Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe

Versatility is the name of the game with the Talus Ridge. Designed to strike a perfect balance between a burly boot and lightweight trail shoe, it integrates low-profile support with the waterproof-breathable superpowers of an Outdry membrane so you can hike, jog, scramble, or climb in all kinds of conditions.
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
22 out of 24(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tfit and stability

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: north east
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking shoe that performs well on wet contruction site,walks and winter golf.Very very dry!!!!
Activities: Trail, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all weather hiker

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took these shoes with me on a variety of terrain over this past weekend. They did outstanding on a wet and muddy 5 mile hike at Cape Falcon on the Oregon Coast. They provided excellent traction on rocks, mud, wet trees, slippery moss covered rock, etc. The Outdry technology worked just as advertised! I was almost ankle deep in water in streams and in the ocean water on the beach and not a single drop entered my shoes! These shoes also breath very well, my feet were never sweaty and hot. Another plus is that they washed off really easily afterward....these shoes were covered in mud and sand and looked like new after a quick cleaning. Excellent casual shoe as well. I highly recommend this product!
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: City, Rainy, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy, Other, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very comfortable, waterproof

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for my husband. He says they run true to size and are very comfortable. They are a little wider in the front than other hiking shoes which is fine. They are definitely waterproof, and "kinda" breathable. He said his feet do get a little hot in them if it's over 60 degrees outside with regular hiking socks.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Commuting
Conditions: Rainy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice shoe for what I was looking for.

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Central NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoe is nicely built and and is comfortable. I was looking for a shoe to wear to work that was waterproof, comfortable like a sneaker and looked well enough to wear with dockers. These shoes are a little stiffer than a sneaker but not by much. In other words they have sneaker comfort with light hiking support.
I purchased a size 14 M because like so many other shoe manufacturers, they are cutting back on the size. I have many shoes already that are a size 13 and still wearing them, but it is hard to find a true size 13 anymore, so I had to go up a size and they fit more like my 13s.
Overall nice shoe, I like them.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very comfortable

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: vermont
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have only had them for a few days but am very pleased. Comfortable from the first time I had them on, appear to be rugged and well-made. Only reason I didn't rate them "excellent" is I that have only worn them around the neighborhood and haven't done any hiking yet.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Boating, Vacation
Conditions: Rainy, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort out of the box!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Rhode Island
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the time I slipped my feet into the Talus Ridge Hikers, I knew I had found a great day hiker. After logging nearly 50 miles over the weekend,this shoe never let me down, my feet stayed dry and comfortable, so much Im going to go out and get the Talus Ridge in the over the ankle hiker for longer weekend treks through the White Mountains in New Hampshire.
Great shoe Columbia, another job well done.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hiking Shoe

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota, Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No complaints so far. Best pair of shoe's I've owned as far as comfort and they have reasonable traction in snow and ice as well. Better than a lot of other soles. They have stayed dry so far in snow, rain, puddles and stepping in water trailering my boat. Plenty of trudging around in the woods in search of grouse with these. Overall great shoe! True to size for me anyway.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My last pair has lasted about ten years, I actually walked off the tread before the shoe has broken down. So instead of slipping on the ice I got these shoes. They feel and look great and I hope they last ten years too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One problem/issue

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The one problem for me with this shoe is that the wee loop at the top of the tongue, which I assume is there to serve the purpose of making it easier to remove the shoe, is so small that it is difficult to get it open enough to get a finger through it and utilize it to loosen the laces. The eyelets fit the laces quite tightly, so the loop can be a valuable asset, but is too small.
Hope my input proves to be of use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very well built, stylish multi-function shoe

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bellingham, WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got these to have a more comfortable work shoe for the business-casual work environment I work in. Most of the 'work appropriate' footwear available isn't usually waterproof nor do they handle sloppy/muddy conditions well... but I live in NW Washington, where it rains 250+ days a year and waterproofness is valuable most of the year.
The shoe is built similar to a hiker... the tread is great, the shoe sidewalls are stiffer, much like a hiker, but the aesthetic fits well on the trail or with Docker's and a polo shirt at work. This is a well-constructed shoe and so far has been waterproof and seems to be fairly stain-resistant.
I knocked off one star not necessarily as a limitation to the shoe itself, but due to limitations with sizing. It does surprise me that Columbia doesn't offer more shoes in wide widths. A lot of the outdoorsmen I know are big guys (not necessarily fat, just big) and many (most?) have wide feet. This shoe would have gotten a 5-star rating if they had a version that came in wide width.
As it stands, the narrow D width is a bit too narrow. The shoe, even being leather, did not stretch out quite enough (I waited to write the review for a few weeks to make sure of this) to be truly comfortable. There's always a bit of a pinch that wont' go away, so while I can tell it'd be supremely comfortable for the right foot, it's not 100% there for me.
Columbia, I know you read these and care about customer satisfaction... would you consider making a few more shoes in wide for your customers, please?!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byArny
 
Please wait while more information about Arny is loaded.
Additional information about Arny could not be loaded.
I agree wider widths
onFebruary 28, 2013
Hi,
I would buy more shoes from Columbia if they have wider widths
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good walking/casual shoe

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: seattle, WA.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are good walking shoes. They do not seem to have the rigidity necessary for hiking - too soft and "bendy" on steep downhill. Comfortable, plenty wide in the toe box. Good enough looking.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a light weight waterproof shoe for fishing and this shoe fit the bill. I spend a lot of time in a boat on the water rain or shine. This shoe is comfortable and protects my feet from the elements without wearing me out.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trail Meisters they are not, unfortunately...

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
...which is what I was looking for. My TM's are over a decade old, are comfortable and have great traction.
The Talus Ridge shoe has such a stiff soul that it is like walking on a 1x4 pine board. I've literally put in a few miles of walking to break them in, but have noticed little improvement. The old TMs have yellow tread on the inside of the sole, but this is missing on the Talus Ridge. In its place are some black lugging, but these are so lightly placed that I dont' think the bottom will last long.
I will be sending these back, sorry to say.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Hikers so Far!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Atlanta GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As I have become more and more immersed in the outdoors I have tried on plenty of shoes. Ranging anywhere from run-of-the-mill tennis shoes to minimalist trail runners. Out of all the hiking and trail shoes I have owned (including shoes by The North Face and Merrell) these are by far the best. I wear them day to day, on hiking trips, and on high ropes courses where I work. They have been completely waterproof as I walk the muddy "short cut" trails between college classes and have kept me more than comfortable on multiple day hikes and at work. On top of that the Saddle leather looks and feels really nice! I am excited to wear these all day tomorrow as I walk between crags on my Alabama climbing trip.
Thank for another good product Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great comfort.

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Sharpsville,PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very comfortable good looking shoe and love the quality of this shoe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Talus Ridge good overall shoe

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slightly stiffer than previous four Columbia hiking shoes, which could be good or bad depending upon the user. They seem to be "hotter" than the others. Maybe the leather or waterproofing. Nothing that I would return them for
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Men’s Talus Ridge

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: thousand oaks, ca
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well made shoe, but it wasn't comfortable enough for my tastes as the shoe was too stiff and the heel did not grip well enough.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Talus Ridge

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Sidney, MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am writing this to simply inform those of you who may purchase these shoes. It says that this shoe fits slightly small. I recommend ordering a half size larger than what you normally wear. I ordered my normal size of 10 and it is too small. A half size larger would be perfect (10.5). Also, I wasn't able to wear the shoe around so I cannot rate it. It seemed of very good quality and was light though..... Enjoy!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the shoes a few weeks ago and I´m very happy with them. They´re extremely comfortable, very nice and fit perfectly. Great shoes to wear all day, inside and outside, and, last but not least, they´re truly waterproof! And the people from Columbia Sportswear are very professional and helpful when making the purchase by the phone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Leather OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice. Like all Columbia

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Waterford, Mi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unlike other reviewers I found these to fit slightly wide. Not that the are big, But they are a bit roomier or wider than the Omni-tech hikers that these are a replacement for. (my puppy liked them too, ate one). Bought the same size I always wear, 10, Comfortable, Well made.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>