Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat

An instant classic when it first hit the scene in 1993, the Bugaboot is back and better than ever with the addition of our exclusive Omni-Heat® insulation and thermal reflective technologies.
Overall rating:
4.569 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
52 out of 55(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia , PA
My experience with the newer version of The Bugaboot is great, it provides great comfort and the omi-heat is great for the cold weather. Thank you.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: East Windsor, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable. Light weight. Rugged. Have recommended this product to friends and they have purchased your Bugaboot.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Camping, Hunting Big Game, Other, Hunting Upland, Vacation
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy, Other, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like mine, these were diversion gifts to keep the boys away from mine

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight and warm. Perfect for cool weather quad riding and light work. As indicated in the header, I love mine and to keep my boys from takin off with them, they will be recieving a pair of their own for Christmas.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s Bugaboot

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This boot is very well constructed, and is designed well. It is a perfect boot for the Northwest to hike, fish, or work in. It provides good support and is very light on my feet and legs. I am very happy with this product.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They're comfortable and they fit perfectly

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Monrovia, Maryland
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is so hard to please and he had never tried any of the Columbia products. The Bugaboots were recommended to me by my Fed Ex driver who wears them in all weather. He said they just can't be beat! I decided to give them a try and had a GREAT Christmas morning - I was told that Santa had done a GREAT JOB! Thanks also for making the transaction so effortless. More orders will be coming!
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Bug Infested, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just perfect

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: upstate NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased for my son who is OCD...I got it right!! He loves how light the boots are, how warm they are, that they were black (when all the stores had brown), the size was perfect!! He wears them to play in the snow and to shovel. He also wears them to the ski mtn when he is not in his snow gear. Couldn't be happier!!
Activities: Trail, Commuting
Conditions: Freezing, Snowy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

review of boot purchase

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: rhode island
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent quality , great fit and stylish for a snow boot. highly recommend. greatly appreciated your complimentary shipping upgrade to ensure Christmas delivery. thank you and Happy New Year
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven’t had many chances to ware my new boots, Michigan has been unseasonably warm so far this winter season, but in the times I have been able to ware them, they are awesome; warm, comfortable and dry. My first pair were men’s so this new pair are men’s too. I think the men’s are built tougher so last longer, are roomier, and closer to the right size. Plus I just didn’t care for the color selection for the women’s in my size.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puuurfect!

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: gR,Mi
Bought this boot for an XMAS gift...he will love'em b/c COLUMBIA does everything right! Thnx!
I would recommend this product.
-10points
2of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Tennessee
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boot feels good and looks great. Have not challenged them to a hunting season yet. This is July. Ask me in 6 months.10
I would recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Deep Cold Only

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ontario, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The side of the boot says, in large lettering, "waterproof".
I learned the hard way that this is misleading. Sure, the bottom part of the boot is waterproof, but so what? The tongue is like a sponge, rendering this boot risky at best in any early spring or late fall weather.
I got these around January last year. All went well until I broke through an ice sublayer and into a 5-inch-deep puddle of slushy water underneath. It's not as though a bit of water seeped in. The bottom of the boot filled like a bucket. I had to high tail it home as the water so throughly soaked my right foot that it travelled up my sock and as far as mid-calf of my jeans. This wasn't a huge excursion or anything, but I can only imagine the trouble if this had happened in the middle of the woods.
Today I treated my usual calf-high leather boots with mink oil and so had to let them dry. I wore the Bugaboot out in mild fall weather for a walk through a field of dewy wild grass. To my renewed amazement, the Bugaboot could not even cope with dewy grass. Again water soaked through the tongues and my socks within 15 minutes.
I am pretty angry at Columbia for putting such an inferior product on the market to save the cost of a $2 flap of gore-tex over the tongue of the boot. These boots are worthless unless it is -10 and snowy.
I do not recommend this product.
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Boot

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the light weight, easy on and off and comfort. Toes got a little cold in 16 degree weather sitting on stand. Could be old age. Much improved over old boots. Norm (KANSAS)
Activities: Camping, Hunting Big Game
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality, great service

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Olathe, KS
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received my boots earlier than expected with no hassles. The boots are of the finest quality and I plan to wear them for years to come. They will probably be the last boots I'll ever need to buy.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Christmas present

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The process was easy and the delivery was quick. The winter boots were exactly what I ordered. The only negative thing I would have to say is that I wish it was free shipping due to the holiday season. The charge was $6.00, not bad. But I always am satisfied with a Columbia product.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: New York
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend columbia boots to friends and family.
Activities: Other
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

new boots

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Utah
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
boots worked out great!! They were true to size and all that they claimed to be. My feet stayed warm, dry and extremely comfortable for a boot.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this boot is a good, lightweight boot

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This boot is a nice, lightweight boot and is comfortable. However, I did wear it during a very cold night at a football game and my feet did get a bit cold....I wore two pairs of socks and they may have been too tight to circulate the warmth within the book, so, the jury is still out on the warmth factor..but I like the looks and feel of the boot so far.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the mountain snow here in Colorado

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Lake City, CO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a warm, sturdy boot that protects from the damp as well as the dry snow. It is extremely well made. My only objection is the size. I ordered an 11 1/2 boot and it is larger than a 12 boot from another manufacturer. It's also quite wide. I added a double shoe pad and wear it with heavy socks. I suggest that it should be ordered 1/2 size smaller than usual. It would probably not work as a hiking boot.
Activities: Mountaineering, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent but...

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got them a few weeks ago. Keep me warm and dry and look great, however, while walking, above ankle height they tend to irritate the skin and pluck the hair off ( a free shin waxing:-)). I hope they just take some getting used to...
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Boot for Colorado

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Denver, Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i bought these boots for my son who commutes in Denver and with little available parking there is alot of walking involved. These are perfect for snow, slush and whatever the weather brings that day.
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>