Customer reviews for Columbia Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe

Columbia Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe

An incredible value, this lightweight, versatile shoe delivers performance and durability in a package that won’t break the bank. Aggressively lugged rubber soles provide superior traction while the waterproof-breathable bootie membrane keeps you dry. On top, a combination of suede, textile and webbing keeps feet secure and protected. A true all-arounder, this shoe is ideal for a variety of trail-based activities from hiking to running.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Review 1 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Waterproof?

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This is a very comfortable pair of shoes EXCEPT these are NOT waterproof. It's not even like I was standing in water. Playing disc golf in the morning with the grass very wet from morning dew. Socks were soaking wet. I don't see where they can back their claim. Disappointed.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice hickers

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Secaucus, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These sneakers are of very good quality ! They offer very good lateral support which I personally like! Had one problem, with sizing, this sneakers run on the short size, order a half size bigger! I bought them online and the free shipping is great but I had to pay $10 to send them back and meanwhile buy another pair, the refund was handled in a very straight forward and friendly manner!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Lexington, KY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was surprised by how comfortable these waterproof hikers were! I use them day to day for work and then straight to the woods. The only problem is that they look so nice I don't want to get them dirty, but since they are waterproof you can just hose them down once you are done for the day!
Great shoe.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS SHOE IS VERY COMFORTABLE

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Phoenixville, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The North Plains has good toe room which make them very comfortable. I also like the aggressive tread.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

lightweight hiking only

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Bozeman, MT, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit = Average. Really have to tie them super tight for downhill trails.
Tread = Very good. Seems to grip well on all trail surfaces.
Support = Average. Not stiff enough midsoles for long hikes on rocky trails. Good for running on smooth trails.
This is a decent shoe but not the best. The description says the shoe can be used for a variety of trail activities. I agree - up to a point. After using this shoe for a month on a variety of trails, I think it not sturdy/stiff enough for rocky trails. You can feel the sole flex and give-way when stepping on trail rocks. This results in sore feet when on a long hike. Some people might like the softer feel for running though.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

comfy hiking shoes

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Philippines
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought a pair a month ago. so far, so good! better than good! wore them everyday to work. feels really solid and comfortable. sole is soft. used to buy shoes from competing brand. now it's all columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great looking and fitting shoe

PostedJanuary 12, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great everything shoe from hiking to everyday walking. Fit is dead-on and the quality is great. Looking forward to breaking them in on the trails.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not true to size

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Clackamas, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
After reading a previous review, I ordered size 11 rather than my usual 10.5 - the length was fine but width too narrow. Good looking sturdy shoe so would recommend if it were true to size.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Almost a good shoe

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This pair seemed ok, but I had to return them because they slipped in the heal. We (these were for my son) did go up a half size like recommended and it did seem like we had the right size. It was constructed well and fit good in the width. This is our 2nd pair of Columbia shoes so I was really disappointed it slipped in the heal so much. When I looked at his last pair it had three holes at the top to lace them down snug but this generation of shoes Columbia has changed how the shoes lace, providing only one hole at the top (and seems a little to low down), not the three they provided only a few years ago. So there is no way to really tighten them down snug. After looking online all the shoes this season seem to all lace the same so I will have to look for another brand of shoes. We are very disappointed.
Last year we picked up a awesome pair that were indestructible and very similar to this pair. He wore them everyday - he loved that they were waterproof and in Oregon out on the playground at school his feet never got wet. The last pair fit a little more snug at the ankle and with 3 holes to lace at the top we were able to do a runners knot and keep them extra snug. If anyone from Columbia reads this: Why do you change the designs of your shoes so much year to year. It is so frustrating as a customer when you find something that works only to have it completely change. And having more lacing options is a standard in most hiking and running shoes, what gives?
I would recommend this product.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Snug

PostedOctober 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shoes would be excellent if not for the fit. The shoe works as intended but sizing is an issue that cost me additional shipping on my part which is distressing. I ordered the shoe with extra size in mind (Usually fit into a 10 ordered 10.5 had to return for an 11.5, really?) The fit is all over the board. This shoe was so snug that even the 11.5 was not wide enough but I will make it work so I do not have to pay to ship first shoe to me, then ship it back to Columbia then having to pay to ship the new shoe back to me......sorry, but that is unacceptable! This shipping issue needs to be addressed.
Otherwise I am a fan of the Columbia product line just have issues with what sizing methods they approve by their assemblers.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hiked 500 Miles in these shoes

PostedOctober 6, 2015
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Last fall I hiked the 500 mile Camino de Santiago in these shoes and they held up quite well. Very comfortable and durable. Only issue was the waterproofing. In heavy rain your feet are going to get wet. Going to retire my old pair now and get a new pair.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoes

PostedDecember 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Fl
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the style, color, and price. I will buy another pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedApril 13, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shoe has it all. Light, comfortable, and looks good. You can wear it hiking, fishing, or as a casual street shoe. Highly recomend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's North Plains™ Waterproof Low Hiking Shoe
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product