Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®

Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®

The extra tall collar on this insulated and waterproof winter boot provides additional protection in extreme conditions while a whopping 600 grams of insulation provides a warm environment for hard-working feet. Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining throughout regulates and retains body heat so you stay comfortable during extended periods of activity in cold winter conditions. The Techlite™ shell is not only flexible and protective, it’s also astonishingly light, which helps fend off fatigue so you go further, faster.
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
21 out of 22(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great outdoor/winter Boot

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Bigbiz
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These booths are very warm and light. I work min of 12 hrs outside on my feet and found it to be very comfortable. A few cons in my opinion; the sole could have more grip/slip or oil resistance . The laces do not feel strong, might have to change to laces with more strength but great boot overall.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Jackjay
Location: Newark, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and comfortable
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant Warmth

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Hometown
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm in my mid 50's and am having issues with numbness in my feet. This also leads to my feet getting cold rather quickly. The first time I put on the Bugaboot, I instantly felt like my feet warming up. I'm outside for long periods of time and keeping my feet warm is no longer a problem.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Warm & Comfortable!!!

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Mark64
Location: Milwaukee Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best pair of boots I've ever bought for the winter. They're true to size. And they are so warm that u only need to wear one pair of socks. I wear size 13 but bought the 14 just in case I wanted to wear a extra pair of socks. And they're so comfortable it feels like you're walking on pillows!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and Rugged

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Steelheader
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Great boot! I've stood in snow for hours and feet are still warm. The laces could be a little longer when wearing them with pant legs tucked inside boot. Even without pant legs tucked in the laces are still a little short. Also they're a bit stiff. Maybe they need some breaking in. Other than that its been a great boot so far.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Narrow

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Laker
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Even though I ordered a size larger, these boots were too narrow for my 4E feet. Had to return. How come no wide widths?
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Texas Kayaker Review

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Arai
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I’ve been looking for a cold weather, waterproof boot for about 3 years….and I feel like I may have JUST ENDED THAT SEARCH! Since becoming serious about fishing a few years ago, I’ve realized that from time to time I will be forced to deal with mother-nature if I want to get outside. I’ve tried everything from rubber boots to wearing tennis shoes with trash bags taped over them to keep my feet warm and dry. Being a kayak angler, your feet are always just inches away from the water and any wrong paddle stroke could send a nice splash inside. This is what led me to try out the BugaBoots by Columbia. I’ve taken two trips with them so far with temps in the 40’s and I’ve been very impressed.
Let me start by telling you a little about them. These boots are made to be guaranteed waterproof. The one piece tongue design seals out any water. When you couple that with a techlite and leather construction, it makes them almost impenetrable to water. They are packed with 600 grams of insulation rating them for -65 degrees. The inside is also lined with the Omni-Heat thermal reflective liner that Columbia is known for. Basically, as your body generates heat, this liner reflects the heat back against your body (instead of absorbing it) keeping you warm. They also have a non-slip, dual compound sole that keeps your feet planted no matter how slippery the ramp is. Lastly, for what they are and the height they have, they are relatively light weight. My size 9.5 weighs in at 25.6 ounces. Again, as a kayaker with a peddle drive system, the weight of these are a true life saver. I would not be able to peddle around for 10-12hrs a day with a large, overweight, clunky pair of boots.
My outings consisted of two separate days where the morning temps were in the 40’s and warmed to the low 60’s. The water temps on the lake were in the low 60’s. Both trips had a 10-12mph North wind. At first I was fishing pretty slowly and wasn’t moving a lot. I found the boots to be slightly stiff, but overall comfortable. They were not cold, but also not toasty warm like I had expected. As my morning progressed, I started covering some water and generating body heat. Instantly I could feel the Omni-Heat technology working. As my body generated heat, it was retaining inside my boot. As the day warmed, I contemplated taking them off because my feet were sweating. The entire day I had from ½” to 1” of water in my kayak, and never once were my feet wet.
Overall I was very impressed with them and I’m anxious to log some colder days out on the water to give them a proper test. The boots broke in nicely and loosened up during both trips. They kept my feet warm and dry, while still remaining functional and stylish. These boots probably are not something I would recommend in the summer time; however, I will be wearing them as winter sets in. These boots are going to be a great addition to my Columbia lineup and hopefully last for years to come. If you are in the market for a new set, I’d argue that these are one of the best out there for a warm, waterproof solution!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byWildJaeger
Germany (DAC)
 
Please wait while more information about WildJaeger is loaded.
Additional information about WildJaeger could not be loaded.
Need Better Information
onDecember 18, 2014
Sorry, don't mean to be critical but I'm interested in purchasing this boot which is rated to -32 C and I'm hearing from people who go out in 40/50 F weather telling me how warm the boot is. I am an all season hunter. I am out hunting 14-20 weekends a year (mostly fall and winter) in temps as low as -12 C. Someone from MI, MN, WI, ND or SD please provide me with some really useable feedback.
Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

College Survival 101

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Laur
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty much I'm a college kid, I don't have a car, so I walk most places. I sometimes have to walk up and down a hill that's covered in snow, and sometimes as far as 2 miles in the freezing snow. For two years I did this in sneakers, and that was dumb. Now I'm doing it in these boots, and I can say I'm really happy :) Thanks Columbia!!! Wish it wasn't so expensive though, but hey, a couple more weeks of ramen in exchange for these boots, so worth it!
Love them, and by the way I'm a girl, so it really doesn't matter, needed it for the function, and it's AWESOME!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for cold winters

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Chris516
Location: New york, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the best boots I have ever bought. I recomened if you wear thick socks buy a size larger buy with the warmth of these boots it dose not bother me to wear thiner socks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer avatar
ibbakin
Location: Grand Junction, CO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This boot is perfect for the mountains and snow. Love the fit and the fact that it not only keeps my feet warm, but also perfectly dry. Although at first I thought it would be a little uncomfortable due to the stiffness of the top of the boot, I was wrong. It is great. Would highly recommend for the cold and the snow.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good - toasty

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
mboese
Location: Pinecliffe, CO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They are comfy for big bulky boots. They are very warm, but we have only had one snowfall so far. Here at 9,000 feet, they will be tested, and that's the only reason for "Good" in function - have not given them a true test.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Timber1
Location: TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Light weight, compared to others boots which is great. I spend alot of time in the woods with cold wet feet so I hope they are as warm as others claim
I would recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
JBRescue
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm, very nice boots. I had never had a good pair of winter boots, these are great. They work so well that when I was trying them on in the house I could feel my feet getting warmer.
I would recommend this product.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Taction and Warm

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Spud54
Location: Fish Haven, Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have gone through several snow boots here in Idaho and these seem to have the best traction and are very warm. We've had several subzero days and plenty of snow. Not a problem with these boots. I really like the lace that goes closer to the toe than most snow boots and the have an eyelet at the end for my gators. Just what I was looking for. Light too.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best boots I ever bought

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Iggy
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have bought cheaper boots in the past hoping that I would get a few seasons out of em, only to be sorry for that decision. Tried on a pair of these at an outlet store and decided to take the plunge and grab a pair, and I'm not sorry.
They keep the water and snow out very well, feet stay warm and dry. Haven't slipped once yet in the snow or ice and they support my ankles well while walking. Just make sure to wear tall enough socks so it doesn't rub too much on your calves.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
wolf1000
Location: Colorado Springs
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boot while being nice and warm, they are also very comfortable and light weight. I recommend these boots to any one who works in the outdoors in the late fall and winter. Excellent product. keep up the good work.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great arctic boots

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
joebob159
Location: Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots offer great function along with minimal bulk. This allows me to get out into the snow all day long while keeping my feet dry and warm. On really cold days (-40ish) I wear a thicker pair of socks though.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & Light

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
TrapShooter
Location: IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boots are warm, comfortable, light, and water proof . Could not be more satisfied ! Wouldn't call myself a professional thrill seeker. I am outdoors , more than 100 days a year.
I would recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boots

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
sprtsgy
Location: Nevada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The boots are light and comfortable. They keep my feet warm while working or playing in the snow.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II XTM Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delivered as promised

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
SeaTH
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just received the Men's BugabootPlus II Omni-Heat. Quality appears great. The fit (Size 8) was perfect with boot socks on. And for just out of the box the comfort and feel was great. Too warm outside (October 1) to determine how they perform in cold temperatures. So far I like what I see.
PS: Go Cardinals
I would recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>