Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe

With bigger, more numerous drainage ports in the heel and forefoot, the updated Drainmaker II drains water 33% faster than its predecessor. Add siped lugs for increased traction on wet surfaces and new internal frame support and you’ve got an ideal lightweight, quick-drying shoe for staying safe and comfortable during extended waterside activities.
Overall rating:
4.628 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
41 out of 43(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Review 1 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shoes for fishing, boating and kayaking!

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
I bought these a few months back. I do a lot of kayaking as a guide here in FL and really put footwear through the paces. When I put these on for the first time I didn't want to wear them to the water. They were to comfortable and to nice for water shoes. I can wear them all day and not feel uncomfortable. Even when they are wet they are not to heavy. Drain and dry fast. I loved them so much I just purchased 2 more pairs! Great shoes in or out of the water. The soles are very good on the slippery boat ramps. I also wear these on my skiff when fishing the flats. These can't be beat.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byOHMike
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about OHMike is loaded.
Additional information about OHMike could not be loaded.
They Run Large?
onApril 21, 2013
How much larger compared to normal shoe size?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drainmaker II Sneakers Rock!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am kayak fishing guide, disc golfer, and dog owner. I am outdoors most every weekend and almost always around some form of water. I am loving my Drainmaker II shoes! I can step in a stream or the dog pond and in the Texas sun these shoes are dry in 10-15 minutes. They are light and very comfortable. And they are stylish too. I have already received several compliments on their looks. I intend to wear these as my regular sneakers this summer. I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend these shoes to my friends.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all around adventure shoe

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Southwest Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I purchased a pair of the Drainmaker II each for an upcoming trip to the Caribbean.
The shoes are very versatile, from sailing to hiking to walking shallow reefs, are comfortable without socks with no chafe points! Light as anyone of my running shoes, I will most definitely buy another pair.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe. Great function

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: St. George, UT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a great canyoneering shoe. This is it. It drains quickly and dries quickly as well. It remain lightwight and breathable but still keeps the dirt and rocks out.
I now have 2 pair.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked great

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just returned from a trip to Belize and used these shoes while cannoning and also hiking/cave exploring. Even while wet great grip and super comfortable. Didn't dry as quickly as I hoped, but wasn't terrible
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the shore!

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Escondido, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just returned from trip to Maui where these shoes performed perfectly. Able to traverse the hot sands and/or rough lava rock right down into the sea and back. Also hiked 5 miles on irregular trail and through streams - barefoot in the shoe - with complete comfort; no chaffing and virtually no water retained in shoes! They drained VERY quickly! I recommended them to my son who intends to participate in a ToughMudder event. Last time he did , his running shoes got saturated with water and bogged him down.
These shoes run "true to size" when compared to my dress shoes. Size 11.5 in the Drainmaker II compares to size 12 in Nike or New Balance minimalist shoes.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Albuquerque NM
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I worry about the toe area as the stitching is funky and i suspect that it will be the first thing to wear out. I almost returned the product. But other than that i am very pleased, so far.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drainmaker ll, Life on the Colorado River

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boulder City, NV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being a Colorado River guide l use my gear to and beyond expectations. This review is for this product. Being a river guide l'm in and out of the river, boat, shore - sandy and rocky all the time. Having traction on wet surfaces submerged and above the water line are very important ( who wants a broken down guide?). I have been using a 5 toe shoe and loved it. Only problem is l go through a pair in about 3-4 months and cost a bundle. Tried a Keen and good traction and wear ability, just a little weak in the "keep the rocks out of the shoe" department.
I purchased the Drainmaker II with hopes set high. l knew exactly what l wanted. The first trip out was without socks( on the river for a few days sometimes those socks get a life of their own.....and not in a good way) l wanted to see how much it collected the little river rocks that end up getting in the shoe and irritating the dickens out of you. When you can empty out your shoe at the end of the day and you have enough rocks to fill up a flower bed, yeah like that, that's when you know you have to change shoes. After a day, around 8 hours, on the river l had about a tablespoon of of 1/16 to 1/8 sized rocks in my shoe. Most of, if not all of, the rocks were coming in from around the ankle. The next day l added the sock. After 8 hours l had less because the opening was close up more with the sock. And with whatever rocks were in my show cushioned by the sock made it next to no problem. The traction is very good, right up with my 5 toe shoes. Drainage Spectacular! No "Fishbowl" in this shoe. How long it will last l don't know at this point, l'll do an update when it wears out.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Advertised, I love them!

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Washington State
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved Drainmaker I because they were light and comfortable. Drainmaker II is even better because they have added more support for the overall frame of the shoe without adding a lot of weight.
Also, others have commented positively on the appearance of the shoes.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drainmaker II Perfect for a Kayak Fisherman

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Southern, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Drainmaker II Is a comfortable shoe as well as a perfect everyday wear shoe for summer. I find it to be quite comfortable.The styling and the comfort makes this shoe a well rounded shoe for every purpose. The lugs on the bottom are perfect on the wet boat ramp, enough traction to prevent accidental slips. I wear mine while sitting on my kayak and fishing in freshwater lakes. I then wear them out to my local shops or wear them while walking some trails. I love my Columbia Drainmaker II's.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Shoes

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Statesboro, Ga
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They're true to the product description. Though this is the first time I've ordered shoes online, I used to size chart and was still a bit skeptical. When the shoes came in, I immediately tried them on. Perfect fit, extremely comfortable, a great buy on my part. They are fast drying, which is what I needed as a commercial pool maintenance tech. When these bite the dust, i'll definitely replace them with the same pair.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lafayette, LA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lives up to the description in every way. Very comfortable, cushioned, and supportive shoe.
fished all day two days in a row in this shoes with no complaints. each morning the shoe was completely dry.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SHOE AND IN HALF SIZES FINALLY!

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: SOUTH TEXAS
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS IS THE BEST WATER OR DECK SHOE YOU'VE HAD YET.
DRY QUICKLY, COMFORTABLE ALL DAY.
WORKS WELL WITH MY INSOLES.
GREAT COLORS
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Water Shoe on the Market

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Scituate, RI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is the best water shoe I've come across. It drains much better than any shoe I have ever tired and drys in minutes (if that). They feel like running shoes which is a plus. The only thing I have a problem with is that the heel rubs a bit and the material is not too forgiving, but nothing a little moleskin can't fix.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fitting Shoe

PostedJune 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a sneaker that I could wear w/o socks, that would be cool in the summer and was functional. The Drainmaker II delivered on all counts. I used the PDF sizing printout to select my size and it fits spot on.....a great pair of summer sneaks!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The fit is excellent.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Yellowstone National Park
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like a light weight shoe. It has great looks. It is comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shoes

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tomahawk, WI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got a pair of these last week and I put them to the test last night. Out fishing in an downpour and I could feel the water draining out of the shoes. Exactly what I wanted them to do. The traction on slippery surfaces was great as well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Daphne Alabama
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these shoes as a "water shoe" for kayaking and other activities on the waterfront. I put the shoes on right out of the box with no socks to see how they fit and whether there would be any "hot spots" created in daily wear. They fit just right and caused no problems whatsoever. I work part-time in retail and I wore them (with socks) to work one day and they were great! These shoes are light, comfortable, and they drain water as advertized. I would (and will) recommend them to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these shoes

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seaside, OR
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these shoes because 1) I love shoes and 2) I do a lot of hiking and walking and these shoes fit excellent!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shoes are insane

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Eugene, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these shoes for a 6 day white water rafting trip down the grand canyon. By the second day most people in my group were duct taping their ankles because their water proof shoes had given them blisters but I used these shoes for everything and never had a hint of a blister. Wore the shoes all day on the boat and then would go for extensive hikes when we got to camp over some rough terrain. They handled everything I threw at them and kept my feet happy. Best water shoes on the market, hands down.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>