Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Armadale™ Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Armadale™ Dress

Built to bring femininity to the outdoors, the Armadale’s built-in UPF 40 sun protection and sweat-wicking technology blend with an amazing sweeping fit in a soft drapey fabric that flatters any shape.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
40 out of 45(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Review 1 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to dress.

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sandpoint, ID
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this dress!! It has been to Belize and Hawaii with me. So great to just throw on and go. Not just for traveling... I also wear ot with a cardigan or light jacket. Light breezy material, great fit. I now own it in 3 colors!
I am a size 10 and the medium fits great. Body of dress is flowy and non constricting if you are pear shaped like me.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS!

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Beverly Hills, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haven't worn a dress in 40 years... I am a VERY YOUNG 61 yr old, high energy lady who has always worn jeans, etc. This year the dresses are so cute I thought I'd try this one....I'm 5'4"
120 pounds and the X-small fits me like a glove!!! I'm a 32C and it fits close, but not tight...this is the most comfortable fabric, stretch, just the right length (at the knee, not BELOW and not thigh!) and the great thing...it has POCKETS that no one would ever know are there. THis a great dress for anything...no jacket, jacket, walking, running, shopping, etc. I bought the Red/coral and it's a vibrant red with a touch of orange. Love it....am buying another! AND THE PRICE IS GREAT, TOO!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love this Dress

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Faribault, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this dress in winter green and the color looks great with my skin tone (I have very light skin) even when I tan it looks good. This dress is very comfortable, I wore it on a 90-degree day and it kept me cool. I love the pockets and it hits me a little below the knees (I am 5' 5") so I love that it covers me up, not to short. And the top is perfect; I can wear a normal bra and not worry about my straps showing. I would for sure recommend this dress.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dress for many different activities!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I first ordered this dress in a size Small and had to return it because it was little bit too big on the top half. I wear a 34A and the top was loose around the armpits and you could see my bra. When I got the XS it fit perfectly. I'm 5'8" tall and weigh 130 lbs. The dress hits right above the knee for me, so it's a great length that's not too short.
The material is a very lightweight material and it's dries super fast. It's very comfortable and stretchy and moves with your body when you move. I don't feel constricted at all when I wear this dress. It also has pockets which is a nice feature.
I ordered this dress for a vacation in St. John (which I haven't gone on yet), but I've already worn the dress a few times to school (I'm a teacher and it dressy enough and cool enough for school when it's really hot outside) and I've worn it to graduation parties and softball games. It's really a great all around dress.
My only negative, which isn't huge, is that the fabric on the top of the dress is very clingly, so it shows any bulge or lump. You can see the outline of my bra when I wear it, but that's not really a big deal to me. You can always throw on a light sweater or jacket to cover that up if it bothers you.
Overall, I love this dress and I'm thinking about ordering more in different colors. I ordered the mint green dress and it's really pretty.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home run, Columbia!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This a really great dress! Fits well, feels good on and is super cute. It has the added bonus of accommodating figures that may be a size smaller in the bust than in the hips, while remaining slimming. I'm guessing the reverse might also be true for this dress.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything it's supposed to be

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Green Bay WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight (translation: washes and dries quickly, perfect for hot days), flattering pleats from the empire waist, skims the body. Modest (can wear regular bra) for this middle-aged body.
Just needs accessories to give it some punch for city wear. Would love to see it available in prints as well as solids.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Summer Dress

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Redding, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fabric and quality of the dress is wonderful. I selected the Blue patterned dress (Grilled Paisley) and while it looks great on, I found it to be more for casual wear than the claimed versatility of dressing it up for other events. I need to shorten the hem a little to work with my height although the overall fit is flattering. This was a good purchase!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dress

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Tiffin, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The dress had it all! Cool fabric for these hot days we have been experiencing,modest length,little kick pleat and best of all pockets. Unfortunately, the dress ran small for me and when I tried to reorder in a larger size they were completely sold out.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have this dress in three colors

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this dress last year and loved it so much, I bought the same dress in two more colors. This dress is so comfortable and can be worn at the beach/pool or out to dinner (anywhere/every day). I love that it doesn't wrinkle and is easy to pack/travel. I would highly recommend!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Armadale Dress

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Alabama
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This dress is the most comfortable dress I own.... I love to wear it! It is easy easy to wear, pack, wash and wear again! After a long day on my horse or kayaking, comfort is what I look for and this dress delivers with style. For casual wear, pair it with some sandals. Add some earrings and a necklace and it becomes my evening out dress of choice.
Some dresses make you long for the moment you can take them off and get into your comfy sweats, but this dress looks and feels good all the time. I now have two of them!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Dress!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Toledo, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was vacationing in Myrtle Beach in the Spring and bought 2 of these dresses at the Outlet Store, one in black and one in teal. I loved them so much that I ordered one at full price in the Black Frontastic Print and it is even better! I am a 36DD (size M) and the top fit PERFECTLY! This dress can be worn anywhere at any time. I wash it on cold/delicate and hang to dry and it only takes hours to dry with no wrinkles! Wonderful for travel! I am between 5'4 and 5'5 and the length hits right at my knees which is also perfect. I can't say enough about this amazing dress. I can't wait to order the Berry Jam & Winter Green!! Please make more colors and prints and I will buy them all!! :)
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Picture Deceiving

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia Beach
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was surprised by the look and feel of the dress. From the picture it looked like it was a bit more substantial and draped like a "normal" fabric dress. The material is light like a nylon and I wouldn't be comfortable wearing it anywhere except may-be the beach. It fit fine, just not what I was looking for.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So cute and comfortable

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: LA, California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This dress is a very flattering style for most body shapes. Very slimming, not binding or constricting. Perfect for travel, since I bought two in different colors last year for a trip to Hawaii, and was thrilled to find it again in black this year! Nice length for the over 50 crowd, just slightly above the knee.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as flattering as everyone else says!

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Madison, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This dress is far from flattering! The material is so thin and the quality of the dress is minimal. It also did not seem to be as wrinkle free as others have written in terms of a great traveling dress. The bright rose color is more pink than it appears online. I am very disappointed in the dress and will be sending it back.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this dress! Fits perfectly....I ordered a small for my 5'5"/120lb frame. The dress travels well and doesn't wrinkle. It's lightweight too. Definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile Dress!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Des Moines, IA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love, love, LOVE this dress. I bought one last summer and felt like I was constantly washing it so I could wear it again. It was perfect to throw on and look great all day. The light-weight and fast-drying fabric is great for summer! I frequently put it over a wet bathing suit and it dried very quickly. I'm 5'6" and weigh 195, large chested as well. I bought the large and I thought it fit really well.
Activities: Swimming, Canoeing, Boating, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Dress!

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful Dress! I just love the way it feels! I'm now wanting one in every color!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful dress for the summer months

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New Hampshire
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this dress last year and loved wearing it during the summer. Fits well and not clingy. Lost some weight over the winter and came back to buy 2 more in a size smaller (bright pink and the black). Love this dress in the solid colors. Wished you made it in a solid mid-blue (maybe a lapis blue) and I would buy another.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this dress to wear for my college graduation. I usually hate wearing dresses, but I love this one. The only con is it runs a little big. I order small and its a little too big for me. I am 5 '4 116 lbs. I like how simple it is.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Armadale™ Dress
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic wear

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland,OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great dress that packs well for vacations. I love the light weight fabric and pockets!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>