Customer reviews for Columbia Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short

Columbia Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short

These rugged shorts are designed for comfort during long hours on the water, with built-in UPF 50 sun protection, an easy-fitting partial elastic waistband, and plenty of pockets for small-items storage.
Overall rating:
3.636 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
8 out of 11(73%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Review 1 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impractical Design and Worthless Function

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
ksharp62
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Columbia took a perfectly designed product for in the old 2012-2013 PFG Brewha™ II Short and replaced it with a version that can be purchased at any sports outlet for a much cheaper price. This new shorts design is not in keeping with what I believe to be the strongest asset of Columbia sportswear......rugged and practical!!! The old design provided much more storage for necessary items (ie., cell phone or other emergency item in the side pouch pocket, front thigh pockets perfect for power bars or minor first aid items, rear zip pocket for ID's and contact information).
Columbia caved and produced a product that any female outdoor enthusiast would reject and go back to the old fanny pack for storage!!!!
Useless!!!!!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the Brewha II of 2012, 2013

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Stickers
Location: New Mexico
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I want the 2012 2013 design. I loved the fit, the pockets on the front, and the perfect phone pocket on the hip. That style also had the right length and the right height above the hip. Bring back the original brewha 2.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bruha runs small

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Mems15
Location: Hilo Hawaii, Big Island
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am normally an extra large in most shorts. These must run small because they did not fit at all. I liked them and would have used them but instead gave them to my daughter who is on the small size of a large.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
anne52
Location: San Angelo, Texas
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a rural mail carrier in Texas, and wear shorts about eight months of the year.
Bought the same style 2 or 3 years ago, and love them.
Fit great, comfortable, wash well and no iron.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I ordered one in every color!

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Marty99
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are great. The durability is so good - similar ones have lasted years of heavy use. I like the medium length as it is hard to find shorts that are not Bermudas or short shorts. They are casual enough to go hiking and play sports, but I would wear them with a nice blouse to a summer party. Thanks Columbia for providing such great consistency in your products!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another style to try if you love the Brewah short.

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
DOMartha
Location: Houston. TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the original Brewah PFG short. But this is a good alternative. I want to see you produce it in Denim. Not a stupid skirt. I want the denim short to return. The short is good looking, a little more tailored. Good fit and comfortable. Not too short.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flattering utility short

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Jerrom4
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fabric of these shorts is nice and substantial, not light weight, can be dressy or casual. The small amount of elastic in the waist help the fit so there's no gapping in back and make it a flattering fit. The pockets are a plus - nice and deep for holding cell phones and other necessities.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great working shorts

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
plantswoman
Location: Santa Cruz
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
useful pockets, sturdy construction, perfect for working in the nursery in the summer.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not As Rugged;Rise Is Too Short

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer avatar
TriChris
Location: Sartoga Springs, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've ordered this short before, but this version of it is a pale version of the original, which was made of a tougher, more rugged fabric. Also, the rise seems to be shorter, and it is just not as comfortable. (I am 5'3' and weigh 130.) Also, what happend to the extra pocket? I'll wear these, but they fall short of th usual standards for ruggedness and function that I have come to expect from Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brewha Shorts

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Geemac
Location: Dallas, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these shorts - durable, comfortable, good fit... Will buy more. Great outdoor, active short.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's PFG Brewha™ II Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you liked the old brewha

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Blue2
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you liked the Brewha II shorts that were sold last year DO NOT BUY THESE. The waist is looser and the stretch is in a different place on your waist. That changes the whole fit. One back pocket is gone and what used to be the front pockets are now more to the side. If you put your phone in them they drag down the waist where the stretch is. Having different colors is good-don't think the material is quite the same either.
The old ones washed very well but I intend to send these back before I wash them.
How can you use the same name for a product and the same price but have an inferior, differently constructed product without warning the consumer?
I do not recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.