Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat

Columbia Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat

Made from sleek, lightweight ripstop fabric with superior wicking and breathability, this UPF 40 sun-protecting booney hat is all about fun in the sun, with a wide brim that extends from 3 inches in front to 4 inches in back for all-day, all-around protection.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Review 1 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

does its job

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hat is a bit goofy looking, but it serves its purpose in keeping you shaded from the sun. It is lightweight, and adjustable via a bungee cord. I have a fairly large head (7 3/8) and this hat fits.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Booney Hat

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chambersburg, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All hats that I try on are always too big, if this didn't have the drawstring adjustment on the hat it would also be too big for me. Everything comes in one size fit all, but all heads are not alike. Love that it has the SPF 40 in the hat and also the sweat band. Easy to pack in a suitcase and very light weight. When adjusting the chin strap, if not careful the plastic adjustment toggle at the end of the strap could easily slip off, some type of metal stopper at the end of the strap would be a big improvement.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Hat

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use almost everyday in summer to blocked the uv.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yep this is the one

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I have thin hair and have been on an endless hunt for the perfect hat that blocks sun and retains shape in water. This is it and the foam brim is what does it. The only possible con is - for me the cap is a little shallow. Probably varies by person.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Chin Strap Slide Loosens

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
The hat is lightweight and keeps the sun out. I did, however, have problems keeping the chin strap from loosening in a light-medium wind as the wind caught the brim. The slide that is on the chin strap kept loosening while I was kayaking and the hat would then slide back on my head and/or slip off. After readjusting it many times, I finally gave up and tied a knot under the slide.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute and light weight

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Maria
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was hesitant to order this little hat because it was a "one size fits all", and I need size L hats. I was pleased and surprised it fit my big head. I will be using it for gardening because it has a built in sweat band. Haven't used it yet, but I am sure it's going to work great for me. I usually just wear a sweat band when I work in yard to keep sweat out of my eyes. Now I will also have some protection from the sun. I don't know why it took me so long to think of looking for a hat like this one.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: British Columbia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been looking for a wide brimmed hat and this is it! Adjustable sizing, comfortable, lightweight, and packable. I have the tan colour so it looks like a proper explorer's hat. It's brilliant!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Denver
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thin rip-stop weight material for the close-fitting cap part is a bit snug. It does have a way to use an elastic band to tighten around the hat brim, which was a feature I did NOT need. The inside elastic was plenty. The brim itself seems to have thin foam in it, so it makes sort of wave-shapes around the hat, but it DOES keep the brim off your face for nice shade. You do still have a good view of the trail (and low-hanging branches). The under-chin tie will tighten, but I just let it hang down the back to make it a bit less dorkey-looking. The khaki color was cool in the sun and did not show the camp dust!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Sun Goddess™ II Booney Hat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great hat

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Columbia SC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a pretty big head and it fit me great without having to adjust it - it IS adjustable to your head size. I got it at a great price which made it even better, and I like the fact that the brim isn't floppy.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.