Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe

Don’t let the minimalist look of this shoe fool you – it features an OutDry waterproof-breathable membrane, Techlite for lightweight cushioning and support, burly Omni-Grip high traction rubber and a durable leather upper – making it perfect for aerobic offroad activities in inclement weather but also versatile enough for everyday use.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
5 out of 6(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe
Review 1 for Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not that good

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Hotbronco
Location: AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
They are good looking but not very comfortable. The tongue keeps slipping to one side on the right shoe only. There isn't enough grip for what I wanted . They kinda make the foot look 10 times longer. Just not my favorite. May be for someone else.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a Spartan Race, or just every day use.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Customer avatar
UFORocks
Location: Delaware
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been training in these for about 6 months now and I really like them. I train outside 5 days a week, rain or shine, and these shoes have performed excellent through every exercise and in every weather condition that I've subjected them to. The real test, however, will be a spartan race. I bought a second pair just for the race and started breaking them in about three weeks beforehand.
Spartan Race aside, they're great shoes for every day use; they look great with a pair of jeans, and I never have to think twice about walking through puddles or wet grass on a rainy day. They're also very light weight which is a plus no matter what you do in them.
There isn't one thing that I would change about these shoes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byUFORocks
Delaware
 
Please wait while more information about UFORocks is loaded.
Additional information about UFORocks could not be loaded.
Worked out great
onJuly 15, 2013
Well, I finished the race, and these shoes performed wonderfully. It had been raining on the mountain on and off for a few weeks before the race so there wasn't a dry patch of dirt or grass to be found. These shoes didn't fail me once through 5 miles of tough terrain riddled with; rocks, mud, branches, more mud, more rocks, more... you get the idea. They're a little worse for wear, but they look like they'll survive quite a bit more abuse before I have to replace them. I've included a before and after pic. Also note, these shoes did keep my feet dry until I completely submerged them in a few feet of muddy water.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outdry keeps you dry

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
HandsomBWonderful
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this shoe is great! I am in golf course managment and deal with irrigation each day, and our irrigation heads can dump 59 gallons a minute right into your shoes or boots. this shoe will keep you dry! if you don't step in water deeper than your ankle. I have tried too many shoes and boots claiming to be "waterproof" and these shoes really keep your feet dry!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite shoe

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
BrianE
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these 3 or 4 months ago to wear as my primary casual shoe. Based on the other reviews, my foot must be shaped just right for these shoes because I haven't had any fit issues and find them very comfortable.
I wasn't having any problems with the original insole but had been wanting to try to the Montrail insoles and put a pair in these shoes. They're slightly thicker than the original insoles but after an hour or so of use settled in and feel great.
The Outdry technology is one of the primary things that attracted me to this shoe. I haven't been out wading in puddles to really put them to the test but I have noticed a difference. I live in Portland and even just a short walk in the rain your feet get wet. I didn't really pay attention before because you just get used to it. Now with these shoes I'm noticing that my feet are now always dry.
I was worried about the breathability and my feet sweating but that hasn't been an issue either.
I like the leather and the looks of the shoe so they don't look quite as casual as a running shoe. So far they're also wearing very well and I'm hoping to get a lot more use out of them.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Caution but great TechLite

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
razweekly
Location: Tysons, VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The lightweight of these shoes are the reason I got these shoes. I love my other TechLite shoes so much I bought a second pair. I would not buy a second pair of these but your feet are different and probably your use.
These nearly got sent back because of the fit near the ball of the foot. It is not the width as much as it is the tight fit. I wear plain white cotton socks which are nearly too thick. With my thinner socks these are great. But I don't know how that will feel in the colder weather. So some caution.
No rain days yet which is the primary reason I bought these. I'm an urban and paved trail walker and these are just right for that.
With a few weeks of breaking in, they may become my favorite fall and spring shoe especially because of the light weight.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Masterfly™ OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lightest waterproof shoe I could find

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer avatar
bub7
Location: Washington State
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a little narrow for my wide foot but it stretched out just fine and is roomy after I took out the insole. nice and light. still new I hope the "outdry" works as well as they say.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.