Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Powerdrain™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Powerdrain™

This powered-up version of our original Drainmaker offers great fit and support.
Overall rating:
4.579 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
36 out of 38(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Powerdrain™
Review 1 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Boat Shoe Ever

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best boat shoe I have ever owned. Lightweight, dry's quickly, and very comfortable. I'm on the water over 200 days a year and this is by far the best boat shoe I have ever had on my feet.
Activities: Fishing - Flats Fishing
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe, durability?

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These have been great shoes for wading rocky shoreline areas in Hawaii, in and out of the water. They are lightweight and shed water well-very little sloshing when exiting the water. Also, they grip really well. Unfortunately, I somehow have already partially torn the rubber protector on the toe of one of the shoes after only wearing twice. So, I'm wondering about durability. Otherwise, these are the best footwear for water that I've ever had.
Activities: Trail, Swimming, Hiking/Trekking, Vacation
Conditions: Sweaty, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightest Comfy Shoes

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Deep Creek Lake, MD
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the lightest, most breathable, water shoes ever. I bought these for everyday use, kayaking/ rafting, and approach. They are very comfortable and light.
Activities: Fishing - Flats Fishing, Camping, Boating, Kayaking, Fishing - Deep Sea, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Humid, White Water, Hot
I would recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Men’s Cool Creek™ Stretch Short
4.4 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerdrain is Beefier AT version of the Drainmaker!

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: North Port, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this shoe for about 3 weeks now and love it. It is a beefier version of the Drainmaker with a bit more reinforcement of the toe cap without making the shoe heavy. It is very breathable and water still water well from it. I love the Techlite material for shock absorption and griping ability in wet conditions. I also like the bungee lacing system instead of full laces. I only wish it were available in the black/chartreuse color like the Drainmaker but the Black/Asphalt gray is pretty sharp as well as this is the color I have. I would also like to see it in Navy Blue/Silver or White color. Very nice watershoe. It fits and wears very well so far.
Activities: Fishing - Flats Fishing, Kayaking, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Bug Infested, Open Ocean, Muddy, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes for anyone who loves the outdoors. I use them mainly for fishing and kayaking, and I couldn't imagine any other shoe on the market being as versatile as these shoes.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerdrain for every occasion!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Powerdrain a couple months ago, in anticipation of a trip to Hawaii. Hiking to waterfalls, or to and from snorkeling spots, I figured this shoe would be perfect... But I have worn them so much this spring I may need a new pair before my trip in July! Seriously cool and versitile shoe. Breathable. Unreal in the water. I have trail run in them a few times as well, and not had any issues, because the shoes remain supportive with their solid wide base.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Kona, Hawaii
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light, well made, supportive and comfortable. I am an ocean fisherman and needed a pair of water shoes to wear at the boat wash rack after fishing as surfaces are very wet and slippery. These shoes are everything I was looking for, and more. My wife now wants a pair to wear on the boat while fishing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Powerdrain

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Clinton, WA.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit great, light and no socks required.
Nice for just knocking around.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have for fisherman

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Claflin, KS
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great for fishing at the lake or river. Watersocks and flipflops just don't cut it in the rocks and mud. These are like wearing a regular pair of shoes. I like to wade out to bass fish in the cat tails or set trot lines for catfish. I can clumsily tromp about without the worry of marring my feet from rocks, sticks, or other sharp objects. I highly recommend spraying/cleaning them out with the garden hose and hanging them to dry once you've returned home. This is my first pair of Columbia brand shoes and I am more than satisfied. Comfortable and perfect for fishing!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good shoes for daily use

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the shoes do not drain as quickly as I thought, in fact while I go to the beach morning, it still feel damp at night. and it looks not as firm as I thought. well, I will be careful when I wear it so that it can have a longer life.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great water Shoe

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Georgia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I wear water shoes every day and own several different brands. I picked up a pair of the power drains a few months ago and pretty much made my other shoes obsolete. I am an outfitter so I am in and out of the water all day, climbing hills and boat ramps,walking on slick rocks etc. I spend 10-12 hours a day in my Powerdrains and they are the best water shoes I have found. I have two pair now so I can switch them out and let one pair dry at the end of the day. I highly recommend the Powerdrains.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Port Huron, Mi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is honestly one of the most comfortable pairs of shoes I have ever worn!
I wear these for literally everything. Running, Biking, beaching!
Whatever! Thank you Columbia. I'm going to buy a second pair just so I have another pair in a different color!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fishing/boating shoe...EVER!!!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been around boats my whole life. Whether its cruising, inshore fishing, offshore fishing, or just working on them. I've been in a search for the best shoe for all around boating for a 10+ years now.
I needed something that would handled getting soaked while backing down on a big fish, getting covered in blood & guts then getting rinsed off. It also had to give me uncompromising traction so I can run around the boat without worrying about slipping. Well, my search for the perfect boat show is over. These things are amazing!!!
Not one blister after getting bounced around in the cockpit for 12+ hours with no socks on. Very light, even when wet. They also dry pretty quickly. I took them off to let them dry out in the cockpit on the ride home from a recent trip to the canyons off of the NJ coast, while I relaxed in the boats salon. I went out to the cockpit to sit outside for a bit and slipped and almost fell on my first step...because I had forgotten I wasn't wearing my Powerdrains.
These things LOCK YOU DOWN on the slipperiest boat surface.
We all know cockpits can get a bit crazy when the bite is on. The Powerdrains also do an excellent job protecting your feet from hooks/knives flopping around on the deck. The toe cap is a huge help while fighting/leadering/gaffing fish too.
I have the black pair and they look like a regular sneaker. Not like a water moccasin like some other water or boat shoes out there.
I usually don't write reviews, but I could not be happier with this shoe and am considering buying another pair just in case they discontinue this one over the next couple of years.
Whether you work on boats, are a serious angler, or just enjoy kicking around boats on the weekend. You will not be disappointed with this shoe.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great multipurspose shoe for wet and dry conditions.....

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've only had these about three weeks, but so far, they've been great. It's a nice light weight shoe for warm and hot weather conditions. I throw them on in the morning and wear them all day for wet and dry activities. They also wash up nicely, at the end of the day, and dry overnight. Well done, Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dries quickly, comfortable as a walking shoe as well as a wet shoe.

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Huntsville, Al
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I suffer from fallen arches and must wear pros tics in my shoes, this shoe works great giving me support as a wet shoe and many other uses....love it!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great water shoe for all water sports.

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houston, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great water shoe for all water sports. Excellent comfort and fit. Use all the time when boating.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but Could Be Better

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Finger Lakes, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The good:
-------------
I find the shoe very comfortable and it did not require any break-in period. It does drain. One can remove the insoles which are also perforated allowing for faster drying.
The not so good:
----------------------
It does not dry that quickly. While same say that it does, I believe one needs to define "dry quickly". If this is completely submersed / soaked, I found that it took longer than 24 hours to completely dry.
While the interior material is thin and lightweight, it does tend to hold moisture. It is also difficult to dry up in the toe area where there is little exposure.
I do believe that it is a good quality product and because of the removable insoles and comfort, I would rate slightly better than the Teva Gnarkosi, for example. It would just be nice if it dried a bit more quickly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Power Smell

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wyoming
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfortable, lite. Wore them for 2 weeks straight. Once they got
wet from the Lake water an odor appeared. Bad! Little toe side shows wear. Have sprayed them with Right Guard, Cologne, Glade and
washed twice. For the price they did not live up to expectations.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Galveston, Tx
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a fishing guide and I switched from crocs to these. I ordered a half size smaller than I normally wear and that was perfect for me (just guessed because I knew I wouldn't be wearing these with socks). I love these shoes and I wear them every day.
The only negative, and I saw this below, is that they did smell bad really quickly. I just threw them in the washing machine with some tide and they came out like new and smelling great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fishing shoe!

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Stuart,Fl.
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great shoe for fishing when your feet get wet all day. They are extremely light weight and dry very fast. The sole is amazing, you have very good traction on any surface. I highly recommend this shoe to anyone that goes fishing and doesn't care to get wet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>