Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot

Columbia Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot

Vintage good looks give this waterproof, full-grain leather boot serious street appeal and we’ve integrated high-performing technology to ensure that it keeps you warm, dry and comfortable during everything from burly late fall hikes to long days working out in the elements. Rugged metal hardware ensures durability and we used soft pigskin for the collar and lining to further enhance comfort. A Techlite™ midsole is lightweight and flexible, providing just the right amount of cushioning and support. The Alpine Original is also offered in suede.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
5 out of 7(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot
Review 1 for Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Design/Build Fail

PostedMay 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Being a fan of Columbia products, I was disappointed in these boots. I bought a pair in January, in preparation for a trip I was taking to Maine later that month. I water-proofed them properly in advance, and was excited to put them to the test in the snowy Maine mountains. Unfortunately, the boots did not respond well. After going on a hike the first day in the wilderness, I got back to the cabin to notice that the rubber toe guard appeared to be separating from the leather. Closer inspection proved me correct. Moreover, it had separated enough that snow was getting in between the leather toe and the toe guard, melting, and causing moisture inside. I dried the boots next to our wood-burning stove overnight, and used seam sealant across the toe to seal it from the elements. I knew this would destroy my ability to return the shoes, but I was in the mountains of Maine with a blizzard bearing down on us and negative double digit temps--I needed to ensure my feet would stay dry.
Outside of this obvious cheap design flaw, my heel became blistered after hiking for a few hours. The inner cloth liner at the heel had actually worn away and the plastic was rubbing against my heel.
If you're planning on buying these boots for light, aesthetic use, they'll fit the bill. If you actually want to use them outdoors, look elsewhere.
Columbia, you failed with this boot!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very low quality

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Salina, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These have to be some of the worst shoes I have purchased from Columbia ever. I am pretty sure I will be sending them back. For the price I would have expected a higher quality boot. They have no padding around the collar of the boot and the tongue of the boot is so stiff that is quickly made my ankles sore. If they would have been half the cost, I would probably keep them but for $100 they are just not worth that much.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Boots Can Go Anywhere

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I am not wearing my Chacos then I am wearing these boots everywhere I go. Living as a Summer Camp Professional in East Texas these bad boys have lived up to wear and tear of marshes, snow, brush, and every day walking. I get the bost of best worlds with a sturdy build and a good look to wear with my khaki pants or jeans. I did replace the insoles to make them more comfortable but that is because i have a very thin foot.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good looking and functional

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Saint Louis, MO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been happy with my boots so far. I haven't taken them out too much into the elements yet. I'll be using them out in the Rockies in a month and from how they've performed so far, I'm confident they'll work well.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light, dry, semi-warm, and flexible

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear this everyday at work. Its been comfy and keeping my feet dry. The sole would be a bit slippery on wet/icy surfaces.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Boots Ever

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Glenwood, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just spent 16 hours over the last three days and nights removing over 5 feet of snow on my son's pitched roof. These boots were like claws on the snow, warm and comfortable. Buy them you will not regret it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Original™ Alpine Leather Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are seriously the best boots!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Southern Oregon, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hope Columbia continues to make these boots for years to come! These feel and look excellent! They are very light weight and feel almost like wearing tennis shoe, yet they provide great support and traction. We had a heavy snow fall here early in the season here in Ashland that left a good 6-8" of snow cover on campus, I wore these boots in the snow and the performed flawlessly no snow or moisture made it through. I have been wearing these to work almost everyday, and I have made a few hikes to the top of Roxy Ann Peak and Table Rock and they are great! I can't stress enough how comfortable and light weight these are!! I can't wait to see how they perform during hunting season! (plus they look great, the retro styling is perfect)
I would recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byBeaverDAMage
Southern Oregon, OR
 
Please wait while more information about BeaverDAMage is loaded.
Additional information about BeaverDAMage could not be loaded.
Update
onFebruary 13, 2015
Over a year later, I have probably put about 50 miles on these boots in the last year, still loving them. Hoping they get my size back in stock so I can pick up a back up pair for spring.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)