Customer reviews for Columbia PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II

Columbia PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II

Soft, lightweight, and comfortable, this performance cap features a wicking, breathable sweatband, UPF 40, a longer visor for better coverage, and a stowable back neck flap for the ultimate in versatile comfort and protection in hot, sunny climates.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Review 1 for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

VERY HOT

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Jimmyjoe1
Location: Fl
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Looks good, fits well, very comfortable until I get outside. It doesn't breathe. Outside in the sun it gets very hot and is very uncomfortable to wear. Should have spend the extra money and gotten the coolhead ballcap III.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Durable Protection

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
100thdeuce
Location: NE Georgia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a lot of skin damage issues from years in the sun. I now wear as much protective clothing as possible. So I use Columbia sun protection shirts and this style hat. I've got one in the tan color I've been using on a landscaping project at the house. It gets hard daily use, sometimes gets really grubby and was with me all summer. It breathes well enough to keep from being unbearable even in the hot Georgia summer. I've managed to work outdoors and not have any sun issues. When it gets dirty, I toss it into the washer and it comes out looking almost new. The bill holds shape just fine. I liked it so well, I decided to get the same hat in a different color.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It... Great head protection

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
DavidW
Location: Largo, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I have been using this cap for almost 6 months now. waited til it has gotten warmer to write my review. It has been great at keeping me cool and protecting my head, face and neck from the Florida sun for 4 hours plus. This material is "cooler" than my old pfg hat. I like the longer bill to protect the face. Am planning on getting another one soon.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tamiami hats

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Hoot
Location: San Jose, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The service was informative with prompt delivery. I already had one of the hats and it has served me well. I only wish there were more colors from which to select.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hat with great shading features

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Reco53
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this hat while shooting in outdoor competitions. The extended bill & neck flap provide excellent coverage from the hot sun. extended also reduces glare significantly. The hat is very light. Neck flap material is soft & smooth. I just wish it had more color selections.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tamiami Cachelot II

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Muddles
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used this particular product for a number of years. The various features are very useful and that is why I keep one or two on hand. I live in a very warm climate and the ultraviolet protection is quite necessary. The collar clip is a nice touch to keep the hat with you in high winds, and the neck protection is the primary reason I buy this product. It is light weight and suits my needs perfectly. I get many inquiries as to where others can get one. I recommend it highly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest hat for sun and fun!!!!!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer avatar
DonD
Location: Albuquerque
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use my hats mainly for golf and fishing and they are just great. They are so light and form fitting that you don't realize they are on. My friends all want one.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for PFG Tamiami™ Cachalot II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tamiami hat good sun hat

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
OceanRunner
Location: Washington, DC USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This hat was just what I was looking for to replace an older one that stopped being as sun protective as is used to be. The size fits. The flaps stay down or go back down when the wind slows or stops. This hat does not get blown off my head when the boat is moving.
The one I have is sand or tan in color not the darker onepictured when writing the review.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.