Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 

Somewhere in the world, there’s single-track singing a siren song to you – and you should go to her. Constructed with a durable mix of leather and mesh textile, the upper on this hiking boot is at once protective, breathable and secure. The waterproof-breathable bootie construction helps to lock out moisture, ensuring that feet stay dry and comfortable. Inside, the midsole is lightweight and cushioned with enough support to keep up with even your most ambitious day trips. Hold tight to varied terrain with super-gripping, non-marking rubber outsoles that love to hug good dirt (along with rocks, grass, gravel and roots). Long days on the trail never felt so good.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
39 out of 48(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Review 1 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light Weight and a Sure Step

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not a rugged hiker. I wanted a reasonably priced hiking shoe to wear at outside all day events, on rough ground and dust, that would keep my feet comfortable with sure footing. This shoe is that and it has so much more capability than I expect from it. I like it because when I look down at my feet, I don't have a bulky shoe with an extended sole from around the edge of the shoe that will cause me to trip or stumble. The tread on the shoe is very durable and it gives me sure footing. I like the two top eyelets for lacing too.
I would recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Comfy Boot that needs a pull tab/loop on the heel.

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Gulf Coast USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Columbia almost nailed this comfy hiker. It's light weight, warm, breathable and just feels good all day long. But you'll have to unlace it halfway to comfortably slip your foot in because they forgot a pull tab/loop at the heel to help you put them on. Regardless, I still own two pair.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tennessee
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight and well made. Good fit and great traction. I call it the perfect marriage of a tennis shoe like sole to a boot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A 1.8 lb set of lifesavers

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: San Francisco, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having found myself temporarily stranded 11 miles from home late at night and with my cash and debit card still in the possession of a somewhat irritated and highly verbally opinionated girlfriend not at all happy with something or other I had said or not done (I'm not really sure as I wasn't paying that much attention) I started hoofing it in my new Men's Newton Ridge Plus hiking boots. I say "new" as I had worn my new boots only once before for much less of an 11 mile hike. The boots performed so well, supported my arches and ankles, and didn't bind, chafe or cause me to blister. That was quite the hike on mostly paved surfaces but I was happy and impressed with only a sore back and happy feet willing to encourage me to pay attention to what my girlfriend says from now on. I feel I should order another pair of this exceptional shoe as my willingness to listen and pay attention often misses the mark. The shoes, however, I like and am so happy to have had them on my long hike home. Well done, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got these for Hubby who is a mail carrier. He needs durable and waterproof and so far so good. He's hard on shoes so will update my review if they don't hold up as well as anticipated
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byNorthDakotaPrairie
Western, ND
 
Please wait while more information about NorthDakotaPrairie is loaded.
Additional information about NorthDakotaPrairie could not be loaded.
I'm a mail carrier too--in North Dakota
onFebruary 10, 2015
Will these be warm at all?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normally I wouldn't write a review on a boot until It had been full y worn. This boot however had a good feel to it the moment I put it on and only got more comfortable as time went on. It is light weight, durable and true to size. I would definitely recommend this boot!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and great price

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Sparta, Tennessee
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These not only look great but feel great on my feet. Great looking, water proof and light on weight. What more could a person want. Try them you will not be disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot for the money

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: The high desert of Southern Utah
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The newton Ridge has quickly become my favorite all around "go too boot" among my many hiking boots. The right height, a good fit and good feel and workmanship.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfortable fit

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Bradenton, Fl
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the product arrived as scheduled. a very good comfortable fit for its intended use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best all around boot!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these as a daily boot. I couldn't be more happy with them! I am an avid outdoorsman and found these boots to fit my needs exactly. They are waterproof, durable, comfortable, and look good with jeans... What more do you need?
Construciton is great, infact it is so good; I am ordering them in black!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken a shoe lace tab after 2 weeks

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Loveland, CO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I don't really want to spend 90 dollars on a pair of boots, just to have one of t he shoe lace tabs completely snap off less then a month later. Use some decent metal in you shoe lace tabs if you're going to charge that much for boots please.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Hiking Boots!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Ft Belvoir, VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I only have about 8 miles in the last week on these boots but I am impressed so far. They are perfect for my needs: a few miles hiking with the family and a baby on my back. They feel like I've been wearing them for years; no blisters or rubbing. Just comfort. They are light and have plenty of cushioning. Had ford about 3 inches of water in a creek today and they held out the water as advertised. These are great boots for the price!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Newton Ridge

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: California, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had an earlier model of this boot and was very pleased, however this boot does not have the same support level to avoid myself from having sore feet at the end of the day to the point I can barely walk.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: California, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only been wearing these shoes for a month but they're comfortable to walk around in, they are waterproof (at the least the lower half is.), and they fit well. It's too early to say how durable the sole is.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome boots

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Henrietta
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am ecstatic about these boots. I tried to get boots in the mall and all they had were the same brand and style, construction boots! I saw these on the website and hoped they would work for me....I'm very particular. They came early and work great for what I do for work. Never hurt my feet. Great product! !
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Newton Ridge Plus

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Good fit! Very comfortable
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hiking Boot

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: North Branford, CT, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had them out once due to the weather in the northeast but they are really comfortable and fit really well. They performed well in about 4 inches of snow and were shipped to my house in less than a week after ordering. Everything I have bought from Columbia is great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: west Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This is my second pair. Very comfortable. shoes are semi-dressy so I use them as dress shoes. Waterproof works good. Shoes are not insulated so feet don't sweat indoors. Shoes are durable but soles wore out after about 2 years of wearing several times a week.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a good choise!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: israel
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shoes are lite, comfortable and look great!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Newton Ridge™ Plus 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Boots, especially for the price

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Shelbyville, MO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work on a farm and purchased these for work-boots. I walk nearly a mile each way between the farm and my house everyday, so I need something comfortable to walk in and yet protective for the rest of the work day. These boots made the top of my toe a little sore where the bent as I walked, but I corrected that problem with a stick-on pad from Walmart that is designed for around the heel of a shoe - I glued it onto the top of the toe inside the boot. I suffer from plantar fascitis and so I have a particular insole that I placed in them to support my arch and cushion my heel. The sole of these is great - phenomenal traction. After a few days (probably 10-15 miles), they were starting to become very comfortable. I like the solid feel - they are a very sturdy boot. If you want something for more agile maneuverability, these might not be the best pick. The string hooks feel very well secured into the shoe - something I've had break on previous boots. Overall, I like them and would recommend them. I have only been wearing them for 2 weeks now, so I can't speak to their durability, but the soles show absolutely no wear after the miles of gravel road and pavement I 've walked on (10-15 as I said before).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>