Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat

Columbia Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat

The perfect partner to a sun-drenched destinations both near and far, this comfortable, no-fuss brimmed sun hat features UPF 50 sun protection and a sweat-wicking head band, and it retains its shape after packing down into the corner of your carry on bag. A faux-leather strap with a wooden bead delivers adjustable security for windy days on the water.
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 11(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Review 1 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty hat but not durable

PostedDecember 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this because I thought it would be a good travel hat--crushable, rollable, etc. Not so much. It doesn't pop back into shape as hoped, but becomes progressively lumpier. I also liked having an adjustable chin strap to keep the hat from blowing off in a breeze, but it broke after not much use. On the plus side it's light weight and an attractive color.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good shade provider

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Bay Area, California
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am always looking for the best sun protection. I love that it is 50 spf. I wear it daily during the summer and while gardening. My only complaint is the s/m is a bit big for size small heads. It rests on my ears and eyebrows providing great shade. It is probably better for medium heads. Possibly putting an insert in the top could place it in a better place for smaller heads, but would make it hotter in warm weather. Overall, a terrific sun protection source. The neck tie is wonderful for windy weather and travel.
I would recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Global Adventure hat

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: missouri
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The hat fits very well and is seemingly made of quality materials. As I have not yet worn mine out, I am unable to attest to the durability. The design is well thought-out and the string prevents the wind from removing the hat, whether on a boat or trail. The packaging of the white hat I purchased, was poor at best. It was literally thrown in a brown shipping box, without a wrapper. I received my white hat with dirt in several spots.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
21of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feminine, Sun Blocking Must Have!

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is very well made. It is lined on the inside with an elastic band that fits snug to your head in order to prevent the hat from blowing off. It does a good job staying in place, without feeling too tight. This being said, for people who know they have larger heads, go for the next size up (L/XL). I bought a hat for myself and for my mom thinking that she would fall in the medium category after she told me she has a bigger head than me. I should have listened because, she is going to be giving the hat to another family member and ordering the next size up for herself. I recommend this hat for gardening!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sun hat!

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Missouri, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for; a travel-ready hat to take the sting out of the summer sun. Additionally, I love that this hat is offered in multiple sizes and the small/ medium actually fits my small head pretty well. (Columbia, please keep offering multiple size hats, one-size does NOT fit all!)
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really great hat!

PostedMarch 30, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Lakewood, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this hat - Got it in the "nocturnal" color - I haven't previously seen an SPF 50 sun hat in such a great color with a wide brim and chin strap that actually looks stylish - But this hat has all those qualities. I definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hat for travel

PostedApril 1, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Germany
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned this hat for about 5 years...Bought it in brown--a color Columbia had then. It is perfect. We travel constantly...to and from the states, and within Europe. When I pack it, I always "stuff" the crown with clothes. I never tried rolling or putting it flat, although it is rarely fully protected. Sometimes the rim gets bent and it stays bent for about a day, then bounces back. I have also carried it with me on the plane or thrown in the back of the car. It travels easily. The strap helps keep it hung to on my back as I board the plane or go inside. In the plane, I stuff it above or below the seat...and it does a good job at keeping the hat on in the wind. Of course, I bought it for the wide rim and sun protection--which I get wherever I go. [I also love the color.] I am now buying one for our daughter who just moved to Florida!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely, well-made sun hat

PostedApril 21, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Central Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love, liove, love this hat. It fits well and truly blocks the hot sun here in FL. Not too heavy, in fact, it is light-weight. Great protection and very fashionable. I ordered 2 in the nocturnal color-one for a friend. At this price, it makes a great gift. My husband thinks I have a big head, so I ordered the L/XL and it really fits well. It maintains its shape as well. Hope this helps! Buy it, you won't be sorry!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great hat for so many reasons!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Mitchell, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love that it's packable (flat) but I haven't tried rolling it yet. I needed a somewhat stylish hat that had a chin strap, and could travel the world.
The UPF 50 sun protection is great, too. I have a small head and the s/m hat fit is very comfortable ... the sweat-wicking head band is an added bonus.
Wide brim offers plenty of shade. I sure hope this lasts a long time!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not packable

PostedApril 26, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Houston
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The hat is not really pack-able as claimed. Even if lightly folded into a big bag it wrinkles badly and the wrinkles do not fall out.
Otherwise, it is a great hat. I like the leather neck tie that keeps the hat on in the wind.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Women's Global Adventure™ Packable Hat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product