Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe

Streamlined and minimal, this shoe keeps you warm, dry and stable during aerobic activities in inclement weather even when you’re traversing over a variety of terrain; the Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining, an OutDry waterproof-breathable membrane and the lightweight support of the Techlite midsole combine to deliver superior performance, fit, breathability and warmth retention.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
13 out of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent shoe if smaller than expected.

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cg97035
Location: Lake Oswego, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shoe is great for the trail running I've been doing- the low profile fit makes it easy to keep my balance over rough terrain and the Omni Dry feature kept my feet dry even in a spring downpour. They were however about 1- 1 1/2 sizes small- I usually wear a 10 1/2 and bought an 11 but it's still a bit tight (will likely end up buying a 12 to save my toes). They also seem to be a bit narrow for Columbia shoes so be aware (thankfully I've got narrow feet so it's not a problem).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Single purpose

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
jimbizzle
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for cold weater hiking. If I run trails with them, in the summer, my feet get pretty hot. I can't describe the ecstasy of taking them off after a long run.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
adurra129
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these for my Husband and he loves them. He said they are very light and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Shoe

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
InTheCloud
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Master Fly for general outdoor / everyday wear during our "cold" season, which doesn't last long in FL. Very warm and dry, which is what I was looking for to replace a set of lightweight hikers (mostly for the weather and warmth). I have a narrow foot, so based on previous reviews that the shoe runs narrow and a bit short, I ordered up one size and the fit is right on for my foot.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Men's Shoe Master Fly

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
PhyllisMc
Location: Cedar Grove, NC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I didn't feel the shoe has enough support so I returned the shoe. It was a nice shoe but I needed more support.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
BoxJuice
Location: San Antonio, TX
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoes are excellent! Size does run a little small, I got mine a 1/2 size bigger. They were snug at first but are perfect after a few days out on the trails. They've kept my feet dry in the little rain we've had, still waiting try them through heavy rain. All in all, Perfect! I recommend to all.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoe...Will buy another pair

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sam33
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall a fantastic shoe. The fit is just right. The omni-heat seems to work, because my feet are rarely cold. The only issue is that the first layer of the outside sole has already started to peel away. It's just a corner, but watching to see how far it'll peel back.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
wsder
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light, warm and comfortable. These shoes are awesome. Took them out hiking last week and performed great. If you don't want a bulky hiking shoes these are for you. They remind me of my vibram soul running shoes. I do a lot of sprints up hill on uneven ground and these shoes worked very well. They're also comfortable without socks. Thanks, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value for The Money

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
tommyr
Location: palos ILL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit , true too sizing , very well constructed. Fit very comfortably from minute one. Love Them. I will definately recommend this too anyone looking for a shoe like this.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No arch support

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
kmbor
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My husband decided to return these shoes after he ordered them because they seemed to have very minimal to no arch support. He liked the look and the fit, but felt that without support, it would not be good.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really great pair of shoes

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
UFORocks
Location: Delaware
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a shoe to train in this winter for a spartan sprint coming up in July, and on paper these shoes fit the bill. My only reservation was the fit; I've seen several reviews on different sites all saying that these run small. I printed the Columbia size chart from this site and found my foot to be on the small end of the 9.5 size bracket, which is 264 to 270, so I went with that size.
The shoes have two - skinny and wide - eyes for the laces; I had to re-lace them to use the wide. The shoes are VERY snug, which did take some getting used-to, however, after a few days I found them to be comfortable.
Print and use the size guide before you purchase these shoes; If your feet measure on the small side to the middle of the scale for your size then go with that size, but if you measure on the larger end then - IMO - you should consider going up a half size. Remember that the shoes are supposed to be snug, and if you go up too far in size then they'll be too long for your feet.
The shoes have great grip in light snow and mud, and keep my feet dry and warm. I haven't tried these in the rain, heavy mud, or deep snow yet.
I would definitely recommend these to a friend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice for its Purpose

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
47Walker
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shoes are nice for winter walks on a snowy sidewalk. The tread pattern makes for a secure footing. They definitely keep my feet dry. The shoes are warmer than other athletic shoes, but not as warm as an insulated boot would be; my toes tend to get chilly.
The fit is similar to other athletic shoes -- I bought one size larger than I wear in a dress shoe, and they fit just fine.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perform great, be wary of fitting

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blehberg
Location: Moscow, Russia
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love them so far - except I should have tried them more thoroughly before running 8k - my big toes were killing me in the next few days - the shoe size runs small, and kind of sneaks up on you. Other than that, they do the job - protect my feet from rain, snow and gnarly terrain.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too small

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
pdxden
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I read reviews that the shoe runs small, so I went up a half size.(I wear a 10) I should have gone a full size or a size and a half up. it was very tight from the ball of the foot to the toes. Therefore, I had to send it back. I may try it again at an 11 and a half.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Master Fly™ Omni-Heat® OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First Few Break-In Days

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
KeithC
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Was looking for a good waterproof, low cut hike/run shoe for when the weather turns bad. Current running shoes are zero drop (not full vibram minimal or anything), so wanted to stay with that. Hard to find until I saw the new MasterFly's.
Good: Quality seems great, and I can feel the slight warmth of the Omni-Heat.. not too hot for fall wear, no sweating so far. I think they will be great in the winter.
Bad: Definitely run small, I usually am fine/borderline too much room in a size 9. Tight at the ankle, better with a taller thicker sock. A little pinching on the top of the foot. I wish they had a wide option, I that would help me in this fit shoe.
Going to keep working them in and loosening the middle laces... because I like the quality, look, waterproof, tread, and breathe-ability... just need to get the fit right.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.