Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket

Columbia Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket

The long silhouette provides extra protection and a lean, streamlined look while the repellent shell and Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining ensure that you stay warm and comfortable in cold winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
54 out of 57(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
happy24
Location: Long Island, NY
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needed a longer, warm jacket with a hood for this never ending winter. Ordered the jacket in white and love everything about it! It's not bulky and the style is great. I agree that it runs somewhat small, especially if you plan to wear something heavy underneath. It has kept me warm so far in the '20's feels like single digit' weather! Haven't worn it in the snow or rain, but hope it stays relatively dry. Like the longer cuffs because the help to keep my hands warm
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great winter jacket for Minnesota

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Melody
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat! It looks great and keeps me toasty warm. The arms are a bit long, but I don't think it's noticeable to any one else but me. If you do have longer arms..this coat would be perfect for you. I am 5' 4" and 125 lbs. The only negative thing I could say about this coat is that I have had zipper trouble..but it's not enough for me to return this awesome coat!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm, light and good quality of materials used

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Light34
Location: Midland, MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would definitely recommend people to buy this down jacket as it keeps me warm during -13 Fahrenheit in Midland, MI. I can walk for more than 15 minutes in the a very cold weather from my hostel to campus every day. I loves to put my hands in the pockets and they keep my hands warm with a pair of thin gloves. It's easy to clean off dirt on the jacket by wiping it with a wet cloth. I bought a XL size jacket and it fits well when I'm wearing a few layers underneath the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket as it is long enough to cover the seat of your pants!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
lanesvillelady
Location: Gloucester MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is very attractive on. I do not look like a stuffed pig! Glad I ordered a size larger than usual as it does run small. It is light weight but warm. Hope to have many good years of use from this perfect jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what I was looking for

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
ShellyR
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
light but warm
excellent length
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

omni heat reflective lining

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
el193
Location: new york new york
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is much warmer than I thought it would be. I was able to stay warm during this frigid cold winter in NYC while only wearing a light shirt under the coat. The omni heat reflective lining really added warmth to the coat.
I am 5'7" , 130 pounds and bought a medium size which fit fine leaving a bit of room for a heavy sweater which I really never needed.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly satisfied

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
ajbuns
Location: Highland, Mi
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the fit and look of the jacket. It is very warm. But I have been having a bit of trouble with the zipper from day 1. It is a struggle to get it started to go up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
scuba50
Location: Minneapolis
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very warm, not bulky. long enough sleeves with a fitted cuff.
expensive but well worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Jacket

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
NewBostonian
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket has been helping me survive the Snowpocalypse of Boston.
Highlights:
*) Comfortable frozen bench sitting and butt coverage
*) Awesome hood that blocks wind, rain and snow
*) No need for gloves with the tight wrist sleeves and omni-heat inside
Lowlights:
*) Loss of peripheral vision when wearing the hood
*) Probably can't wear it year-round
Honestly, you don't have much to lose when buying this amazing jacket.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and cute

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Emilyclaire
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket fits perfect. It is extremely warm and has a nice slim fit through the torso.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
KMK91
Location: Spokane, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only had this jacket about 2 weeks, but I got it just in time for a big dump of snow and some cold weather. I am about 5'4" and 125lbs and ordered the medium because I have wide shoulders; it fits perfectly. The knit cuff around the wrist of the sleeve can make the sleeves seem too long at first, but the tight knit material keeps the cold out. In terms of length, in front it hits just at the top of the knee; it's a bit longer in back, hitting just at the bottom of the back of my knees.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thin, light and warm

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
SpanishBaker
Location: Frisco
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a perfect jacket for travel (light weight) and for everyday for temperatures below 40 degree F. I love the interior silver lining, really cool. It's pricey--but you get what you pay for. I had my other puffer jacket for 10 years and replaced it with this new Columbia coat. I figure that I'll have this one for the next ten years. It has all appearances of a sturdy, fashion forward, toasty-warm quality coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Smaller Than Average + Cost to Ship Return

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Erod
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great product - no doubt. It is well made and warm
It comes to right around or above the knees, so if you are looking for the longer coat, this one is not it. It will cover the tops of your thighs only.
The product runs small. We got it for my mom who fits a large very comfortable in every other coat, with sweaters underneath or layers. However, this fit her super tight just in a t-shirt to the point that it was hard to zip.
Additionally, Columbia offers easy returns, but you do have to pay for return shipping. So beware of that, it is not so simple to return.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beating the Cold.

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mama5
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall I'm very pleased with this coat. I'm 5'7'' and 145lbs. according to the size guide I was in between a Medium and a Large. I took the advice from others reviews that the coat runs small and purchased a Large. I got the right size! I was surprised to try it on, with a sweater, and find it fit perfectly. (I thought the Large was going to be very big.)
I live in Chicago and spend time in Minnesota and Canada and purchased this coat to keep warm in the sub zero temps. This coat keeps me very warm, even on long walks. The hood is great at keeping the wind out, however I'm still trying to figure out the cinch around the face to tighten the hood. Shoulders are broad and comfortable. The sleeves are longer than most coats and with it's elastic cuffs, it keeps the cold from creeping up your arms.
Like other reviews, I also found the zipper challenging the first several times of using it. I think because it is a double zipper you have to be careful to have everything squeezed together and lined up, then give the zipper a little push while you're tugging up on it and away it goes. I would've preferred the teeth of the zipper to be made of metal. It's made of plastic and I'm concerned it's not going to hold up to all the tugging it requires to work over the years.
I do like having the double zipper though. Having young children and bending down to help them with their boots and things, I can unzip the bottom zipper up a bit to give me room to squat down and help them without having to take my coat off.
The coat has a nice shape to it in the waist, so you're not completely lost in this coat. The bottom of the coat lands about 4 inches above my knee. I would've also preferred this coat to be about 6 inches longer to help keep the legs a little bit more warm.
I also like that this coat is light weight and not overly bulky. The pockets on the sides are small with zippers; enough room for keys or a cell phone. There are also secret pockets on the inside of the coat that are more deep.
This is a great coat. For the price, I think some improvements could be made on it. I'm happy with my purchase and have received several compliments that it was a nice looking coat.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new jacket

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Corrye
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely LOVE my new jacket! It is comfortable, soft, and does a great job at keeping the cold out. The length is perfect for covering the waist and upper thighs and the hood covers the head great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best coat I've ever owned!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
TQ1186
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely LOVE this winter coat. I walk my dog about an hour a day regardless of weather conditions, and especially in this winter, it has been a life saver. It is worth double what I paid for it. It is SO warm and I have worn it in negative temperatures as well as pouring rain and it has kept me warm and dry! The fit is perfect for me. I got a medium and I am 5'10" with longer arms. I can easily layer underneath it (not that it is necessary). The arms are plently long and can even go to the middle of my palms if I allow. They also bunch up nicely if you need to use your hands. I would say this coat is true to size and I would highly recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very comfy

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
jaso
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat to take on a conference in Wash DC during 25-30 degree temps with a snow storm and rain/sleet with a lot of outdoor walking I wore a sweater once under and I was too hot! it fits snug and very comfy warm and water just rolls off! Love the hood it is a great fit and protective from weather
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nilo
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this, i had a winter coat for over six years just because i couldn't find one as warm. Then i went to a columbia store in Mall of America and i was amazed. i looked around and found this amazing one, but they didn't have my size. i search 16 different store for a winter coat and none of them came even close to this. I got mine online and delivery was amazing fast too. i wear this coat every single day and absolutely love!!!! its not only warm, but stylish too. so glad i waited to find this.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & lightweight without all the bulk

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
cajjji
Location: DC area
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own other omni tech jackets but needed something long with down for this brutally cold winter-this worked great. Bought it one size bigger based on other reviews and it is perfect for me.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Hexbreaker™ II Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thin, but Incredibly Warm

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
girlfromfl
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When it first came in the mail, I was concerned at how thin the package was. I've never needed a down coat before (lived in the fl). But this coat is super warm, and the thinness is actually a great feature. It's flattering, rain/snow resistant, and toasty. Other people say the sleeves run long, but at 5'10", I liked the length.
I did have a problem with the left pocket zipper breaking, but I fixed it with 20 minutes and a sewing kit.
Overall, fantastic coat. Definitely a worthy purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123Next>>