Customer reviews for Columbia BC Bandit™ Earflap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia BC Bandit™ Earflap

Shadows descend early during the shortest days of December. This well-loved earflap hat just got an Omni-Heat® upgrade, so it’ll keep you out pillaging powder for longer in colder conditions.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for BC Bandit™ Earflap
Review 1 for BC Bandit™ Earflap
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BC bandit earflap

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Exeter
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best idea for a hat I have even seen. I hate, hate to wear hats but with the omni wicking technology I was so excited. I have lupus and NEED to wear a hat but never do because I have an extreme sweating issue from meds I am on for life.
I was so excited when I viewed this hat because of the omni technology but they need to work on the design because it is too big. Maybe they could put ties on it somehow.
I hope Columbia hat designers take this wonderful idea of omni wicking in hats and design many more. Hopefully sometime it will work form
I really need to wear a hat and thought finally this could be the one but it was way too big.
I will keep checking to see if they come up with a better design for me with this technology.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Open Ocean
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BC Bandit™ Earflap
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

fits to big

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
chico
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it fit to big but it is still warm
Conditions: City, Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BC Bandit™ Earflap
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best piece of headgear

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Abovethe45th
Location: Presque Isle, MI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I normally hate headwear but where I live, it's practically mandatory during winter. The temperatures here are extremely low and the winds are fierce. This hat is really warm and the design covers the ear department as well. Purchased the first in black and ordered a second in Tank/Olive Brown/Stout. Another plus is that the OmniHeat lining doesn't seem to generate as much static as other hats do despite the cold and dry air.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BC Bandit™ Earflap
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hat, but not for everyone

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Blinston
Location: Moscow, Russia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this one for my wife - and it seem to be a bit bigger then the regular woman hat. Yes, it says it's unisex, but it's really more men-fit then a women. But anyway - nice design, good looking.
Be warned: not so good for a cold-wind weather, but perfect for snowy days!
Activities: Other, Vacation
Conditions: City, Snowy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BC Bandit™ Earflap
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cute and perfect color

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Effi
Location: Princeton, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been a Columbia fan since I put my faith in the omni-heat interchange jacket last year and it was so worth it! So is this hat.
First of all, it's cute!! And the purple shade matches perfectly with the whirlibird jacket and my fleece gloves. Secondly, it is thin but it's warm! I'm not sure how much is from the omni-heat technology though.
I do have one concern, however. Since it doesn't have any actual strap or anything, so when you are skiing especially with a goggle, it might fell off because of the giant ball above. It happened with a similar hat to me... So if you would fall down a lot when you ski or snowboard, you might wanna consider something steadier.
Activities: Snowboarding, Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Commuting
Conditions: City, Freezing, Snowy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BC Bandit™ Earflap
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent hat

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Cakalaky
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hat is lightweight and I was worried it wouldn't be as warm as I thought. But after trying it out in cold weather, I was wrong. This hat is toasty warm. The Omni-heat thermal reflective does work. I can tell a big difference over traditional hats. The ear flaps are perfect in length and helps a lot.
Plus the hat is stylish. I highly recommend this hat.
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BC Bandit™ Earflap
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS HAT!!! :D

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Cs3195
Location: Minnesota
This hat is amazing. I've wanted it since a year ago and now that I finally got it... IT WAS SOOO WORTH IT!!! I hadn't realized that it has omni-heat thermal reflection on the interior, but that just makes me love it more!!! On top of all that, it is super cute!! I would DEFINITELY recommend this!! EVERYONE NEEDS ONE!! :)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.