Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe

Columbia Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe

With bigger, more numerous drainage ports in the heel and forefoot, the updated Drainmaker II drains water 33% faster than its predecessor. Add siped lugs for increased traction on wet surfaces and new internal frame support and you’ve got an ideal lightweight, quick-drying shoe for staying safe and comfortable during extended waterside activities.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
35 out of 36(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Review 1 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DrainmakerII Awesome!!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
luv2fishnpaddle
Location: Graham, NC
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered these shoes for kayak fishing a few months ago and was worried that they would not fit right since I could not try them on first.....worried for nothing!! Once I received them, I was impressed with the light weight material and quality of the shoe. They fit perfect per the size chart and are the most comfortable water shoe I've owned. They're so comfortable that I've actually been using them when walking the track with my wife for exercise. Once in the water, they continue to feel great and do drain very quickly once out of the water. I'm use to switching back to flip flops after a day on the water for the ride home. However, so far I've keep them on while loading up the truck and trailer with my gear and drove home with them on. If you too are worried about getting the right fit, please use the sizing chart that you can print out to size yourself....it works and is true to size/fit!! Great job Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Wading Shoe

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
yakdevil
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a river rat who does a lot of kayak and wade fishing on an annual basis. Typically, I go through a pair of shoes each year. 6 months in and look like they may make it until next year. They are light, breathable, comfortable, and function well. The only negative , which is why I gave them a 4/5, is that the toe protector needs to extend slightly further back on each side. Highly recommended shoe!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Shoe

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rob11388
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I picked up a pair of these since my hybrid sandal/shoes kept falling apart on me. I always have a need for a comfortable water shoe that I can wear in any situation while still protecting my feet from the sun, and sharp objects in the water like oysters and coral, and still offer traction on boat decks and rocks. Also, being light and cool are desired qualities I was looking for.
I absolutely LOVE these shoes. There so comfortable, that I picked up 2 more pairs and wear them nearly every day. They're the kind of shoe that you wear and almost feel as if you don't have shoes on. I'm on my feet a lot and do quite a bit of walking. I initially thought that they would never be able to put up with the amount of punishment that I would dish out on them, but they've held up quite well. They dry quickly and don't hold an excess amount of water in them.
Two things that I'll say about them is if you wear them without socks, be sure to wash them out regularly as the tend to get stinky fairly fast, and they can tend to hold on to sand and other bits that you might pick up while wading in the water. Other than those two things, these are solid performers for what I do. They fit well and look nice too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't be happier

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
ScottK83
Location: SW Missouri
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haven't had these in the water yet, but spring's coming! Have worn them several times, all day comfort and very light. Can't wait to get out in the kayak with them.
FYI on the sizing form that you can print: if you're not completely sure your printer is printing actual size I would recommend measuring your foot and comparing (in mm). The chart showed me needing an 11.5 but after measuring my foot it was a 10. They fit perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are the BEST Water Shoes I have ever owned

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shooter42
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, that what I said They are the best ever. I have worn them in rivers, large water bodies and most recent in the ocean in Maui Hawaii where they performed great. I ware a neoprene foot sock and the water shoe. I am a video cameraman so while shooting in the ocean and near shore I am bouncing up and down, some time touching the bottom and for safety these shoes keep my feet safe because I never know what I and going to be standing on.
Yes, you are going to get sand in them but, so far has not hinder my performance. When I get back to the beach I wash them out with water and I am ready to go for the next day of shooting. By the way use a double knot to tie your shoe with.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit and comfort!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Petdocpilot
Location: Bremerton, Washington
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rating is preliminary since I just received my shoes. The fit and finish is GREAT! They are extremely comfortable. I'll try to repost later in the year after I've tested them on a few fishing trips.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

whole family wears them

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
FERAL1
Location: phenix city , AL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
as an avid kayaker, i have fallen in love with my drainmakers and the rest of the family has as well. good fit, plenty of grip and they wear well wet or dry. light and comfortable all day.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has great features

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
DiegoC
Location: Marathon, FL.
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a Florida Keys fishing guide, I demand a boat shoe that is light, does not retain water, dries quickly and grips the deck well. This shoe offers it all and looks and feels great. I love it
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good shoe.

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
BigGame
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good shoe. I took it hunting ,fishing and it held up well. A small amount of sand gets trapped between the sole and the drain mesh though. A good buy for the active outdoors person.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice...

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rob55
Location: Bryson City, North Carolina
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good hybrid between a water shoe and something you can wear as normal footwear. The grip is good, but not 5-10 type grip on slick rocks. For the versatility of working/playing on the water and out... very good. They dried reasonably quickly and didn't have a heavy soggy wet feel.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recent trip to Canada/Boundary Waters

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JR1969
Location: Blue Springs, Missouri
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the first time, I didn't use the traditional footwear I take on these trips (been going to the BWCA since 1983). The first couple of days, these things worked great--they dried quickly in the canoes and shed water very quickly.
However, my only complaint is that after wearing them on the 3rd day, I noticed that they started to retain significant odors that smelled like sour milk. The weather was warm enough that they dried overnight. I couldn't get rid of the odor completely while on the trip, so was judicious in my use. Once I got home, I put them in the washing machine and the odors were mostly eliminated. Can't say I've ever had a sour milk aroma coming from my feet. That's a first....... Wonder if they would react the same way in an Ozark creek or down on the Gulf??
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Drainmakers II were very comfortable and functional during an all day fishing outing.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gillie
Location: Currently in Iraq
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just want to say how pleased we are with the fit, function and how well they performed even without wearing socks. We fished out in Biscayne Bay on a boat all day, it managed to rain and our wet shoes performed nicely. My girlfriend expressed the same on the performance of her Powerdrain Cools. We can only hope that their durability goes the distance as we look forward to utilizing them all Year.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoes

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
pegaso6570
Location: Rockville, MD
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic shoes very comfortable, dries really fast I highly recommend Men´s drain maker II
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shoes have literally made my summer better!

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
crispeto
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking forever for the perfect hiking/water shoe. I want one that is comfortable, has an aggressive hiking sole, drains well and will protect my feet. I finally found it with this shoe. I've taken my drainmaker 2's to Hawaii on many hikes including crossing streams and creeks. They performed perfectly. On my favorite hike here in Oregon (Opal Creek) there are many large boulder type rocks and tons of water to wade through and again they performed perfectly. I have two pair and I've loaned them to two friends and they both now want a pair. If you want a comfortable hiking shoe that can go from trail to water and back again, this is your shoe. Finally!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like no other water shoe!

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hland54
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are above and beyond what i expected! They are remarkable comfortable. I wore these shoes while kayaking and paddle boarding and they are very comfortable and have great grip. They drain so well its like you are walking with bare feet. Even with sand in them walking is pleasurable and most of all dry!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Shoe!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
BuckWild2220
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you're looking for a great boat/fishing shoe, this is the one! Very light, easy to wash, and outstanding grip!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shoes are insane

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jburrski
Location: Eugene, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these shoes for a 6 day white water rafting trip down the grand canyon. By the second day most people in my group were duct taping their ankles because their water proof shoes had given them blisters but I used these shoes for everything and never had a hint of a blister. Wore the shoes all day on the boat and then would go for extensive hikes when we got to camp over some rough terrain. They handled everything I threw at them and kept my feet happy. Best water shoes on the market, hands down.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these shoes

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
dmnandrw
Location: Seaside, OR
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these shoes because 1) I love shoes and 2) I do a lot of hiking and walking and these shoes fit excellent!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Captsteve84
Location: Daphne Alabama
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these shoes as a "water shoe" for kayaking and other activities on the waterfront. I put the shoes on right out of the box with no socks to see how they fit and whether there would be any "hot spots" created in daily wear. They fit just right and caused no problems whatsoever. I work part-time in retail and I wore them (with socks) to work one day and they were great! These shoes are light, comfortable, and they drain water as advertized. I would (and will) recommend them to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shoes

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Banditman
Location: Tomahawk, WI
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got a pair of these last week and I put them to the test last night. Out fishing in an downpour and I could feel the water draining out of the shoes. Exactly what I wanted them to do. The traction on slippery surfaces was great as well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>