Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Armadale™ Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Armadale™ Dress

Built to bring femininity to the outdoors, the Armadale’s built-in UPF 40 sun protection and sweat-wicking technology blend with an amazing sweeping fit in a soft drapey fabric that flatters any shape.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
40 out of 45(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Review 1 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this dress! Fits perfectly....I ordered a small for my 5'5"/120lb frame. The dress travels well and doesn't wrinkle. It's lightweight too. Definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this dress!

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: In picture at Santander Colombia, Live in Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect dress to dress down or up. It's easy care so no worries about wrinkles. Dries in a flash and light as a feather. I purchased one in every color and it will be a sure thing for all my travels and around town.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Boating, Other, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Humid, Other, Hot
 
Products related to my review
Women's Armadale™ Dress
4.6 out of 5(48)
 
 
 
 
Women's Coral Point™ Short
4.4 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile Dress!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Des Moines, IA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love, love, LOVE this dress. I bought one last summer and felt like I was constantly washing it so I could wear it again. It was perfect to throw on and look great all day. The light-weight and fast-drying fabric is great for summer! I frequently put it over a wet bathing suit and it dried very quickly. I'm 5'6" and weigh 195, large chested as well. I bought the large and I thought it fit really well.
Activities: Swimming, Canoeing, Boating, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Boxy dress

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Westlake Village, CA and Boulder, CO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So cool in theory. Lower section very light and airy, top is heavy material. Basically, some Med dresses seem very big, and some fit just right. This one hung on my like a sack. I am 5'4, 128. I did not like it enough to try the small. Might look good on a flat chested sporty frame, but not on someone curvy.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic wear

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland,OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great dress that packs well for vacations. I love the light weight fabric and pockets!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to dress.

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sandpoint, ID
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this dress!! It has been to Belize and Hawaii with me. So great to just throw on and go. Not just for traveling... I also wear ot with a cardigan or light jacket. Light breezy material, great fit. I now own it in 3 colors!
I am a size 10 and the medium fits great. Body of dress is flowy and non constricting if you are pear shaped like me.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS!

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Beverly Hills, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haven't worn a dress in 40 years... I am a VERY YOUNG 61 yr old, high energy lady who has always worn jeans, etc. This year the dresses are so cute I thought I'd try this one....I'm 5'4"
120 pounds and the X-small fits me like a glove!!! I'm a 32C and it fits close, but not tight...this is the most comfortable fabric, stretch, just the right length (at the knee, not BELOW and not thigh!) and the great thing...it has POCKETS that no one would ever know are there. THis a great dress for anything...no jacket, jacket, walking, running, shopping, etc. I bought the Red/coral and it's a vibrant red with a touch of orange. Love it....am buying another! AND THE PRICE IS GREAT, TOO!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love this Dress

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Faribault, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this dress in winter green and the color looks great with my skin tone (I have very light skin) even when I tan it looks good. This dress is very comfortable, I wore it on a 90-degree day and it kept me cool. I love the pockets and it hits me a little below the knees (I am 5' 5") so I love that it covers me up, not to short. And the top is perfect; I can wear a normal bra and not worry about my straps showing. I would for sure recommend this dress.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for a cover up

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Louisville, Ky
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love he fit and the color. The material is awesome.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dress!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great lightweight dress. The fabric is soft, it lays nice and dries quickly. I am 5'5", 135 lbs and the size small fit me perfect. It's perfect for all occasions. I've worn it hiking, fishing, shooting, camping, running, as a cover up at the river and out shopping. It doesn't wrinkle which makes it perfect for travel. I ordered the green and the purple and I love them both. The colors are bright and the fabric holds its shape over time.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dress for many different activities!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I first ordered this dress in a size Small and had to return it because it was little bit too big on the top half. I wear a 34A and the top was loose around the armpits and you could see my bra. When I got the XS it fit perfectly. I'm 5'8" tall and weigh 130 lbs. The dress hits right above the knee for me, so it's a great length that's not too short.
The material is a very lightweight material and it's dries super fast. It's very comfortable and stretchy and moves with your body when you move. I don't feel constricted at all when I wear this dress. It also has pockets which is a nice feature.
I ordered this dress for a vacation in St. John (which I haven't gone on yet), but I've already worn the dress a few times to school (I'm a teacher and it dressy enough and cool enough for school when it's really hot outside) and I've worn it to graduation parties and softball games. It's really a great all around dress.
My only negative, which isn't huge, is that the fabric on the top of the dress is very clingly, so it shows any bulge or lump. You can see the outline of my bra when I wear it, but that's not really a big deal to me. You can always throw on a light sweater or jacket to cover that up if it bothers you.
Overall, I love this dress and I'm thinking about ordering more in different colors. I ordered the mint green dress and it's really pretty.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home run, Columbia!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This a really great dress! Fits well, feels good on and is super cute. It has the added bonus of accommodating figures that may be a size smaller in the bust than in the hips, while remaining slimming. I'm guessing the reverse might also be true for this dress.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything it's supposed to be

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Green Bay WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight (translation: washes and dries quickly, perfect for hot days), flattering pleats from the empire waist, skims the body. Modest (can wear regular bra) for this middle-aged body.
Just needs accessories to give it some punch for city wear. Would love to see it available in prints as well as solids.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Summer Dress

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Redding, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fabric and quality of the dress is wonderful. I selected the Blue patterned dress (Grilled Paisley) and while it looks great on, I found it to be more for casual wear than the claimed versatility of dressing it up for other events. I need to shorten the hem a little to work with my height although the overall fit is flattering. This was a good purchase!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect dress for traveling

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ct.
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We picked up our new RV in Houston Texas during a 110 degree heat wave and I had not packed for that. Ran into a sporting goods store and found this dress. It is wonderfully lite weight and comfortable in the heat. You can just wash it out and it's dry by morning. Wore the first dress I bought so much that I came home and ordered 2 more. Just wish I could have bought another black one, but they were sold out and I'm not surprised. It also has pockets big enough to hold a cell phone.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

TOO SMALL

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Aloha OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DOESN'T FIT XTRA LARGE WOMAN
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great summer dress when it's hot outside

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great anytime dress. Looks super cute for being outside in the hot weather. The fit is a bit small so I would order up a size if you don't want it to be real tight on top. I also have the Marakesh Dress and thought it was the same but it does not fit the same, I have a medium in the Marakesh and had to get a large in this one, the waist is higher on this one and the top is tighter. But other than that is it the same style and I love it. Packs great and easy to wear. You can dress it up or down. I have it is three colors.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Love Love This Dress

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This dress is so comfortable. I wear it for bike riding with bike shorts under it, or I put nice sandals & jewelry and wear for business. I want a couple more of these. I also love the pockets...and I was never one to like pockets in dresses not wanting them to make me look wider but these pockets don't. Also, the dress size is XL and it fits well as compared to the other dresses from Columbia that fit snug.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dress!

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Davie,Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE this Dress I have worn it shopping and out to dinner it looks great simple or dressed up! Like that it has pockets too!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dress

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Tiffin, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The dress had it all! Cool fabric for these hot days we have been experiencing,modest length,little kick pleat and best of all pockets. Unfortunately, the dress ran small for me and when I tried to reorder in a larger size they were completely sold out.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>