Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal

Columbia Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal

Unlike average flip-flops, the lightweight-yet-durable Techsun Vent Leather PFG provides a supportive and cushioning midsole for long-lasting comfort during active days. Drainage ports create refreshing underfoot airflow and help evacuate water quickly so you stay cool and dry in warm weather and wet environments.
Overall rating:
3.429 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
9 out of 14(64%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Review 1 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs large

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have Columbia hiking boots that are a size 13 so I figured it was a no brainer to order these in the same size. They run an inch longer than expected so they fit like a 14. The quality of the flip flop is just fine and I like the fact that it runs a bit narrow because I'm a B width. I will return for a size down and hope that works.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hard to find 15

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Houston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fit ordered 2 pair, love them
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

strap is very tight

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: texas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
  • Expert
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ordered a size big and still couldn't get my foot in it. thechlite was a much better flip
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality product as you would expect from a Columbia product. Color is the best part as it blends in easily with the dirt - so less frequent washing ;-) Highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are great

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Louisiana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these shoes 3-4 days a week in the summer. I have several pair. They outperform all of the other flip flops I have bought. I usually go through about a pair per season. I wear a 12 in dress shoes, 13 in tennis shoes and 14 in these flip flops.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product. Highly recommended
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Toe strap binds

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boise, ID, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall quality reasonable but fit and function were poor. Tried for 1 wk to break them in, but the strap was too tight and binding over top of the foot. Avoid
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great flip flop! Made Tough!

PostedOctober 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I admittedly am very hard on sandals. This flip flop has seen beaches in Florida and seen mountain tops. Fit and feel is fantastic.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MEN'S TECHSUN™ VENT FLIP LEATHER PFG

PostedDecember 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Tybee Island, Ga
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got these to wear in the boat and around the house & dock. Had about a month and they are perfect for me. Good snug fit on the feet and good traction on a wet boat and/or dock. Thinking of getting another pair, just for back up. (I have family members who have been known to "borrow" for days at a time.)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Flip flops

PostedOctober 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Floresville, TX 78114, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 3rd pair of flip flops I have purchased for my son in the past couple of months. The first pair broke at the toe hold within 2 months. He loved them so much we ordered another pair. The 1st day he wore the 2nd pair they broke at the toe hold within the first couple of hours of wear. I contacted Columbia and was pleased to know that they do stand behind their products and warranty footwear for 1 year. I ordered yet another pair and have returned the 2 broken pair. Can't comment on warranty process as of yet because I just returned shoes a couple of days ago.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A bad choice for Hawaii

PostedDecember 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Lynnwood, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I purchased these for a recent trip to the Big Island. It was a terrible choice. After two days of cuts and abrasions due to poor design, I switched to flip-flops.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Techsu Vent Flip Leather PFG

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Miami, FL.
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Living in Miami, Florida and on the waters or outdoors 30-50 hours a week has proved to be a great way to review these products. The Techsu is relatively lite, fits true to size & easy to clean. The vents are a great idea. Hopefully more colors will be available & improvement on the bottom threads would be very nice. They grip well but would like to see them last longer. Other than that, good flips!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Be Careful With Vent Flip Design!

PostedSeptember 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Houston, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was going to be my third pair of Columbia flips. I've had a pair of Techsun Flip III for a couple of years, wearing them a lot, and they've gotten a bit flat. I bought a pair of Techsun Vent FishFlip PFG's and they are great - a thicker very comfortable footbed, great fit and feel. I wanted to replace the darker Flip III with a pair similar to the FishFlip, so chose these, not noticing the different toe piece. Big mistake. The Leather PFG doesn't have the soft nylon toe piece, and the leather part was brought under the straps and sewn, creating a very uncomfortable raised, rough section. (See photo below) It rubbed my foot raw in a very short time. They are going back.
The photos below show the different designs. The first photo shows the Flip III nylon toe piece, the second the FishFlip. The third and fourth photos show the leather toe piece on the Vent Flip Leather PFG. Go with the nylon toe piece!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byFreddieDee
PDX, Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about FreddieDee is loaded.
Additional information about FreddieDee could not be loaded.
Tried any other Sandals?
onApril 12, 2016
Hello Clayt,
I found your review very informative and helpful especially from your photos that you have posted as well. I was wondering if you had tried any of the other sandals offered by Columbia? I was looking at the Thong II Sandal and was interested in hearing your thoughts on these in comparaison to the Techsun Vent Flip Design.
Thanks,
-Freddie
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Men's Techsun™ Vent Flip Leather PFG Sandal
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

5th pair that strap broke between toes

PostedMay 12, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Pleasanton, TX 78064, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These flip flops are nice when working. The strap between the toe breaks very easily. I have had 5 (FIVE!) pairs fail due to the strap breaking just for normal wear at the coast, getting in and out of boat, slippery decks, etc. The good news is Columbia stands by their product and has replace all 5 pairs. Maybe one day they will correct the problem. They fit nice and are very comfortable, but the toe strap just sucks.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.