Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III

Columbia Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III

This versatile three-strap sandal offers lightweight stability, grip and comfort for activities in and around the water; when you want to be able to get in and out of them quickly, flip the heel strap forward and they convert to a convenient slip-on style.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
9 out of 14(64%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Review 1 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Less forgiving than previous model

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ratatosk
Location: Hamden CT
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In shoulder season, local stores didn't have stock; so I bought online, without trying the sandal on. Happily using a previous model, I went a size up because of the note about the snug fit (I normally wear an 8½). The pivoting back strap--the feature that attracted me the most--moves more stiffly, making the sandal less versatile. The straps bind more than the previous model, which was smaller; the back strap is of different design, apparently sturdier, but less giving. The sole is comfortable, but when I'm in motion, as in biking, the straps are not as comfortable as in the earlier model, which I plan to wear around the house as slippers, the back strap fraying away. Since the materials are synthetic, I do not expect the sandals to adjust to my feet. I will keep & use the new model, but will look elsewhere when it's time for replacement.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what I expected

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jimknothd
Location: nc
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
insole is hard, not what I was expecting at all.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FIts like a glove !

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andre
Location: Montreal, Canada
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second pair we buy. Love it but unfortunately it is not available in Canada!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERSATILITY, COMFORT & EASE!

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gbjay
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pirchased an earlier version of this "COLUMBIA" Sandal several years past; the overall quality of materials was good, and flipping the Heel-Guard up, or down was easy; nearly effortless. Accidentally stepped on the side of one a couple of months ago while rushing through the house, and my full weight combined with force of uplift, broke the tether.
A good looking, very enjoyable, and practical design. Need more color arrangements...
GBJ
Silver Spring, Maryland - USA
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

construction

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tuck
Location: Marshallville, OH
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was what I was looking for for a long time, however I was very disappointed that the moveable heel strap, for which I bought them in the first place, was not adjustable. When I move the heel strap up it makes the fit to tight for the width. Someone was not thinking wen they provided adjustment for 2 straps but not the third. If you could provide me with an adjustable heel strap it would make the sandal perfect, if not , I would caution anyone when asked about buying them.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fave Christmas Gift!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
njay
Location: Mesquite, Nevada
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the best gift to replace a well warn Columbia OMNI GRIP sandal. Needless to say my Husband is thrilled with them. Sometimes size 13's are hard to find. With the velcro closures it makes them easy to put on and off. They are now his most comfortable every day shoe. We live in Nevada so this is a great shoe for our casual lifestyle
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

double order

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonaire
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the sandals so will be keeping both pairs. By mistake I ordered 2 pair . Shouldn't your computer have a red light for a double order to the same address and check on it. To much hassle to return.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Sandal Ever Created by Man

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaxTom
Location: Pacifica, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I mean every word. I have owned every iteration of this Interchange Sandal, usually several pairs and they do keep getting better. The dual functionality of slide on and full walking sandal is brilliant. Light weight, comfortable, stylish and durable. Other than formal situations like work when I have to wear fully covered shoes, I am always on my Interchange sandals. Thank you Columbia for being awesome and I hope you continue to make this sandal until the end of time or the end of my days, whichever comes last. I have and do recommend this sandal to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish the concept worked

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Disappointed5
Location: New England
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have purchased this product twice hoping the fist issue was a fluke, it was not. The bottom of the first pair separated at the front. I thought maybe this was a poor manufactured shoe but I loved the versatality. I bought a second pair after first failure hoping the Columbia had fixed this failure, it has not. I just came back from a brief vacation in Maine where the bottom separated at the heal. Poor quality, I now have to find an alternative.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ldt101
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about ldt101 is loaded.
Additional information about ldt101 could not be loaded.
separation
Posted September 16, 2012
I've also purchased this shoe twice, and love the interchange idea. Like you though, when shoe gets wet, the bottom separates from the top. Looking for another shoe with interchange ability. I've used glue numerous times to make these shoes last awhile longer.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet footwear picked up two pair in different colors

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gizmo1
Location: Pocatello, ID
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional lite and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

mens techsun interchange III

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
silverfox
Location: vero beach florida
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product. well constructed. very comfortable as i live in florida and wear daily. i have had 2 pair of the old style and good results, this new style is good also but the new opening for the little toe is not needed and makes it less comfortable for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Design and comfortable wear

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
PDX64
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned two pairs of those sandals. The sandals are comfortable to wear in many conditions. Love the Interchange design. However, the hinges break off easily. As this happened with each pair, I consider this a design defect and wished Columbia would improve on this particular performance aspect.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sandal blowout!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
TomP
Location: Deep East Texas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The sandals fit good and were comfortable from the start. However, the plastic hinge pins for the heal straps are not strong enough. Two days into a salt water fly fishing trip to Mexico one of the hinge pins popped out. Had to sew the strap on with 60lb mono shock leader. The next day the other pin popped out. After sewing the straps on with the mono, I had no other problems. I suggest going with a different sandal or be sure to carry some heavy mono with you to sew them up when the hinge pins fail.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bring back the Titanium Thrasher

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
outdoorman
Location: Rogers, OH
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is the closest sandal I could find compared to the Titanium Thrasher Interchange. I have wide feet and to adjust the straps to fit my feet you can see alot of the velcro. When you flip the back up to wear as a slide it squeezes the top of my foot because the straps are bulky with the velcro. I am sending this sandal back I can not wear them comfortably. Please bring back the Titanium Thrasher Interchange sandal that was a perfect sandal. True to size especially for wide feet very easy interchange with no squeezing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suits Me!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kenny88
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the soft footbed and the convertible feature is an added plus.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Techsun™ Interchange III
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Run Hermes Run!

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monkeyboy
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow! Unbelievably light and comfortable! I have narrow feet and have a difficult time finding sandals with enough of the hook & loop securing feature on the straps to fit my foot. Not these Babies. They secure with the entire strap! Another nice innovative feature is the heel cuff that flips up for a quick and convenient slip-on fit or flips down for a more secure fit around the heel for use on more rugged terrain. A truly great sandal for use anywhere.
Activities: Trail, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Boating, Kayaking, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Humid, Bug Infested, Open Ocean, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.