Customer reviews for Columbia Freezer Zero™ Bandana

Columbia Freezer Zero™ Bandana

The ultimate cooling accessory, this Omni-Freeze® ZERO-armed bandana uses our sweat-activated cooling technology, which reacts with sweat to lower the temperature of the material. Built-in UPF 50 seals out UV rays for supreme protection from the sun.
Overall rating:
3.733 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
9 out of 14(64%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Review 1 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for low humidity environments

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Trailrider
Location: Tucson, AZ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All products that advertise a cooling effect without refrigeration, from house swamp coolers to clothing, rely on evaporative cooling. This means that as the moisture evaporates, it creates a cooling effect. The lower the humidity, the greater the cooling effect. That's why western desert dwellers love their house swamp coolers but you never see them back east. If you are operating in a high humidity environment you may be disappointed in the cooling effect of any product, including this one. I live in a desert and cool my house and myself with evaporative cooling so this product works well for me. I've been using cotton bandanas for years for sun protection and cooling when wet. This bandana is very soft and more comfortable than cotton, and it cools better. Definitely a winner.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great - Foliage color a little bright

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
RobM
Location: Allen Park, MI
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product.
I have used this around my neck in 90 degree heat and Michigan's humidity and it has kept me cool all day without re-wetting.
I have also used as a skull cap. It's a little small, but the fabric does stretch.
The Foliage color is a little brighter green than it looks in the pictures.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure:((

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bojangles
Location: Savannah, GA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just doesn't work the way I thought it would. By the description I thought it would keep the back of my neck cooler. We live in the deep south and I guess maybe it's not made for the humidity down this way.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
ekay
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This bandana keeps you cool! I have used it on several +100 degree days in the high desert and I have no complaints. On a really hot day, I like to get the bandana wet and drop it on my shoulders. Wow. The fabric is durable and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite accessory on my Tour Du Mont Blanc trip

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
AOTay
Location: Oakland, Ca
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I picked this up as a last minute purchase before heading off for a 12 day hike in the Alps. I have to say, I loved this bandanna. It was great at keeping the sweat out of my eyes and when it was cold I simply pulled it down over my ears. It was easy to wash every night and was completely dry by morning. I would highly recommend this product for any hiking trek.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Omin Freeze Zero

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
tim67
Location: Macomb, MI
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
works better then a cloth bandana as far as keeping water out of my eyes and fit is nice. But this will not keep you any cooler. Sweat just as much if not more wearing this . DO NOT BUY IF YOU WANT COOL RELIEF.....
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Marketing description doesn't deliver...

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
humdinger10
Location: va
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
received the product, gave it a test run on my next 2 times while mowing of our lawn (pushmower). Had it tied in the do-rag style covering my head. underneath a brimmed straw hat...it did wick away some moisture...as mowing and edging went on I was getting hot and sweaty... was waiting for that "cooling effect" to kick in....never happened... straw hat on or off. While it is better than a regular bandana IT IS NOT worth the price paid. The sales pitch made it out to be more than it really was, and over shot the runway on this items true performance capabilities. Would not buy again, does not live up to the HYPE.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bandana? meh

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leighbo
Location: Los Gatos, CA.
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the bandana and neck gaiter at the same time. The neck gaiter does the same job but a little better as far as fit for me. No hair may be a factor. I'd get a couple neck gaiters if I had to do it again. This in no way means the bandana doesn't work. The Omni-Freeze technology is fantastic no matter how you choose to wear it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not a gimmick - really works!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
jwilder204
Location: Chincoteague, VA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife got me this to wipe my head. I shave my head, and when I go out and work up a sweat, I need to wipe off. This is one of the few items I've tried that actually COOLS my head when I wipe off the sweat.
Love this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it so far!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Happigirl
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just received two of these. One is for me and the other for my Chihuahua, Stevi. They work just as described and we look forward to a much cooler summer. I will have to alter Stevi's a little due to her size and the size of the bandana, but I expected that. The technology is amazing, keep up the good work.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hiker63
Missoula, MT
 
Please wait while more information about Hiker63 is loaded.
Additional information about Hiker63 could not be loaded.
Not for Dogs
Posted July 1, 2013
This bandana may look cute on your dog, but you shouldn't have any illusions that it will keep your dog cool. Dogs sweat through their feet, not through the skin elsewhere on their bodies.
The only way this bandana could be helpful in keeping your dog cool is if you soak it in cold water before putting it on the dog. Cool or cold water on a dog's skin will help to keep a dog cool, but their natural cooling methods are by panting and sweating through their feet. Except for their feet, they do not perspire like humans.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth $30

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
dew32
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This definitely was a waste of money. It's a silk handkerchief. I was excited for this not going to lie, but after using it a couple of times, it is just a really expensive piece of nice cloth. Not sure if it's just me but this omni freeze doesn't really do anything noticeable.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad bandana for sports

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: seattle
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I play serious racquetball and usually use a red cotton bandana for sweat, which costs about $1.00. I paid you $28 for this bandana hoping that the new fabric would help keep my forehead cool. It didn't. Not only did it not cool my forehead, it was even hotter than my normal cheap cotton bandana. For this reason, it was a terrible waste of $27 for a product I can't use on the court. I have been happy with Columbia products in the past but this one is an absolute bust.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty cool (literally and figuratively)

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ReddHerringg
Location: San Francisco, CA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fabric does what it says. Dunk it it water, even warm water, and the fabric cools down considerably. Draped over your neck it feels like a cold pack, even in hot conditions. The bandanna runs a little small, but I have a small head (7 3/8) and the fabric is stretchy, so no problems tying it on. Because it's so stretchy I've heard some stitches pop when tying it to my head, but no evidence of tears or rips.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great idea, poor execution

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
randallp
Location: ventura, ca
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Came in the mail today, tried to tie it around my head and there was about 3 inches of space between the ends. I have a 7 3/4 hat size and was expecting this to cover me no problems. Will probably return and get the neck gaiter as I was hoping this would serve as a headband for my runs this summer.
Unable to review the function though the material is extremely light and breathable. I did not notice any particular "chemical smell" as mentioned by other reviewers.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
randallp
ventura, ca
 
Please wait while more information about randallp is loaded.
Additional information about randallp could not be loaded.
edit
Posted May 29, 2013
found if I use a bandana in it's intended fashion (rolling it up diagonally from point to point) it works just fine as a headband. Have used it as a crude breathing filter during a brush fire that strayed much too close to the house. Have used it on very hot days in Southern California while running trials and it actually made me cold and I had to take it off. The trick is getting it wet before or during your work out.
I would rate this a 4/5.
-Randall P.
0points
1of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Freezer Zero™ Bandana
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Along time option upgraded.

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
moosaki
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So utilitarian, I ordered another. The idea of the bandana for flats fishing has been around. The "Freeze" technology keeps bumping it up a notch. This is the latest edition of that. I buy extras for my Caribbean Buddies. They look better in these than with a T-shirt wrapped around their head.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.