Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort

A classic board short in a longer length for bonus coverage. UPF 50 protection shields your skin from the sun during long hours in the water, while a water-shedding fabric dries ultra-quick to keep you comfortable all day long.
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
19 out of 22(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Review 1 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty but

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are pretty and made great but, they are not cut right in the right places - usually I have problems with the fit in the thighs and hips but in these shorts the fit was GREAT but the waist was too small which is really unusual. I can't rate the funtionality because unfortunately I had to return them. I was they would of fit I am going to the DR on vacation and these would have worked great.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boardshort

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are awesome. 9 in length is great for us shorter ladies. True to size. Would love to see them in more colors!!!
Activities: Fishing - Flats Fishing
Conditions: Sweaty, Windy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for curvy women

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fairland,IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
If you are a curvy woman these are not for you. They would be much better if they had a drawstring or elastic waist.
Activities: Swimming, Canoeing, Vacation
Conditions: Sunny, Hot
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
Maggierae
onApril 5, 2012
I ordered these for an upcoming cruise and they fit perfect except for the waist which is huge! I altered them myself with elastic but would have loved to have a drawstring! I will not buy again without drawstring or elastic. Otherwise I love the color and style. I ordered them in wintergreen.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little too small but great quality

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shorts have great color and, without actually testing them in water, feel very sturdy. However the waist is a bit small. I am 5'5", 140 lbs and usually a size 8 fits perfectly but with these, while they fit enough for me to not have to return them, they are a little bit too snug for my taste. Like one reviewer said earlier, these would be so much better with a little bit of elastic at the waist.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Fit

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The colors and style are so beautiful that I was hopeful despite the other reviews and tried it. Love the colors and piping details but it is true that it does not fit curves at all. No forgiveness at the hip and waist. Columbia, please rework this product for better feminine shape, elastic/more give etc and we will love it! You wear these to move in them!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really cute, comfortable

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the color and length of these shorts, they hit right at the knees. I find that Columbia pants and shorts run on the small size so I always make sure to order at least a size up...two sizes up if you like a looser fit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looking for Long board shorts?

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We found this product and it fits the bill! Stylish, like variety in color trim, good water material, long enough inseam, not too short. More color choice would be great. Very happy with the purchase. Thanks :o)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous shorts for recreation and water sports

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Montana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are amazing. I loved the first pair so much that I bought a second pair. I would buy a third pair if they still had black in my size. I wear a size 10 normally but like the size 12 for comfort in water sports and activities. I don't understand the other reviews that say these shorts don't fit curves. Maybe a size larger than normal would have done the trick. I really recommend these shorts for boating, beach, etc. I've had a lot of compliments. The zipper pocket is also great for key, id, etc.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

board shorts

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Board shorts in general fit snug at the waist, but these are a whole size smaller. I understand that they are made to stay on the body under water, but they're not comfortable. I kept them, but still searching for swimming shorts that have that schosh of room, a decent length, and are not an obnoxious print.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great river short

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: grand canyon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these short for the river. Fit was great, dry quickly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally found water shorts to wear with my bathing suit. Perfect fit and the longer length is almost impossible to find. I have looked and looked and these shorts have everything I need.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality, nice fit, order next size up

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im female, age 59, and 5'6, and 139 lbs. The size 10 shorts fit beautifully, (I ordered one size larger than I usually wear, after reading previous reviews of them running small - yes, they do) but personally, I felt they were just too short for me, and I returned them. A length of 11" would have been perfect; had such been available, I would buy a few more pairs. If there is no concern about the length, definitely order them. Very good quality and fit nicely for smaller waistlines, unlike others I've tried.
Hope this helps! :)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are the best!! The best addition to my swimsuit. The fir is flattering and forgiving!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs VERY small

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I know this will sound bizarre, but I bought this longboard short in both orange and blue, and the blue fits true to M size, but the orange was significantly smaller. Same size, same short. I had to send the orange pair back. I don't know if the cut is different, or what. However, the design is good and the quality is good, and I'll be wearing the blue pair all summer.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

swim shorts

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: portland oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worked out well. Like the pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific board shorts!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lake Mary, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an older woman, and this is my first pair of board shorts. I love them! They fit great once you get the correct size (they do run a bit small, as other reviewers have noted). I'm 5'4", 130 lbs., and the size 10 fits me perfectly.
The shorts work well over a swim suit for water sports (they dry quickly) or as regular shorts when you're in an environment in which you could get somewhat wet (for example, near the ocean) but not necessarily immersed. They provide great coverage and dry quickly.
I tried the shorter Columbia board shorts, also (the ones with the 4" inseam), and liked them a lot, but the length didn't provide quite enough coverage, so I returned them. They run a bit more true to size than the 9" shorts.
What I would like is for Columbia to add some stretch to the waistband on this board short like the 4" ones have, and also a couple snaps on the fly rather than just velcro. The velcro does not provide a sure enough hold, in my opinion.
Also, I'd love to see a 6" board short. That would provide adequate coverage of things you want to hide but not be TOO long.
Overall, good job, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: WNC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 51 and wanted something I'd be comfortable wearing for hiking, swimming and paddling that would dry quickly and also have some length. This board short (Zing, Zing Prism) and the Siren Splash II Tank (Zing Ombre Prism and Black) are working beautifully together: both are functional and comfortable. I like the security of having the Velcro plus string tie closures. Other reviews said these fit small so I ordered up a size and am sorry I did. I feel like they're true to fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for sailing

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: NC coast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Took everyone's advice and ordered a size up so that I can move freely when sailing. Wish they were an inch or two longer as when sitting they allow sun on thighs. They did allow me to move all over the boat and did not tug anywhere.Sunscreen did the trick. They dry in no time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fitting, light-weight boardshorts

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: South Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am always looking for boardshorts, but I am generally disappointed with the fit or length. The Viva Bonita boardshorts are perfect -- fitting well with the below-waist design and providing just the right amount of leg coverage. With the multiple color options, I plan to wear these shorts most of the time since I purchased all colors.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Womens Long Boardshorts

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rockwall, TX
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to find boardshorts that are longer but Columbia usually has a selection. Good quality merchandise. I did have to exchange for a larger size because they ran a bit small.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>