Customer reviews for Columbia Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®

Columbia Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®

Banff, Crested Butte, Bozeman … besides exceptional snowfall, they all have one thing in common: extreme cold. Designed specifically for harsh winter environments like this, the Peak Ascent Peruvian’s Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining keeps you 20-percent warmer than other hats like it.
Overall rating:
3.769 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
10 out of 12(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Review 1 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great warmth

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer avatar
iglooqueen
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great look, great quality!
Activities: Skiing, Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So very warm (but braided yarn falling apart)

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
AmyTheVegan
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat does what it's made for- it keeps your head really warm. Unfortunately the yarn on the tassels is coming undone at the top, near the hat. I've only had it about a month. As long as it keeps me warm, I'll deal with it.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni-Heat cannot be beat!

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Abovethe45th
Location: Presque Isle, MI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the fourth piece of headgear that I have purchased that features the omni-heat lining and this hat as well as the others are flawless. Perfect quality, perfect fit and the performance in freezing and extremely windy conditions is exceptional. It would be hard for me to believe that there is anything out there that is better. I would highly recommend this line.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hi

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
emoney
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grat kept em warm while skiiing loved iut
Activities: Skiing
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super awesome, but the tassels have to go.

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Jake17
Location: Missouri
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this at a local retailer when browsing their selection and was quite excited to find this. Though slightly pricey the hat is incredibly warm and comfortable (though I have a lurking feeling I look like a complete idiot wearing it, at least I am a warm idiot)
Upon purchase, I immediately cut the tassel deals off, because I need function over form. Those stupid things just get in my way.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Running, Snowboarding, Mountain Biking, Vacation
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I cut the tags off...

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
MsWethany
Location: Eugene, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
because I thought it was nice and warm. I wish I could return it, because it does this thing where it gets all pointy and I feel like gandalf or something. It's warm, but I hope it stretches out and lays down around my head. Also, the black on black design isn't a design. I thought there would be two different blacks making that snowflake pattern, but it's kinda boring and plain. I feel like a ninja... a very warm, whimsical ninja.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Style and Warmth

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Juggalo
Location: Mentor, Ohio
This hat is not only fun and whimsical with design, but the function is phenomenal!! Super warm, and I was happy that it did not shrink at all when washed before use!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wanted to love it, but....

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer avatar
vegindland
Location: Madison, WI
Like other reviewers, I am disappointed in this hat's quality. I love the look and how warm it is, but for $40 it should not be falling apart (tassels coming un-braided) after 1 week of wearing!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Braid Coming Apart

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Robbie
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Got it for my wife and she loved it but the braids starting coming apart at the top within a few weeks. Still wearing it but disappointed that it started to fall apart so soon!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the time

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Aggrobatch
Location: Barrow, AK
The first hat I bought the braid came undone in less then two weeks and the replacement that received lasted just under a month. Defect in design and isn't meant to last.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE LOVE LOVE this hat

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Ren66
Location: maryland
I was going snowboarding for the first time and really wanted a warm hat. I saw the commercials for the Omni heat jackets, and figured I'd try out their hat. I fell in love with it. It was worth the 40 bucks I spent! When I took off my hat I could feel the heat rise from my head it was so warm. I wear it everyday and absolutely love it. - Got it in all black.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute!

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
pdxlynne
Location: Portland Oregon
Super cute hat! I get lots of complements when I wear it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Peak Ascent™ Peruvian Hat Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Coming undone

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
I was really excited about this hat. I took it out of the packaging and wore it for 5 minutes before I realized that the braided tassels were coming apart at the top. I am so disappointed. I love Columbia because their stuff is made to last. This hopefully was just a lemon. For the price, it is disappointing though.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.