Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe

The Master of Faster is a hybrid that doesn’t sacrifice efficiency or power. It’s part running shoe so it’s quick and nimble but it’s also part light-hiker which gives it impact resistance and multidirectional traction.
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe for wide feet.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
emem007
Location: Miami Beach
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have trouble finding shoes which are wide enough for my feet and Columbia have plenty in their range which cater to wide feet including this one, the Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry® Leather. I've actually bought two pairs both in blue because I reckon they are some of the best looking outdoor shoes I've seen! The quality is excellent and they're light.
I don't use them at present for trails, just walking to work for now so I can't vouch for their natural terrain capabilities.
But I'm extremely happy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hiking Shoe

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
kimber68
Location: Ames, IA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shoes for my son for hiking in Moab, UT. He did not complain once about the comfort of the shoe. He usually has problems with his arch which results with his heels hurting. They also did not need breaking in. Overall great shoe, and worth the money. I would highly recommend this shoe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Feet

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
ShoesThatFitLikeGloves
Location: Washington
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable, feel well made. Waterproof (Outdry) but breathable - I thought my feet would get too hot since they were water proof but they breath just like non-waterproof shoes. They fit very well - shoes that fit like a glove :-) Seriously though - I'm glad I bought them and they are well made and will work well and I'm sure they will last. Great Job Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

master of faster

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Dowagiac, MI
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Give me a few months and I can tell you how they are holding up and how they wear. I have had them for two weeks and they are comfortable but what shoes are not when y0u first get them. The true test is couple months down the line if they still do what they say they are suppose to do is the real test.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Master of Faster

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yoder
Location: ME
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Columbia Master of Faster shoe is perfect for those who need a light trail running shoe or something for grip on rocks that can potentially be slippery. I have used the first version of this shoe very heavily for a solid year now and it has performed top notch. I felt confident at all times when maneuvering over rugged and slippery terrain. I also love not worrying much about puddles or shallow creeks because the Outdry system works fantastically. The tread on the shoe does wear a bit quicker than others and after 1 year of use the previous MOF shoe received a split in the right foot pinky toe area which no does allow water to enter. Overall it is a comfortable reliable shoe that gets the job done.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Snowshoeing, Running, Commuting
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Humid, Bug Infested, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Men’s Master of Faster™ Low
4.5 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

solid hybrid shoe

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
MonsieurLeblanc
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Short and sweet version:
Excellent hybrid shoe. Good for trail running and light hiking. Good fit, good support, good tread. Not too heavy considering it is a hybrid. OutDry provides acceptable waterproofing.
The good stuff:
I was looking for a shoe that would serve as a light hiker, a trail runner, and a road runner. The reason being that I have been traveling a lot, and I wanted a shoe that fills multiple roles, from walking and running on snowy paths in Sweden to road running in LA. That way I don't have pack multiple pairs of shoes, and the less I have to lug around the better. These shoes definitely did everything I expected them too. They even look pretty sharp (the brown/tan color), so they work well with casual dress.
The not-so-good stuff:
Admittedly, the shoe is probably not the best in hot summer weather, as it a warm shoe due to the OutDry tech (I assume). But I have not tested this yet, so maybe they would still be tolerable, especially with some nice thin wool socks. The fit is a little small, so keep that in mind and maybe order a size larger, especially if you plan on wearing these with thick socks and hiking in them.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Running
Conditions: City, Sunny, Snowy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Greg99999
Location: Sallisaw, OK
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these with golf in mind and they were perfect. More comfortable than regular golf shoes. The soles worked well too and the shoe is waterproof to boot!
Good for just kicking around too. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Serve their purpose greatly!

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abby21
Location: Western New York
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shoes because I needed a truly waterproof shoe that I could trail run with during wet wintery conditions. After my first 3 runs with this shoe I am totally sold. My feet have stayed completely dry (with the use of a nice ankle gaiter as well) and the grip is the best I have had with a shoe on wet trails. I prefer to run in minimalist type shoes during nice weather, so I am not a fan of how stiff this shoe is, but that is something I knew I would have to deal with when looking for a hiker type shoe. I cannot comment on the longevity of the shoe at this time, but overall performance is great! The OutDry waterproofing works perfectly!
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Running
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
pmod
Location: LO, Oregon 2 the 503rd
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am writing this review for my Father cuz he is 2 busy. My Father loves these shoes. He claims they are the best shoes he has ever owned and do to his age he has owned many if you know what I mean. Shoes are ultra waterproof, great tread, well made, and overall excellent shoes.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: City, Cement/Asphalt, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seattle Half Marathon walk

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eddy
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just finished the Seattle Half Marathon Walk in the pouring rain and the Outdry shoes kept my feet dry, comfortable, and blister free. Teriffic for brand new shoes! Thank you.
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Rainy, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kinda Perfect

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
sycstudio
Location: Brooklyn
They meet every single one of my requirements. They are light weight, have good traction, are waterproof, and the laces adjust the fit so regardless of foot swelling after walking for days etc they fit perfectly. As a bonus they aren't bad looking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
wilric51
Location: Afghanistan
This is my first purchase and I was happy that the show fit perfectly the first time around. I am in SWA and the shoe has no problem with the terrain. This show is definately not for warm climates because it gets very hot inside. I will not be worried here in the mountains in SWA because I am sure the shoe will hold up fine. I plan on purchasing the mid level to keep the ankles warm and dry. I
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Master of Faster™ Low Outdry Leather Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Master of Faster™ Low Outdry® LTR

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Size15Customer
Location: Portland, OR
Nice shoe and very good looking. Columbia shoes alway fit well and since I wear size 15 am very glad that Columvbia accomodates us 'big soled' customers. Even with a size 15 the shoe is a nice weight rather than a 'hard core' hiking shoe. I highly recommend this new model!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.