Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe

Columbia Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe

This ultra-versatile hybrid shoe features Omni-Freeze ZERO in the lining, which reacts with sweat to lower the temperature of the material. Designed to move seamlessly from trail to water, it’s comfortable, lightweight, lively and responsive.
Overall rating:
3.929 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
10 out of 14(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Shoe Made For River Runnin'

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Prototype
Location: Louisiana and Texas
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I fish lakes, rivers, saltwater bays and marsh in these shoes. They are my go to shoes from Spring until the end of Fall. This shoe works well when water temperatures are above 60*, anything colder and you will want something that doesn't allow your feet to come into direct contact with water.
I wasn't sure how well white would work in the areas that I walk through. Yes, they get dirty, but nothing bleach and a washing machine can't handle. The drain holes work well when I'm running rivers with my sit on top kayak and have to get out to drag through the shallow areas. When it's time to reenter the shoes allow the water to exit and I bring very little back into the kayak.
There's one thing that becomes a slight problem. Sand and other really small pebbles can get into the shoe if it's being stirred up. Still it isn't enough to deter me from buying another pair, just something that I have to deal with every now and then.
I say buy them, you won't be sorry!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerdrain PFG Shoe

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jared1203
Location: Northern California
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are awesome. Lightweight and cool. Can fish all day in them easily.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes! Light and breathable

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
chyzman
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 3rd pair since I like them so much. I wear them for the gym and workouts and they are very light, but provide great comfort and support. I highly recommend these shoes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valkyrie
Location: CA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work around boats and the water and need comfortable, good gripping shoes that can also get wet and dry quickly. I have always been a Sperry Shoe guy, but these shoes are awesome.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boat shoes

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
greazy
Location: Miami, FL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was out on the water and true to summer time South Florida weather we ran into the afternoon thunder storms. Got pounded by water but never slipped on the deck. it was like the shoes draw the water away from your feet because the shoes stayed a little damp but at the end of the day when I took them off my feet did not look like prunes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect hiking/water shoe

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
crispeto
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a shoe that is a great water shoe and a great hiking shoe. We just got back from Kauai, Hawaii and these were perfect except for the beach. They will get sand trapped in them on the beach so I recommend flip flops there. But we went on a jungle hike in Kauai during a tropical rain storm and these were great. We also went on a kayaking/trail/waterfall excursion and they were perfect for that also. Excellent trail pattern sole, the shoes drain quickly, stick to just about any trail, go through streams and wet rocks perfectly and are super comfortable. I used them as my around town shoe and as my trail/water shoe. When we got home from our trip, I just threw them in the washer and allowed them to dry in the sun. They look like new. For any trail that includes water, this is your shoe, just avoid sand. To get them to dry faster, set a towel over them and step on the shoes to soak up the excess water. Then let them dry in the warm sun. Mine only took about 45 minutes to dry after that.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boat product

PostedJune 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
CaptSteve
Location: Ocracoke, nc
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Works well both on a boat and very well in the water. I spend countless hours working on the water as a charter fisherman. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Went Through the Wringer

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcspeakeasy
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I literally just got back from one of the most strenuous backpacking hikes in the world, Kalalau Trail, on the famous Na'Pali Coast in Kauai, Hawaii.
The Kalalau Trail features lots of intense, rocky trails that will take you through intense inclines and declines. The cushioning I felt could have been a little more, but it did hold up. While this is all fine and dandy the real reason you purchase these shoes is because of its ability to go through water and drain quickly. The Kalalau Trail has 7 different stream crossings over 11 miles, 3 of which are major ones that have the possibility of flash flooding. I would say after going through each of these streams, the shoes properly drained within 10 minutes, while I continued hiking. I wore Smartwool Phd socks along with these shoes and I had a very good setup that dried quickly. I wish you could see the faces of my fellow hikers as they had to halt at every stream and put on their water booties, as I just charged right ahead into the stream and met them on the other side. The other great feature that is overlooked is that this is the only draining shoe of Columbia's product line that has the pull coord laces. This made cinching my shoes for tightness quick, and erased any time spent on untied laces.
I had been racking my brain for a while determining whether I wanted to bring bulkier hiking shoes or go more minimal and bring these water shoes that could hold up a little more for hiking. I have to say these shoes withstood the test, and it even had my fellow hikers impressed. I would say as an improvement again, these shoes could use some more cushioning in the forefoot, heel support was fine, but my front toe beds definitely took a pounding and were blistering by the end of the 11 mile hike (carrying a 33 lb backpack didn't help either). Also, Columbia would be really smart to consider a mid top version of this shoe for hikers concerned about the lack of ankle support. I honestly, did not feel I needed this and made out just fine, but it would be something to consider.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hate to do it columbia

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
captscott
Location: South East Coast
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the 3rd pair of boat/water shoes I have perchaces in a year and all three pairs have lasted less than 3 months. I bought these in March and like all the other pairs the material in the toe area starts to wear through and rip. I think it rubs on the non skid on the boat. Now I do put the shoes to the test. I spend over 250 days on the water but whould expect them to last more than 3 months. The matial is just to thin in the toe area and needs more reiforcment. I sent one pair back and 3 weeks later I got another pair but they too didnt last. If you are going to build a shoe and sell it as a boat/water shoe it has to hold up to being wet and flexing over and over. They are light as heck and cool on the feet
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not satisfied

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
sportsman18
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If your intent is to wear these shoes in the water, look elsewhere. They fill with sand, rocks and shells. I thought to myself, maybe they're really made for boat landings or fishing and the intent is to have them drain water and dry quick, NOPE! Water drains out but I wore them for over 3 hours after getting wet and they were still soaked. Left them out on my deck in 90 degree sun with a 20 mph wind and 4 hours later they were still wet. I am not sure what the intent of these shoes were when Columbia designed them but I am not happy with these. I own a lot of Columbia products and have been very satisfied, these need to go back to the drawing board.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little disappointed

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pompano
Location: Sarasota, FL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only wore the shoes a couple weeks and a seam is coming loose on one of the shoes. Also hard to get your foot in and out.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

drains fast, dries fast & keeps you cool!

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
HandsomBWonderful
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
these shoes are great for work and for play that involves water. once wet, the omni-freeze zero activates for a refreshing cool down. as drain ports work quick to become air-flow ports for a fast and continued dryness. the quick toggle system makes for easy and comfortable on & off at a drop of a dime. these guys stay comfortable, moving around all day long. this is a functional, wonderful shoe!
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Dry Quickly

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
aquaman
Location: Wind Lake WI
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The whole purpose of these shoes is so you can use them around water and drain AND DRY QUICKLY. THEY DRY SLOWLY.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Powerdrain™ Cool PFG Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second round for me

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Litos
Location: South Florida
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still wearing the first generation, and bought replacement to work into the rotation. Some minor upgrades that improved the shoes. Thank you for making them in my size!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.