Customer reviews for Columbia Men's North Plains™ Waterproof

Columbia Men's North Plains™ Waterproof

An incredible value, this lightweight, versatile shoe delivers performance and durability in a package that won’t break the bank. Aggressively lugged rubber soles provide superior traction while the waterproof-breathable bootie membrane keeps you dry. On top, a combination of suede, textile and webbing keeps feet secure and protected. A true all-arounder, this shoe is ideal for a variety of trail-based activities from hiking to running.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
6 out of 7(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Review 1 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

comfy hiking shoes

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Philippines
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought a pair a month ago. so far, so good! better than good! wore them everyday to work. feels really solid and comfortable. sole is soft. used to buy shoes from competing brand. now it's all columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

lightweight hiking only

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Bozeman, MT, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit = Average. Really have to tie them super tight for downhill trails.
Tread = Very good. Seems to grip well on all trail surfaces.
Support = Average. Not stiff enough midsoles for long hikes on rocky trails. Good for running on smooth trails.
This is a decent shoe but not the best. The description says the shoe can be used for a variety of trail activities. I agree - up to a point. After using this shoe for a month on a variety of trails, I think it not sturdy/stiff enough for rocky trails. You can feel the sole flex and give-way when stepping on trail rocks. This results in sore feet when on a long hike. Some people might like the softer feel for running though.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Lexington, KY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was surprised by how comfortable these waterproof hikers were! I use them day to day for work and then straight to the woods. The only problem is that they look so nice I don't want to get them dirty, but since they are waterproof you can just hose them down once you are done for the day!
Great shoe.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS SHOE IS VERY COMFORTABLE

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Phoenixville, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The North Plains has good toe room which make them very comfortable. I also like the aggressive tread.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Almost a good shoe

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This pair seemed ok, but I had to return them because they slipped in the heal. We (these were for my son) did go up a half size like recommended and it did seem like we had the right size. It was constructed well and fit good in the width. This is our 2nd pair of Columbia shoes so I was really disappointed it slipped in the heal so much. When I looked at his last pair it had three holes at the top to lace them down snug but this generation of shoes Columbia has changed how the shoes lace, providing only one hole at the top (and seems a little to low down), not the three they provided only a few years ago. So there is no way to really tighten them down snug. After looking online all the shoes this season seem to all lace the same so I will have to look for another brand of shoes. We are very disappointed.
Last year we picked up a awesome pair that were indestructible and very similar to this pair. He wore them everyday - he loved that they were waterproof and in Oregon out on the playground at school his feet never got wet. The last pair fit a little more snug at the ankle and with 3 holes to lace at the top we were able to do a runners knot and keep them extra snug. If anyone from Columbia reads this: Why do you change the designs of your shoes so much year to year. It is so frustrating as a customer when you find something that works only to have it completely change. And having more lacing options is a standard in most hiking and running shoes, what gives?
I would recommend this product.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not true to size

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Clackamas, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
After reading a previous review, I ordered size 11 rather than my usual 10.5 - the length was fine but width too narrow. Good looking sturdy shoe so would recommend if it were true to size.
I would recommend this product.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Waterproof?

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This is a very comfortable pair of shoes EXCEPT these are NOT waterproof. It's not even like I was standing in water. Playing disc golf in the morning with the grass very wet from morning dew. Socks were soaking wet. I don't see where they can back their claim. Disappointed.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice hickers

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Secaucus, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These sneakers are of very good quality ! They offer very good lateral support which I personally like! Had one problem, with sizing, this sneakers run on the short size, order a half size bigger! I bought them online and the free shipping is great but I had to pay $10 to send them back and meanwhile buy another pair, the refund was handled in a very straight forward and friendly manner!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.