Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short

Columbia Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short

Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Review 1 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for paddling

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kathy808
Location: Hanalei, Kauai, HI
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for the perfect shorts for stand-up paddling, and this is it. Comfortable, quick-drying, and just the right amount of coverage. Pockets work perfectly for a waterproof camera. I wear these shorts over a bathing suit. Normally I'm a size 6, but I heeded the advice of others and bought a size 8. Perfect fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fitting Short

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
PJ74
Location: Gold Canyon, AZ
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had read a review that said these were sized small, but I did not find this to be the case. They are so comfortable I described them to my husband as feeling like a second skin. I love the way they move with me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and good looking

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kikiolani
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased size 10 which fits properly but still allows plenty of room to stretch and be very active - like for climbing or hiking. The only available color in my size was a pale gray, "fossil", I think. I would have preferred a darker gray or maybe olive green or black and will look for those colors in the future. However, the pale gray does work well with almost any other color. This short has lots of great features: double button and zip closure, hidden zipper back pocket, and two deep front pockets with mesh at the bottom corner of each pocket so sand and water will flow through. I don't fish, but like most of the PFG clothing, it works for me!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Style and High Quality

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Levon
Location: Tropics
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shorts (navy size 4) at my favorite gear store and was so impressed with them that I came on the Columbia site to buy another pair. I purchased the cool gray and wish that they had more color choices.
They do run a bit small but they are meant to be more fitted. They are really flattering and the perfect length. This is an example of a company getting their product just right with form and function!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, lightweight, stretchy shorts

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elle88
Location: La Jolla, CA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these navy shorts! They are lightweight, very stretchy, and are very comfortable. I usually wear a 4, but Columbia usually runs a little smaller, so I bought a 6 and they are perfect. I am 5'7 and 109 lbs. I like them so much I thought about buying more colors. Perfect for walking or hiking.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorites

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Flygirl2
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shorts. They are light weight stretchy and comfortable. I use them to hike, fly fish, golf and just wear around the house. They run a little small, buy one size up.
I hope Columbia comes out with more colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shorts, cool and comfortable.

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Disrael314
Location: Gainesville, FL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My new favorite shorts! Wish they came in more colors.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Fit

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy136
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hiking shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Pair of Shorts!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
PickleballBarb
Location: Madison, WI
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As we all know, finding a good fitting pair of shorts or pants is not easy to do. However, I highly recommend the Ultimate Catch Short for its superb fit, comfort, and styling. There is nothing I would change about this short because it perfectly fits my needs. Although it is touted as a short for fishing (how many women actually go fishing???), it works wonderfully for my purpose of playing a sport called pickle ball.
The shorts are incredibly light weight, are totally flexible, fit beautifully and have pockets which can accommodate a pickle ball, but which do not bag out in the least bit if you don't want to use them for carrying something. It is the stretchy fabric which is the key to the fit and the comfort of the shorts as well as the ability to actually use the pockets for something other than decoration. I already have another woman player who is pestering me to know how to locate these shorts!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extaordinarily comfortable

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Franboop
Location: South Florida
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore these for two steamy, hot, and afternoon wet weekends at Disney in Florida, and they were the most comfortable and dry shorts I have ever worn in the hot Florida summer. The stretch, anti-stain, and water repellent features worked as advertised while the shorts were so lightweight you didn't feel hot and bothered.
The downside is that the comfy fabric is thin, without much body, so it tends to ride up a little. Not bad, and not noticeable except to the wearer (or so my husband said), but the reason for the quality downgrade to 4 stars.
Sizing was a little small, but not a whole size small. I purchased two sizes, could fit into both, and opted to keep the larger size. Trim but not tight fit (not at all baggy) and longer leg length were just what I was looking for.
Liked them so much I ordered more.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fitting shorts I have very owned!

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gingin
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought these shorts in cool grey - and wow! They are very cool! They feel like butter and fit like a glove - not tight, not baggy. Just right! the fabric is a dream - very light and stretchy.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Ultimate Catch™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got it right

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
rockin12
Location: palm bay, fl
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pair of shorts I have ever owned. Elastic inside the shorts and fits great. Got 1 size larger and they fit perfect. Inseam is just right for my long legs. Material is so lightweight that you hardly know you have them on. I will definitely be ordering more in different colors.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.