Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III

Columbia Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III

Built for supreme temperature regulation and sun protection in the outdoors, this performance ball cap is outfitted with UPF 50 fabrication, a wicking, cooling sweatband, and our advanced Omni-Freeze ZERO® technology, which reacts with sweat to lower the temperature of the material.
Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Review 1 for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
shoaltide
Location: Leesburg GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took this hat out for some summer river bassin in South GA. My head stayed cool and dry all day.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool, lightweight and good looking!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
gochugogi
Location: honolulu
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I visited the Columbia factory outlet in Vegas and checked out sun block and moisture wicking hat models. The black Coolhead Ball Cap was my favorite: comfortable, great fit on my medium bean and an uncluttered design reminiscent of a tactical squad cap. There were several similar ball cap designs but this one stood out because "Columbia" was not emblazon across the front. A tiny offset graphic logo was used instead. The micro fiber fabric is ultra soft and stretches for a slim and fitted look. It's so lightweight it's easy to forget you're wearing a hat. For my 7.25 hat size the Velcro adjustment strip needed to be adjusted slightly larger than the smallest position, so plenty of adjustment for larger heads.
I put the Coolhead to the test during several days of wandering around the Vegas Strip in triple digit summer heat. I figured the claim of using moisture from your head to cool the cap was corporate chuck 'n jive. Amazingly, the cooling feature worked extremely well and despite it being black. My head was cool but the rest of my body was really hot! I should check into Columbia's Omni-Freeze ZERO shirts... And, yes, no sunburn on my bean, plenty of glare cutting bill coverage and hands down the lightest and coolest hat I've owned, whipping heat grabbing cotton caps silly.
The Coolhead is a wonderful hat for summer travel, hiking and yard work.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best. Hat. Ever.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
LakeandStream123
Location: Ellijay, GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat truly does keep you cool! Highly recommend for anyone who spends time outdoors. When I get hot, I simply put it in the cooler for a few minutes then put it back on. It keeps me cool for hours!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really great hat!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
BigHarv19
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this hat. It is very light weight, and the fabric is breathable. But the best part is that it fits/molds to your head right away, and doesn't leave the crowned look of traditional caps.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super light

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
bnbmike
Location: Pacific City, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is super light, form fitting and great for on the beach in the wind.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for long days in the sun

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer avatar
ImOnABoat77
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Very lightweight cap. Has worked excellent for spending 8+hour days out in the sun. Can hardly even tell the hat is on your head. Color has hardly faded after one year of use for work and running.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very comfortable

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
SkylersGP
Location: Miami
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is very comfortable and light weight.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Coolhead™ Ballcap III
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool heads prevaile

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
crogers1958
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have not gotten to the real heat of our Texas summer, but the couple times I have worn the cap, it has kept my head much cooler.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.