Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®

Columbia Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®

Designed with trail tooling, this Omni-Heat® winter boot keeps feet toasty warm in cold conditions but also provides a smaller footprint and increased flex in the heel and forefoot, making it more agile and versatile for everyday wear or activities in winter weather. The easy-on-easy-off slip-on design does away with the time-consuming hassle of laces, hooks and eyelets so you can get out the door quickly.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Review 1 for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe but:

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Delta49
Location: Breckenridge, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a pair at 9.5 and wore them up here in the mountains of Colorado for a month. They were great until both big toes developed ingrown toe nails! Probably my fault but if you have a wide foot, order larger than you need. They slip on nicely. My bad for not sending them back, I suppose.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Barney57
Location: Griffith IN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product in January when the weather was -30 it is a very easy boot to put on. It also is very warm and has great traction on snow and ice.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Need to wear long socks with them

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DorkMom
Location: Lowell, MA
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My teen son loved the boots initially, but after wearing them for a day he complained that part of the boot rubbed on his calves and created a sore. He wears ankle-high socks. This is not a huge problem, but my son will not be as enthusiastic about wearing the boots now since he doesn't like high socks. Gorgeous boots otherwise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm, needs to breath a little

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
andyftw
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super easy to put on and really warm. They run a little small... size them like running shoes and buy a half size bigger and you'll be happy.
I've worn them a few times in mixed activities... mostly standing on the side of a soccer field in cold / rainy / windy conditions. Paired with SmartWool socks my feet are super toasty.
I've noticed, after prolonged wearing (four hours or greater) that my feet get very sweaty... more so than any other footwear. My hypothesis is that the boots just don't breath very well.
TL;DR: Warm. Run a little small. Sweaty.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
MisterEat
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat® boot is comfortable and easy to slip in to. They are especially warm. The quality is excellent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! Excellent walking boot.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nanook
Location: Glenview, Illinois
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I was skeptical that a pull on boot could fit so well and keep my feet dry and warm in the Chicago winter. This one does. I've retired the lace up boots it replaces.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Warm

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
mtime
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got these boots about 2 weeks ago....just before the polar vortex hit our area. Timing was perfect and I was happy to have them. Even in -16F; -35F wind-chill my feet were warm.
I marked the fit as "runs a little small" not because of the footbed; that was fine. Rather, the diameter at the top of the boot is a little small (not too bad); making slipping the boot on a little tight. I could see where putting on a heavy or insulated sock could be a challenge. I'm guessing though that this is newness and will improve over time.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat®
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OmniHeat Boots Beats Polar Vortex

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
BrianB
Location: Evanston, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased to receive my new Columbia Men’s Silcox™ 8” Slip Omni-Heat® boots (on sale no less) a few days before the incredible snow storm and brutally cold temperatures here in Chicagoland. They are stylish, comfortable, warm, offer decent support, give excellent grip and are compact in boot design making them easier to wear while driving (as opposed to other boots I own).
I highly recommend them!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.