Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Techsun™ III Sandal

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Techsun™ III Sandal

From barbecues to bass fishing, the newly updated Techsun is ready for amphibious action.
Overall rating:
4.194 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
24 out of 30(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Review 1 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tis product is great

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: green bay, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works great for launching my boat. I can walk right into the water and not worry about ruining them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Right

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: West Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Understand how a tall foot might be difficult to fasten the velcro but fastened just right for me. Easy on and off. Have put them through some tough wear and have stood up well. Not a flip flop wearer but these are just what I needed.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

nobody makes sandels which fit me

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Vancouver, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the current generation columbia sandals are very poorly designed, the forward velcro straps are MUCH too short and do not fasten. Several years ago I bought a pair of columbia sandals which actually, fit, but those sandals are no longer manufacturerd.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

POOR QUALITY SANDALS

PostedDecember 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: THE VILLAGES, FL
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Purchase 2 pairs of the same sandals during the past 4-years. 1st pair fell apart after 1-1/2 years. Made a mistake purchasing the 2nd pair which again lasted less than 2-years. The straps separated from the base --- which I re-glued many times. I will be seeking a new brand. Do NOT purchase these sandals.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Southwest USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second pair of sandals from Columbia and yes I do and have recommended this brand to my friends.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Sandals

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Arizona
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very simple, nicely built, sandal. I am still "breaking them in" but if anything like my last pair - I'll have them for years to come. If I had to complain about anything - I would have liked the adjustable strap for the front of my foot to be a little larger (so I could loosen for more comfort).
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping
Conditions: Sunny, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still the best

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sanger, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore a previous pair of Techsun sandals constantly for a couple of years. I purchased this new pair of Techsun III since the previous pair were beginning to look a little worn. I have narrow feet but have no problems with the fit or comfort. Best sandal(s) I've ever owned. I were them to meetings, around the house and kayaking.
Activities: Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Kayaking, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sunny, Cement/Asphalt, Open Ocean, Other, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A drop from previous quality

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Amazon region of Brazil
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my second pair of the Men's Techsun III. I liked the first pair so well, I reordered when the old pair wore out. I like to stay with a good thing.
I am living in Brazil so I had the shoes shipped to a friend in the US. He just brought them to me since he was travelling to Brazil. The straps on both the top and the toe area are so short they barely grab on to the velcro. I am not hopeful of long wear. I compared them to my previous pair and the straps are definitely an inch shorter. Probably a cost cutting move. Since I live in Brazil, I will not be able to return them. This is a drop from previous quality.
JP
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for light use.

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased a pair of these sandals about a year ago and at first they fit poorly but as with any shoe they eventually formed to my feet and became very comfortable. The sole has much more traction than an average sandal for this style. I never had trouble with chaffing from the straps. The only issue is that they cannot be abused. I waded about a mile up river in these while bass fishing. When I got home I realized that both soles had come halfway unglued from the foot pat. I assume the pressure from walking up river and constantly rubbing rocks loosened the glue. I did purchase another pair but do not intend on putting them through that much punishment and expecting to still have them at the end of the day.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bahamas adventure

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Southeast Georgia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these sandals to wander around the Bahamas. They worked great on the beach or in town. The fit was good and they were comfortable. I wish the company stocked more of the black sandals. The company was out of stock, so I settled for a pair in quarry.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Techsun III sandal

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These & their predecessor have been my "not at work" footwear of choice for 3 years. Light in weight, non-slip and superb grip on wet stones and sand. Comfortable as in forgetting they are on and easy to clean.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Techsun II Mens sandal

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Holland, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear a size 13 shoe, but needed a size 14 in this sandal. I also have wide feet, and the front strap has to be fully extended, where it shows mostly the black velcro. This is not very appealing, but the sandals did fit. It would be nice if the company would either make a "wide" extendable front piece or make the velcro the same color as the sandal. The soles are extremely comfortable, and seem like tennis shoe soles. Buy a size bigger than what you normally take, and if you need wide sandals, you will have to deal with the way the front velcro strap looks. Otherwise, they are good sandals and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breaking in sandals

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: San Diego
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my third Columbia sandal purchase. The sandals are always excellent and fit well and very comfortable, once they are broken in . Because they are made of rubber and ?plastic, they are a little stiff and slow to break in, but after a couple of days of wearing, they are fine!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Sizing Has Changed, But Still Good Quality

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Britain, CT
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was slightly disappointed after I received the shoes as the sizing has been reduced. This is the 2nd pair of size 15 Techsun sandals I've bought and when I match the new ones to the old ones sole to sole, there is a definitely difference in size. The result is that the new shoe is a bit of a tight fit when I wear them. Had I known about this, I wouldn't ordered size 16. Otherwise, it's a great shoe.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: Rainy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as the last pair I had

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Clara
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had another pair of Columbia sandals (the Wickiup?) for quite a number of years. I've been amazed at how durable they've been. The new pair I bought are smaller and not as heavily-constructed. I'm returning them because of fit, but I'll keep looking, rather than buying the next size up. Needless to say, I'm disappointed to have spent $22 in shipping (UPS charged $16 to ship them back) with nothing to show for it 3 weeks later.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well designed lightweight sandals

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these to replace similar Columbia sandals that I had worn out (because I really liked them). The new ones are just as comfortable, lightweight, and protect the feet well when walking on rough terrain. I think they are very good value for their price range.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hope this pair lasts longer

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought an earlier version of this shoe over a decade ago and loved them. Wore those sandals everywhere - beach, mountains, in water, even to Europe. When they wore out after more than ten years, I bought this version. It was just as great, but only lasted a couple of years until the bottom fell off one; the other was still like new. Since the shoe is so great, I have bought another pair and love them - perfect for water sports, the beach or just walking around. Curved fit is very comfortable. Easy to adjust for shape of foot. Can be as snug or loose as I like. These are really comfortable; I just hope this pair lasts longer than the last.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Techsum lll

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houston, Tx
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second pair of sandle. I purchased this second pair because I was happy with my first pair. I really enjoyed the quality and comfort of my original pair. My feet are a bit thick and I find the staps are a bit too short. I would purchase them again if I needed another pair of sandles.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Rainy, Humid, Open Ocean, Other, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

soles falling off

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: fort wayne
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The sandals are very comfortable .But after two seasons of kayaking the bottoms are falling off. I do kayak maybe 20 times a year. So i am very disappointed in these water sandals
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Techsun™ III Sandal
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second pair- best brand I've tried

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Raleigh, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore my first pair for years. This was the closest model I could find to replace them and they're just as good so far. I'm not one for brand loyalty, but I'll definitely tick with Columbia for sandals.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>