Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®

Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®

This waterproof, seam sealed and insulated winter boot is a true workhorse for activities in cold winter weather. Fortified with new hardware, including bombproof eyelets for easy and secure lacing, we’ve also added double rivets for durability. The reflective lining traps body heat to amplify the warming power of 200 grams of Omni-Heat® insulation. When terrain becomes truly treacherous and unpredictable, the dual compound high traction rubber keeps you safe and stable.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
29 out of 31(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice winter hiking boot

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
ATSaltyDog
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots for winter hiking in the NH Whites. They have proven to be very comfortable by themselves, with microspikes, and with snow shoes. Before Christmas I did a hike up one of the NH 4K footers, Liberty, on a warm day with the trail being very wet with runoff. My feet stayed dried when submersed in about 6" of water. On another hike on a VT 4K footer recently with temps close to -20 and a wind chill around -40, my feet were comfortable and warm buried in snow on about a 45-50 degree incline. You may find if you have to constantly kick into a tail head to create "foot holds" your toes may get a little cold (you will get this with any boot you wear), but when you are back to regular climbing and walking they warm right back up. I always wear a thin sock covered by a wool sock, during all four seasons of hiking, just to give you an idea of what I have on in the boots. They do run 1/2 size small like many others other have stated in reviews. I normally wear a size 9 shoe/boot and purchased a 9 1/2 which fits perfectly. I have about 100 miles of hiking on these over the past 2 months. One more point I want to make, with them being a high boot they do add ankle support which is important as I have found them stopping the ankles from rolling when I am tired at the end of a hike. No issues and would recommend these.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The boot is NOT waterproof

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Jim57
Location: Virginia Beach
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
These boots are waterproof only up to a level of about 3". Yesterday morning I stepped in water that was about 3.5" deep. Within a few seconds, I felt moisture seeping through the tongue of the boot. The boots were purchased 2 years ago and used only about 10 times and have been stored in a climate controlled closet when not in use. My cold, wet feet were very disappointed for the rest of the day.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot . . .

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Tennegon
Location: Port Huron, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Treated myself to these for the holidays, anticipating another Polar Vortex here on the shore of Lake Huron in Michigan.
These boots arrived faster than I would have expected, and are impressively light in weight, but not lightweights. I do think they're a little large, which is surprising. I've owned several pairs of Columbia footwear, and generally get a 9 1/2 or 10, so I went with 9 1/2 on this pair, but wonder if a 9 would have been a snugger fit. It's nothing major, just seems a bit big.
They are very comfortable for such a high boot, especially the insole, which feels very cushy. One of the things that I've noticed already is that snow and ice doesn't stick to the bottoms, as if the sole is coated with something.
We've been having temps down around zero F, with wind chills below that, and I'm out shoveling, walking, whatever with no worries about cold feet.
I'm glad I added this pair of boots to my collection of Columbia footwear. If I ever wear them out, which I just about don't think will be possible, I'll definitely buy another.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just NOT worth the money

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer avatar
DavidinChicago
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ok so I did an insane amount of research on winter boots and repeatedly found that this boot was the best reviewed. I cannot for the life of me understand why. For a boot thats rated for -25F/-32C my feet should not be freezing cold at 17F. However, this is what I have found. Anything below 30F and my feet are FREEZING! One pair of wool socks or two doesnt matter. Last night I wore these boots around downtown Chicago for about 3 hours in 17F weather and by the end of it my feet were so cold they were in terrible pain. When I got home it took a heating pad to warm my feet up enough to get them to stop hurting. What a complete waste of money. I have bought gloves, a balaclava, boots, and a coat with omni-tech and have learned that the omni-tech garbage is really only effective in the coats.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1 month of having them

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
IshLuvin
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a UPS delivery driver and i needed winter boots for the cold season. Majority of my shoes are a size 11 but with these i had size up one. Thankfully i bought mines from Sports Authority so i was able to try it on before purchasing it. They're very comfortable and lightweight for boots with so many features in it. I found my feet sweating in mid 40's degree weather. 30's is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love 'em!

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
stillsguy
Location: New Orleans
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish that I was more of a technical person so I understood how Columbia's "omni-shield" works. But I'm a believer! As a movie and tv cameraman, I'm on my feet all day in all kinds of weather. These boots are amazing: comfortable to walk and stand in and my size 13s don't feel like I'm Bozo the clown! Bitter cold I just used heavier socks, just cold, regular socks and feet stayed dry and toasty all day.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Winter Boots

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Jack00Frost
Location: MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First things first: these boots run a full size small. I'm normally a size 7.5, I got size 8.5 and they fit very comfortably.
I would recommend these boots due to their comfortable feel, attractive look, and (importantly) warmth. You could easily walk through large snow banks in these without feeling it. The only knock against them is they take a short while to break in the ankle portion; it chafes for the first week. After that they flex well and feel great.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring on the Winter!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Knots50
Location: Vancouver BC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a avid Golfer you plays daily here in Vancouver BC and as anyone who lives here knows it get's pretty wet and muddy this time of year. Rather than ruining another pair of Golf Shoes I bought the Bugaboot II and could not be happier. Standing water, Mud, Cold temperatures these boots will handle it all with ease and the soles are great for traction on ice as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
EnlightenedScorpio
Location: Upstate NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair for myself, and my wife. So far, we have been very happy with these boots. It's not even winter yet officially here in upstate New York, but we've already had lots of snow and ice. These boots are keeping our feet warm and are well made. I feel secure on the snow and ice. They look great (I bought black) and wear very well. Mine fit perfectly (Size 13) and we are glad we got the size up (10) for my wife, as a 9-1/2, would have been too snug for her.
Good work and thanks! We got these during the Black Friday Special, so the price was awesome.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Hetapeta
Location: Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots caught my eye right away. Lightweight and a perfect fit. Have not used them in cold conditions yet but I'm sure they will deliver.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable Boots

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Reid
Location: Central Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use these boots to work and play outside in the winter. They replaced a pair of bugaboos that I have had for nearly a decade. They are very comfortable, and feel less bulky than most pack boots. I was hesitant to get the tall boots, but it turn out to be a great decision. (no snow over the top)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Boot

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
DixieGentleman
Location: Culpeper, VA 22701, USA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this type of boot for over 4 years. Have worn them in all kinds of weather. I use to work 9 to 10 hours a day and was on My feet for at least 8 to 9 hours of it, if not longer. Walked 5 to 8 miles a day in them. The sole of the boots are just now showing major wear but still water proof and warm. Yes I do highly recommend this boot to any and all that need an all weather comfortable boot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
TheDutchman84
Location: Oskaloosa, IA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots for pheasant hunting. They're lightweight, waterproof, comfortable, and exactly what I was wanting. Couldn't be happier with my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reviews Didn't Disappoint

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
bentoons
Location: Des Moines, IA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In my quest to find a cold weather boot, the Bugaboot Plus II Omni-Heat kept appearing in the top ten winter boot review sites as one of the best on the market. It boasts complete waterproofing, a patented heat-reflecting/moisture-wicking built-in lining, and a lightweight, yet supportive outer sole and upper that fit comfortably under pants.
I needed a pair of boots that can withstand sub-zero temperatures for long stretches outdoors (12+ hours, sometimes low activity). While I thought these might be a little light for this challenge, I couldn't believe the first time I put them on, they actually got warmer the longer I wore them. Really impressive heat retention capabilities.
I wear a 10.5 shoe (US), my feet tend to fit a bit wide in some brands. I purchased the 11 so I could double up socks if ever necessary, but they are roomy & great fit with just one pair of thick socks.
I think I will be a repeat customer if these ever wear out. Well-done, Columbia; the high accolades are well-deserved.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer avatar
LawandaR
Location: Nashville,NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fiancé love these!!!
I would recommend this product.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more frozen feet

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
JTBagwell
Location: Geneseo, IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since I was a little kid, I have had issues with my feet getting really cold and numb. This would make it difficult as a Bass Angler to stay out on the water all day long in the Spring and Fall when it was chilly outside.
Since getting a pair of Bugaboots, I have not had this problem anymore. They keep my feet warm, dry and comfortable all day long.
I would definitely recommend them to EVERYONE!!!
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and sturdy boot

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
DOCZ
Location: Campbell Hall NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are great. Definitely waterproof standing in 5 inches of water. Very warm hiking in snow in thin socks. A little narrow in the foot but fits like a glove. I have ankle issues and the hi height really helps with ankle stabilization. Well worth it.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mens Bugaboot

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
CaptJim
Location: Angleton Tx
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the 3rd pair of Bugaboots that I have own...always get 4- 5yrs of service out of these boots....most excellent quality.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Provided excellent warmth and traction.

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
MIwinters
Location: MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boot met or exceeded all expectations to endure Michigan winters.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Snow Boot

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Marky
Location: Taos, NM
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought a second pair of Bugaboot Plus II Omni-Heat, so I can work day after day in the snow and give each pair a full day to dry out all the way. Over the course of a day, they keep your feet warm and dry, regardless of weather, and they are so light and have such great traction, its a pleasure to work in winter conditions. I partner them up with Outdoor Research Crocodile gators which clip neatly onto the front gator ring, and wear a pair of chainsaw chaps over the top of all that, and it doesn't matter if the snow is 3' deep - toasty toes all day with a thin cotton and a thick wool sock inside!
I would recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>