Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort

Columbia Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort

A classic board short in a longer length for bonus coverage. UPF 50 protection shields your skin from the sun during long hours in the water, while a water-shedding fabric dries ultra-quick to keep you comfortable all day long.
Overall rating:
4.261 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
19 out of 22(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Review 1 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great -multiple uses

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
SF2HI
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shorts for beach vacation and love them. They fit true to size and are good quality. Not too long not too short and will be great for travel. They are cute enough to wear on beach or walking around town. I love 'em.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You definitely get what you pay for

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeeF
Location: Kerens, Texas
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After searching many websites and buying a couple of the same old blue/black/turquoise selection from my go to bathing suit vendor, I took the plunge and bought REAL board shorts. To get something with colors (I got the glaze green and intense violet) and good side pockets, I was willing to spend more but found these on sale. I am a 50+ woman with hips and a tummy, not a slender teenager. Thanks for making a quality product that launders well, felt secure when standing in the waves of the Gulf and looks pretty darn cute.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boardshorts

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Booper
Location: University Place WA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Be sure to buy a size larger and then the shorts will fit great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Womens Long Boardshorts

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lakegirl
Location: Rockwall, TX
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to find boardshorts that are longer but Columbia usually has a selection. Good quality merchandise. I did have to exchange for a larger size because they ran a bit small.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fitting, light-weight boardshorts

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
KLK1
Location: South Florida
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am always looking for boardshorts, but I am generally disappointed with the fit or length. The Viva Bonita boardshorts are perfect -- fitting well with the below-waist design and providing just the right amount of leg coverage. With the multiple color options, I plan to wear these shorts most of the time since I purchased all colors.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
HikesWNC
Location: WNC
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 51 and wanted something I'd be comfortable wearing for hiking, swimming and paddling that would dry quickly and also have some length. This board short (Zing, Zing Prism) and the Siren Splash II Tank (Zing Ombre Prism and Black) are working beautifully together: both are functional and comfortable. I like the security of having the Velcro plus string tie closures. Other reviews said these fit small so I ordered up a size and am sorry I did. I feel like they're true to fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific board shorts!

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
ReadyWriter
Location: Lake Mary, Florida
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an older woman, and this is my first pair of board shorts. I love them! They fit great once you get the correct size (they do run a bit small, as other reviewers have noted). I'm 5'4", 130 lbs., and the size 10 fits me perfectly.
The shorts work well over a swim suit for water sports (they dry quickly) or as regular shorts when you're in an environment in which you could get somewhat wet (for example, near the ocean) but not necessarily immersed. They provide great coverage and dry quickly.
I tried the shorter Columbia board shorts, also (the ones with the 4" inseam), and liked them a lot, but the length didn't provide quite enough coverage, so I returned them. They run a bit more true to size than the 9" shorts.
What I would like is for Columbia to add some stretch to the waistband on this board short like the 4" ones have, and also a couple snaps on the fly rather than just velcro. The velcro does not provide a sure enough hold, in my opinion.
Also, I'd love to see a 6" board short. That would provide adequate coverage of things you want to hide but not be TOO long.
Overall, good job, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for sailing

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
carolinasailor
Location: NC coast
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Took everyone's advice and ordered a size up so that I can move freely when sailing. Wish they were an inch or two longer as when sitting they allow sun on thighs. They did allow me to move all over the boat and did not tug anywhere.Sunscreen did the trick. They dry in no time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs VERY small

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
PitStopsforKids
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I know this will sound bizarre, but I bought this longboard short in both orange and blue, and the blue fits true to M size, but the orange was significantly smaller. Same size, same short. I had to send the orange pair back. I don't know if the cut is different, or what. However, the design is good and the quality is good, and I'll be wearing the blue pair all summer.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

swim shorts

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
none100
Location: portland oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worked out well. Like the pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Delle
Location: WA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are the best!! The best addition to my swimsuit. The fir is flattering and forgiving!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality, nice fit, order next size up

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sail26
Location: ohio
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im female, age 59, and 5'6, and 139 lbs. The size 10 shorts fit beautifully, (I ordered one size larger than I usually wear, after reading previous reviews of them running small - yes, they do) but personally, I felt they were just too short for me, and I returned them. A length of 11" would have been perfect; had such been available, I would buy a few more pairs. If there is no concern about the length, definitely order them. Very good quality and fit nicely for smaller waistlines, unlike others I've tried.
Hope this helps! :)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JCgo
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally found water shorts to wear with my bathing suit. Perfect fit and the longer length is almost impossible to find. I have looked and looked and these shorts have everything I need.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

board shorts

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Acustomer123
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Board shorts in general fit snug at the waist, but these are a whole size smaller. I understand that they are made to stay on the body under water, but they're not comfortable. I kept them, but still searching for swimming shorts that have that schosh of room, a decent length, and are not an obnoxious print.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great river short

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Delli
Location: grand canyon
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these short for the river. Fit was great, dry quickly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous shorts for recreation and water sports

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Montanagal
Location: Montana
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are amazing. I loved the first pair so much that I bought a second pair. I would buy a third pair if they still had black in my size. I wear a size 10 normally but like the size 12 for comfort in water sports and activities. I don't understand the other reviews that say these shorts don't fit curves. Maybe a size larger than normal would have done the trick. I really recommend these shorts for boating, beach, etc. I've had a lot of compliments. The zipper pocket is also great for key, id, etc.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looking for Long board shorts?

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lovinlife5678
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We found this product and it fits the bill! Stylish, like variety in color trim, good water material, long enough inseam, not too short. More color choice would be great. Very happy with the purchase. Thanks :o)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really cute, comfortable

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelly72
Location: Alaska
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the color and length of these shorts, they hit right at the knees. I find that Columbia pants and shorts run on the small size so I always make sure to order at least a size up...two sizes up if you like a looser fit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Fit

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
FLgirl
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The colors and style are so beautiful that I was hopeful despite the other reviews and tried it. Love the colors and piping details but it is true that it does not fit curves at all. No forgiveness at the hip and waist. Columbia, please rework this product for better feminine shape, elastic/more give etc and we will love it! You wear these to move in them!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Viva Bonita™ Long Boardshort
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little too small but great quality

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MrsScull2014
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shorts have great color and, without actually testing them in water, feel very sturdy. However the waist is a bit small. I am 5'5", 140 lbs and usually a size 8 fits perfectly but with these, while they fit enough for me to not have to return them, they are a little bit too snug for my taste. Like one reviewer said earlier, these would be so much better with a little bit of elastic at the waist.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>