Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant

Whether it’s an urban bike commute or a wilderness trek, this lightweight, packable shell creates a watertight barrier between you and the rain.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

For skiing, not biking

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
twinger
Location: St. Catharines, ON, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These pants have very wide leg cuffs, designed to fit over ski boots. For biking they are not ideal, as there's a lot of loose material to get caught in the chain. You'll need straps on both sides.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
novaguy89
Location: Woodbridge,VA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these pants to take on a 200+ mile bike trip where the weather is very unpredictable. It ended up snowing and I used the pants since it was that tick heavy wet snow. The pants held up really well at keeping me dry, the only area that I got wet was in my thighs area. The only complaint I have about the pants is that I feel they run a little large in the legs, not length but width of the pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Waterproof pants a good deal

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
EAshton
Location: Chicagio, IL
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently bought a XL Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
at discount price. When I received them, I was impressed by the quality, myriad of zippers making it very convenient.
I used them to cycle in subzero windchill today and they worked great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pants

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
RedSox
Location: Boston Ma
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice quality, as others reported they do run a bit long. Overall pretty happy with them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

BIG !

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Karie
Location: Northern California
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The pants are very long and very baggy. However, they are water resistant - good for riding your bike to work. Can easily wear them over your own pants.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does its job well

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Miah66
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore them on a rainy hike this weekend, stayed dry in the downpour. They are a bit baggy, but works well over your hiking pants. The pants have upper and lower zippers, but unfortunately the zipper doesnt disengage at the end so you can "open them up". Its not really a problem though.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good construction, but too long.

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
DanBurt33
Location: Athens, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these pants mainly for backpacking, and was a little disappointed with the sizing. I'm 5'11 and 160 lbs. and everything else I have from Columbia is a medium and fits great. These pants however are several inches too long, and slightly too baggy as well. The quality seems good, and they have kept me dry, but would have liked something a little more form fitting. Compressablility is decent, nothing to be amazed over. Overall a fairly good deal for only $70.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Work Well but fit awful

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Saydle
Location: Rockwood
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 5' 9'' and bought the smallest size. They fit like parachute pants. They do however keep me dry, block the wind, and are easy to get on. The full length zipper is a nice touch. But seriously, who are these designed for, NBA players?!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

hiking rain shell

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
arag18
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i really like the breathable mesh and easy-open storm flaps on the sides.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Own Paddling Pants

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Elhoward622
Location: Marietta, GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear rain pants while paddling 24.7 during the cold months as I am a S.O.T kayak fisherman. Tried the Vertical Vicotrys and, wow, I am ultra impressed. These have a great feel to them on the outside and the inside has a nice, soft liner that not only feels comfy to the skin, but keeps the cold sensation off your legs that comes from unlined pants. There are no pockets, but the full length zipper gives top and bottom zip access so you can get to your pockets. If you paddle in the winter, then you must own these! They seem to run just a bit long, so don't be afraid to take a size shorter than normal.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps him dry

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
SEinOregon
Location: Eugene, OR
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered these for my husband to wear during rainy football games. He was pleased that they kept him dry and are lightweight. They seemed a little long. I ordered the shortest length (32"). They will work for him but just a little to long for hiking (he is 5' 11') - OK for sitting at the game.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Features but but length is long

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
cycleguy
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product is great but more options in length are definetly needed. I find that the 32 inch inseam in Medium is too long for me. I'm 5'8" and the pants length is really for a 5'10"' or 6' individual. I found that if I rolled the waistband they gave me a lot better fit so I intend to do that. A 30 inch inseam option would be very much desired.
The pants fits well over jeans or shorts. I intend to use them when I have to walk my dog in the rain and for my cycling commutes when it rains or when the temperature is such that shorts are not an option.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain pants

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
USAMPRetired
Location: Stationed in Germany
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants have sufficient room to fit over another pair of pants (e.g. jeans) and breathe well. The side vents allow for additional ventilation, if necessary, and easy access to pockets (when covering other pants). Pants repel water very well: a great buy!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Men's Vertical Victory Pant - Too Long

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Giggles
Location: Beautiful Northwest
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The product has the right usage goals with zippers down the side but we had to return them because they were too long. Unfortunately Columbia does not accommodate height and leg length as well as we would like for men and women and this product fell into that category so we returned them unfortunately...... :-(
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Vertical Victory rain pants

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Lopaka
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got the Washington Husky hooded rain jacket for Father's day. The store did not have the rain pants. I ordered on line and received them in 4 days. I have worn both a couple of time to check out how they did in the Seattle rain. I was dry after each walk in pretty heavy rain. They will work well at the Husky football games this fall. Not only did they keep me dry but also warm.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Vertical Victory™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

haven't wear it

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
ddbear
Location: athens, ga
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't wear it. But everything looks good, and I feel no obviously stuffy. I think I can trust Columbia's quality.
I would recommend this product.
-12points
0of 12voted this as helpful.