5'4 and they are true maxi dress length. Super comfortable and flattering. Highly Recommend!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super comfortable

PostedSeptember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Kansas City, MO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This dress runs a little small. I'm usually a small in other maxi dresses. This one fits, but is a little more snug in the belly area and isn't as flattering as it would have been if I would have ordered a small.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MtnMimi

PostedMarch 13, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Tennessee, USA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I'm not smart enough to maneuve, But, I want you ladies to know how comfortable these dresses are. I have the full set of the dresses, except Navy, due to my lack of computer skills. I have taken sequined tops to dress them or a sweater,which are also offered by Columbia. I have Health issues and these dresses are so soft when my skin is so tender. You can go to sleep in them, get up, an they look fresh out of the closet. I recommend them so earnestly. I promise you will love them. Throw on a pair of heels or sandals and your business look is just beautiful.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Fav

PostedApril 2, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, Il
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the maxi it fits in all the right places from arm hole to hip length. I'm 5'2 so the dress is way to long so I do have to get it trim to ankle size length.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dress

PostedApril 7, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Jacksonville, FL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have this dress in black and loved it. So I bought the navy stripe, had to return it. The way the stitching meets at the bust was off and looked strange so I returned. The black is wonderful and wear it a lot, it is now beginning to fade just a bit from Florida sun.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this dress!

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In one day, I wore this dress, bicycled to and from the office (tucked dress hem into my Spanks to keep it off the chain) on the train, to a school function, to the art museum for a concert and showing, and walked two miles in the city, in 88° heat. The fabric and drape feel great. The cut is flattering. The dress is sewn well. I have washed it five times. After washing on delicate, I usually toss it in the dryer for a bit on low heat and then line dry. Love that I can wear it without bra showing, but if you add a shelf bra to some of your dresses, and a light sweater to the Columbia clothing line and I'd be so grateful. Since I wear this to the office, and out to dinner, a light 3/4 length sleeve sweater of same fabric and quality would complete its functionality. Add adjustable straps/snaps, so I don't have to tuck it into my Spanks, to ride my bike, and I'd be awed.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

comfy and versatile

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought this is two colors, super comfortable, can dress up or keep nice and casual. Only complaint is that it is big in the top/arms for the size. I got a Small and it fit perfectly through waist and legs, but wish the straps were about an inch or two tighter
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Craftsmanship is Lacking

PostedMay 1, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this dress hoping for the amazing quality that normally accompanies my Columbia purchases. I bought the striped blue version and thought it would be versatile and go with everything. It arrived and I was immediately disappointed. The lines below the bustline were terribly unmatched. It's distracting to the point of needing to return the dress. Columbia, if you make something with stripes, at least match up the stripes. It looks bad. Also, not a huge deal for some people who like the style, but the way the waistline is positioned, the dress kind of looks like it should be maternity. I could have lived with that, but the pattern mistake was a deal breaker.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Women's PFG Reel Beauty™ II Maxi Dress
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product