Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe

Versatility is the name of the game with the Talus Ridge. Designed to strike a perfect balance between burly boot and lightweight active hiker, it integrates low-profile support with the waterproof-breathable superpowers of an Outdry membrane so you can hike, jog, scramble, climb or snowshoe in all kinds of conditions.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 18(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Review 1 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stupid Design Flaw

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
txdurk
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The top four metal grommets/eyelets for the laces are the exact same diameter as the plastic end of the shoelace. This means the lace end will strip out after a few days of taking the boots off and on and they won't feed at all if the lace end is in any other shape except perfectly round. When that happens there won't be a way to feed the lace through the eyelets=FAIL I also agree wih the other reviewer that the third row of eyelets on the leather strapette is a failure waiting to happen. The metal grommets just needed to be one size larger and the laces would feed through easily. As it is, it's a basic design flaw that makes the boot unusable. I wanted to find a boot to last 500 miles but instead i bought one that would last 50. Very disappointing.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

buying another pair

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
shabadoo31
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent boots,just what i was looking for
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great performance

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Humberto47
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable and excellent for cold weather. Besides it's great quality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

what i wanted

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
pren2028
Location: Oklahoma
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
exactly what i wanted. I was deciding between these and another pair, and im glad i bought these. Pretty light, they look good, and they hold up. Cant ask for much more. I wouldn't go climb Mt. everest in these things, but they do the job for your average hiker.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and Light Weight

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
JBC1
Location: Eugene, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great pair of boots. This purchase was for our son as he kept borrowing his dad's and so wanted a pair for him that we didn't have to share. This is an extremely functional, light weight and durable boot. Great for the Oregon winters.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big thumbs up!

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hilltophiker
Location: Warner, NH
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These fit like a glove. I have a wider foot. I went one half size up and they fit perfectly. I can comfortably wear one regular pair of socks or a pair of thicker hiking socks, with or without thin under-socks. It doesn't affect the great, comfortable fit. The shock absorbing qualities and footing are noticeably awesome. Feels like a custom fit. Thanks! Lacing and getting in and out of them is slow and more work, though. Based on other reviews, I will treat that third lace hole with care. I understand their concerns. Overall, well worth the effort for such a great boot.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

trully excellent

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Colalex
Location: ohio
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Talus Ridge Outdry is quite good for all functions.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NO BREAK-IN REQUIRED!!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
HikeJapan
Location: Japan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Used these boots to climb Mt.Fuji in Japan and they were perfect!! No break-in needed, no blisters, no pain, no problems!! Look up the terrain and you can see its tough! Lots of large rocks, volcanic sand, and uneven terrain and these boots held together great and had plenty of support! I purchased two pairs a size 14 & 15 and kept the 14's i normally wear a size 14 in run shoes so true to size and still that extra room you need for coming down the mountain and NOT jamming your toe into boot! Truely a GREAT boot!! Posted a pic of the boots after my hike just a little dusty:)
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes for Travel

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike2379
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I recently purchased the Men's Talus Ridge Mid OudDry right before a trip to Iceland & Greenland. I was a little leery that they might be stiff, might be too warm, might not truly be water proof but all of those concerns were quickly dispersed. The shoes fit perfect, my feet never got cold nor hot, my feet stayed dry while traversing glaicers, mud pits, puddles, etc. My feet felt great at the end of the day even after 12-14 hour days of touring. I would highly reccommend these shoes!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome boots

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
LukeJ
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The bold colors really attract a lot of attention around the work place. I work with kids, and they love the colors, so I'm not complaining. Also, these are possibly the most waterproof boots I've had in a while. I haven't had a chance to put them to a good test, but so far walking through tall, dewy grass hasn't been an issue.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe but....

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
thedeuceisloose
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the leather shoe lace hole third from the top ripped on both shoes the very first time I laced them up. Other than that it was a great durable shoe and very cozy to wear. I wore them on a very steep ascent and decent in the eastern sierras and the comfort level was outstanding.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome hiking shoe

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
NYhiker
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are looking to do any type of hiking and need a pair of shoes, these are it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Style meets comfort

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
KCL2002
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shoes are comfortable. No break in is needed. I wore whole day in 80 degrees and it still very comfortable. Totally breathable. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Love the Shoe. Hate the Craftmanship

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scalba123
Location: Memphis, TN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While I love the shoe, I ripped open the third eyelet from the top of the right. I'm not sure why Columbia decided to leave an exposed flap to lace the shoes since the potential to rip it open was proven by me. Everything else about the shoe is near perfect, but this issue basically kills my review.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome comfort and function

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alli113
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used these on a photo tour of Yellowstone NP where we did some trail and off trail hiking. They are lightweight and full of support. My knees, back, and ankles were all pain free for all 4 days. The support, comfort, and grip of these boots were awesome. The OutDry was flawless and kept my toes and feet dry. Period. I recommend these boots to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeffro
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weights and very comfortable right out of the box no break in period needed. Excellent with the "waterproof" claim.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight, yet tough

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
KR13
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First, they look great. No one wants a huge pair of boots to lug around. Second, they're surprisingly light weight. Very impressive. Great for backpacking. They're waterproof and great for all terrain. Love.
Activities: Trail, Camping
Conditions: Sweaty, Rainy, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Versatility

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rustystiches
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's great in cold or hot conditions and really does keep water out, just don't submerge the shoe completely of course.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering, Camping, Other, Running, Mountain Biking
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.