Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot

Columbia Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot

Supportive and waterproof, this durable boot is designed to keep you comfortable, stable and protected during long days on the trail: OutDry technology provides the best in waterproof breathable technology while Omni-Grip high traction rubber keeps you secure over challenging terrain.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
6 out of 6(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot
Review 1 for Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

quick break in-busted rear loop

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
zford79
Location: Tahoe Region
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got the boots, wore them for a day and then took them on a 15 mile hike. The break in was quick and painless. However when I went to pull them on for the second time ever, the rear pull loop broke. That was disappointing. I will return them to Columbia, and I am not worried about having to break another pair in, these were super easy. I can't speak to the waterproofness yet, and although they are true to my usual size, the downloadable sizing chart measured my foot one size to big.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byzford79
Tahoe Region
 
Please wait while more information about zford79 is loaded.
Additional information about zford79 could not be loaded.
holding strong
onSeptember 24, 2013
Been over 100 miles now, and they are well broken in with no other signs of failure. I tested the waterproofness in a 3 hour hike in a soaking rain. My feet stayed dry although the boots were wet. I think I am going to buy another pair and just have my local shoe repair guy put an extra stitch or two in on the rear loop.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byzford79
Tahoe Region
 
Please wait while more information about zford79 is loaded.
Additional information about zford79 could not be loaded.
broke again
onAugust 19, 2013
Received the new boots after returning the last pair because of the broken loop. Had them for 2 days (again) and the pull loop on the back broke again. Obviously a design flaw. The rest of the boot is awesome, but that one flaw makes me worry about the overall longevity of the boot.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 2 for Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

light boots

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
ron59
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lightweight boot. Ankle takes some breaking in, and does seem to be truly waterproof
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice boots

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
linesOut
Location: SC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are nice boots they are light weight.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good boot, back loop tore off immediately

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
OtisHorse
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The boots are very comfortable and have kept my feet dry in some pretty wet situations. The only problem is that the back loop tore off the first time I put them on. The rest of the boots seems to be constructed pretty well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byzford79
Tahoe Region
 
Please wait while more information about zford79 is loaded.
Additional information about zford79 could not be loaded.
weak back loop
onJuly 27, 2013
My back loop also tore off the second time I put them on...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Comfortable, great boot

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Pmcgrana
Location: San Jose, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable and easy to wear in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Gruben™ OutDry Mid Hiking Boot
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of boots

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
SDGSI
Location: Berwick, PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a person who has problems with their feet, I would say that these boots are about the best I have worn. I have three pairs of other manufacturer's boots and shoes in my closet that I am not able to wear for more than a hour or two, but with Columbia's Gruben boots I am able to wear them all day and my feet do not bother me.
They are comfortable and waterproof and the soles do not slip on rocks while walking along streams and on woodland trails.
If Columbia would make these in casual shoes I would also buy a pair of those. I would recommend these shoes to anyone who spends time in the outdoors or even for everyday wear.
I think these are the best shoes I own at this time.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.