Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®

Lace up the super burly Daska Pass Omni-Tech and tromp off into the far reaches of the great outdoors. Designed for serious hiking endeavors, they’re perfect for backpacking trips and epic treks when loads get heavier and distances longer.
Overall rating:
4.816 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
38 out of 38(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Review 1 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rugged and warm!

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Concordian
Location: MetroWest, MA
I purchased these boots for my husband who does tree and landscape work in the northeast. He works outside year round and usually buys three pairs of boots a year. He LOVES these boots! He has come home from work twice recently bragging about how great his boots are. Even with multiple layers, the only warm part of his body were his feet. Besides a little dirt, they still look like new too!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

stellar boots!

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
menehune
Location: ketchum, idaho
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
as a year round mountain operations employee at a major ski resort, these boots have been amazing in the first two weeks i've had them. i look forward to testing them out this winter, where i feel they will also shine. i am very glad i tried on another pair of columbia hiking shoes before purchasing these as i am typically a 10.5 in most footwear, and ordered a 10 in these boots. i hope that these boots being on closeout isn't an indication of them disappearing from the line, as they are an amazing quality boot for the price!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot, great price

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
WhiskeyJack
Location: Roseburg, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't gotten to use my Daska Pass boots yet (other than trying them on around the office for an hour or so), since I ordered them in the summer and they're more of a winter boot. However, a coworker has worn them for years, and I was impressed at how his have held up. Mine fit perfectly and felt extremely comfortable right out of the box. Great cushioning, construction quality appears excellent, and I especially like the heavy Vibram soles. Also, I won't buy a boot that doesn't have rubber toe covers, since as anyone who uses boots for actual boot-related purposes will attest, the toes take a beating. These appear to have very good ones. Looking forward to wearing them this winter. I take an 11.5 in most brands, but always a 12 in Columbia footwear. Their sizing is very consistent, and everything I've ever worn from Columbia has fit my feet as though custom made for them. This allows enough space for wool socks to be worn comfortably, and the laces can simply be drawn a bit tighter if thinner socks are being used.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boot

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
gordo60
Location: Kodiak, AK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot for hiking the mountains here in Kodiak, keeps foot very warm but not to warm all in all at great buy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST SOFTSHELL ANYWHERE

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
SANTONE
Location: San Antonio, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can pay more, but you won't get more fit/function in any softshell jacket. Excellently breathable... water repellency is top notch... and it doesn't attract every piece of lint/dog hair/leaf tatter/etc. like standard fleece... (I have a +++$$$ fleece that takes a half-roll of 'sticky-lint' to clean every time I throw it in my truck...)THE BEST SHELL FOR MOUNTAIN BIKING: TALL COLLAR KEEPS WIND OUT + PERFECT WIND/WATER REPEL... The fit is just a tad 'small'
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best boots I ever wore!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
JCAD
Location: Allentown, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off I am not a hiker/climber etc. Don't have time for that. What I am is an HVAC contractor who walks an average of 4 miles a day without leaving the site. I have wide flat feet with several bones fused together on each foot. After trying these on I was suprised at how well the fit and the support is amazing. I've owned almost every boot out there. Some cheaper but most cost more. After 2 months I can't get over how much less my feet hurt now and there is almost no wear on the soles. Plus I haven't had any leg cramps either. I just ordered 2 more pairs because like everthing eles that works they will probably be discontinued tomorrow. Gave a pair to a good friend who works on concret all day and he loves them. The only draw back I've noticed is the catches for the laces are die cast. I've broken one off. They should be a bit stronger. But thats the only thing. I just punched a hole through the boot.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Morning Feet!!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Flintstone44
Location: Hudson NY
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have worn work boots all my life, which is getting to be a very long time.I am an apple farmer and I live in my boots.
I have had three pairs, over five years,of this model boot and a previous very similar model.
My feet are very happy to slip back into these boots in the morning. Over the battering they get, these boots may separate between the sole and the boot after a year or so of constant abusive wear; the other two pair did.
SO WHAT? My feet are happy. I rest my case.
Thank you for the product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rugged Boots that Breathe SUPER Well!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
HikerGrylls
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, I haven't had too much time to test these out (three hikes so far), but they are comfortable right out of the box and I love them! They are indeed waterproof and surprisingly breathe extremely well--my feet were not very sweaty at the end of a 9 mile hike on a sunny 95 degree day with humidity! I really like that Columbia uses Vibram soles, and then all their own proprietary stuff for the rest! The boots are very lightweight considering size and ruggedness.
I bought size 13 for the boots as I usually wear a size 13 in athletic shoes. There is extra room in the boot (more than in my athletic shoes), which is why I put "Fits Slightly Large" for the Fit , but this is great! I like that there is room for thick wool/synthetic socks for my hikes in the later Fall, Winter, and early Spring, not to mention for my toes to wiggle around. I'd definitely recommend ordering whatever your regular size is.
If the boots continue to perform how they have thus far and hold up well, then my quest for the perfect rugged hiking boot is over!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boots

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer avatar
JayVA
Location: Hampton Roads
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots for use in a military course that involved several ruck marches and land navigation with 100+ pounds of gear. Very comfortable throughout various conditions, kept my feet warm and dry, but weren't too hot when the temperature started rising.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If they still fit, I'd still be wearing them

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Cornpone
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bring 71 years old, my feet have gotten longer. My great boots no longer fit. I am buying a new pair of the Omni-Techs...my 3rd pair.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great boot

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer avatar
scientist
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The boot is very comfortable right out of the box. This is the second pair I have owned. I am avid outdoorsman and put a lot of miles on my hiking boots. My only complaint is that the boots were only waterproof for the first month.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Hunting Big Game, Hunting Upland
Conditions: Sunny, Windy, Freezing, Bug Infested, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of boots

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer avatar
JackC
Location: where ever our RV is parkede
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit right out of the box. No break-in necessary. These were purchased to replace my well used pair of Columbia boots. I wore the other pair every day for a little over 3 years. The sole was starting to separate from the boot. A little Goop glue fixed that, but my wife said I needed a new pair. I still wear the old pair around my shop.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Other, Kayaking, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, White Water, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice for camping

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
TexasMark
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These boots are outstanding. I wish I had bought them sooner. I use them mostly on scout camp outs with my son. We often go to private ranches with much uneven ground. The ankle support of these boots has saved me. I am impressed with how easily they clean up after a weekend trip and still look nearly new. Usually used only on short hikes, but so far all has been great. I wish they were a little lighter in weight, but overall I am thrilled.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping
Conditions: Sunny, Humid, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DASKA PASS OMNI-TECH

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Lakatak
Location: Afghanistan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Currently using these boots in Afghanistan. They are holding up excellent in the snowy, icy, muddy, wet conditions. Only had them for about a week, but seem very durable and up to the task. Loving them so far.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy, Other
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Daska Pass Boot

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
djspdx
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I researched online prior to purchasing these boots. These had the highest ratings for years running...I've used them 3 times now. Twice hiking in mud and once hiking in deep snow. They are perfect! Warm, lightweight, waterproof, stable, great soles...all around a wonderful pair of boots for only $150.00!!
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

foot ware

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
chiminy
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the best shoes that I have ever had on my feet my thanks goes out to all of the people involved in me having these shoes.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Boating, Hunting Big Game, Other, Hunting Upland, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Bug Infested, Muddy, Other, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok Boot

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Marshall
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used these boots specifically for climbing a few mountains in Washington. The boots fit well and keep your feet warm. The only problem I had was after the first time use was one of the shoelace hooks cracked off. They are made of thin brittle metal, which I think is the problem. Tested in snowy and rocky conditions. Performed well.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Snowy, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byconcordian123
 
Please wait while more information about concordian123 is loaded.
Additional information about concordian123 could not be loaded.
gusseted tongue
onJanuary 18, 2012
does it have a full-gusseted tongue? to the very top of the boot?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LASTS LASTS AND LASTS

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
ANDY33
Location: BETHANY BEACH DE
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
AWESOME PRODUCT.BOUGHT MY FIRST PAIR IN 2005 AND LASTED 4+ YEARS,USED THEM EVERYDAY.WENT AND BOUGHT A COMPARISON PRODUCT SINCE THEY WERE PRETTY WORN,WHAT A MISTAKE.SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY AND THEY DIDN'T LAST A YEAR.WORTH EVERY PENNY.STILL HAVE MY ORIGINAL PAIR FOR AROUND THE THE HOUSE.ATTACHED PIC OF MY FIRST PAIR STILL HANGING IN THERE
Activities: Trail, Other, Mountain Biking, Commuting
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great boot

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer avatar
LQSteeler
Location: So Cal
Just did my first 7 mile backpacking trip with these boots and they were great. I had worn them in the house a few hours to "break them in", but they didn't need it. I ordered a size bigger than my previous cheap boots - it was a combination of wearing too small a boot and these run a little small I think.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Daska Pass™ Omni-Tech®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Daska Pass Boots

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Rob427
Location: Bloomfield Hills, MI
Went with my friends advice and ordered a 1/2 size up and they fit perfect. I wear somewhat heavy socks, though (Kodiak- they are awesome.). The boots are comfortable enough to wear all day and the quality is the best I've seen. Totally blow away my Timberlands. The rubber guarding around the tow and sides is great to have- no scuffs on the suede. The lace system allows fast on and off for visiting friends with wood flooring that don't allow shoes. lastly- you can feel the steel shank-the stability it provides is priceless if you hike or dig. Absolutely recommend without any reservation.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>