Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Powerdrain™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Powerdrain™

This powered-up version of our original Drainmaker offers great fit and support.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Powerdrain™
Review 1 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs large

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer avatar
1Sharon1
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was excited to receive these shoes so that I could use them for water aerobics. While I liked the ability to tighten and loosen the shoe, they run so large that even drawing the cord as tightly as possible I could easily pull my foot out of them. They would never have stayed on my foot in the pool. I ordered the size I normally wear but could easily have fit a half size smaller and perhaps a full size. They were comfortable and seem to be well made, but I had to return them before being able to give them any real use. If you order these, make sure to order a size smaller than your typical athletic shoe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super shoe

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
kayalmlp
Location: Clermont Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
owning a kayak company and operating a marina, my feet are always wet. great shoe in the water, hangs well to the wet boat ramp, stays on when I step in the mud. They dry fast when you set them in the sun, not so fast when you have them on.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for water aerobics

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
H2Olady
Location: Savannah, GA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoe is nice and light, water really flows through easily. Am a water aerobics instuctor and try out lots of different shoes, and this one is working out much better than the earlier model that had tie laces. Love the elastic laces that stay put, and shoe dries fast. Good traction and support!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and Safety

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Ree44
Location: Chatham, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've just received my new "powerdrain" shoes and I love them. I've been wearing the shoes around the house, they are very comfortable. I'm happy that I can wear my neoprean shocks with the shoe. We will be rafting the Colorado in the Grand Canyon in May, I'll wear the shoe rafting as well as hiking, I expect that they will provide comfort, safety and they will dry quickly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoe for the price

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Bug51
Location: Towanda, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really like the shoe. Great for walking outdoors. Very comfortable from the first day I put them on.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hiking shoe!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
mec1502
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these for specific trails in Hawaii that involved a lot of stream, beach, tidepool and waterfall crossings. They were extremely strenuous (and LONG!) trails, to say the least! But the shoes held up great. They drained fast and my feet never felt like they were sitting in water, which was pretty remarkable. I didn't do much in the way of breaking them in before my hikes (which I was thinking I'd regret) but interestingly enough, no blisters and they were perfectly comfortable. They had great grip on slippery rocks and mud, even walking on completely submerged, algae covered rocks. I ordered an 8 which I wear in every single shoe but these had a LOT of space between my toe and the top of the shoe - I didn't return them though, and it turns out it didn't matter as my foot didn't slide (they fit pretty snug with the drawstring lace) and I wore socks with them for the most part so that helped as well. It was fine without them too, though. I appreciated that the soles are removable which makes for easier cleaning after muddy or sandy hikes. The only think that I did notice is that some sand and smaller grounds of rock did stay in the drain area (under the sole so I can't feel them, but I can see them when removing the sole for cleaning). This doesn't necessarily bother me but I'm curious if that will build up over time.
All in all, I recommend these for hiking shoes - especially when lots of water or water crossings are involved. They're also great for tidepooling and walking on reef / ocean rock if need be - just mind the comment above about sand potentially building up!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rainforest Hiking

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Brideonamission
Location: South FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are awsome!! I live in Florida and love the outdoors. They have really come in handy. I bought them for my honeymoon since we are hiking the rainforest, but that isn't till July. They are true to size and are flexible in the width which is a good thing for me since my feet are a little wide. I love the hanger it came with, it makes cleaning and drying them easy. My best friend and new sister in law and their husbands have already purchased them after seeing mine. I highly recomend these shoe!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Dede63
Location: Buffalo,NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Needed pool shoes for Aquafit class. These are PERFECT. Comfortable, run true to size, dry quickly. Shipping was amazingly fast. LOVE THEM!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for boating or at the beach

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Cat13
Location: Clearwater, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore my new Powerdrain shoes kayaking last weekend at Fort DeSoto. Love them! They look nice, lightweight, easy on and off and protect your feet even when walking over an oyster bar. I ordered my regular shoe size and they fit perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A blessing for my foot!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Bev61
Location: Columbia, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After three foot surgeries in the last 18 months, I'm headed to someplace warmer but with no suitable footwear for the water. I tested the Powerdrains out at my local pool, and they work like a charm!! Perfect fit, no drag, and they drain great! I'm now ready to take on the walks on the beach and hikes back to the waterfalls without worry about the safety of my foot!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerdrain shoe a good choice

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Barbo
Location: Chicago IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The shoe is not as sturdy as a regular athletic walking shoe, but feels great for pool walking. My question is, can I wash them in the washing machine? I want to gete the chlorine from the pool out of them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A quality water shoe

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Val35
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: True to size. I normally wear size 8 to 8.5. Originally I ordered a 7.5 based on reviews, but they were too small. (I think those reviews applied more to the "Drainmaker" shoe that tends to run big). I exchanged them for an 8, which fit perfectly.
Function: These were my shoes of choice when camping because they slipped on easily, were comfortable, supportive, and versatile. I could wear them hiking along the river, then to the lake for swimming and not have to change shoes. I also really liked the “Omni-grip” – it really works! There was one BIG thing I didn’t like, however. Tiny pebbles/grains of sand would sometimes get into the shoes when I was hiking or hanging out at the lake. Very annoying! At that point I was kind of wishing I had Chaco sandals. But I guess it just depends on what you plan to use them for. If you want the protection and versatility of a water shoe, then I’d say these are your best bet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice shoe - Not for me

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
SDskate
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am returning this shoe, due to the fact that it does not have enough support for my feet on creek crossings and creek hiking (very uneven terrain). They seem wonderful for areas with more even terrain and/or for people whose feet do not need as much support.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJordanHiker
Israel/Jordan (Middle East)
 
Please wait while more information about JordanHiker is loaded.
Additional information about JordanHiker could not be loaded.
I have to agree with this user...
onMay 19, 2013
For water aerobics in the pool, or walking on a sandy beach, these could be perfect...
BUT -- I bought these for a week long hike in the canyons and ravines in the Moab region of Jordan (Middle East). The ground is rocky and the super thin soles caused my feet to hurt terribly!
I have owned Columbia shoes before, but as they are much heavier and most of this trip was in water, I bought the powerdrain shoe thinking it would be just as good as their other shoes without the added weight of the water. The shoe does drain water really well - I have to admit, but it does this by having a hollow sole, which does not provide support you'd want when you aren't on flat ground.
I wish I could return these, but returns in my country (Israel), are always a problem and stores are not familiar with the concept and that the client is [usually/always] right.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Womens Powerdrain

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer avatar
MarieK
Location: Portland Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome shoe. Very comfortable. I usually wear a 6 1/2 but had to get a 6. Great color
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe -- better than expected

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Erika70
Location: Waterford, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shoe is comfortable and performs exactly how the short video demonstrates. I wear them barefoot, so they are somewhat loose -- maybe ordering them in a 1/2 size smaller than I normally wear would have been better...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Dry

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
crofke6
Location: Lexington, VA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a zookeeper and I bought these shoes to use at work in the summer. My feet are constantly getting wet, and I wanted something that would dry quickly and that I wouldn't feel like my feet were swimming in if I dumped a water bucket down my leg. After using them for a few weeks I have to say that they are the quickest drying shoes that I own. They are very light weight and comfortable. I did end up with some blisters on the backs of my heels after wearing them without socks for the first time, but I haven't had a problem since. They are a little roomy if you are hoping to wear them without socks. I usually wear between a 6.5-7 and I ordered a 6.5 in these shoes. With socks they fit perfectly, but without socks they are a little big. The elastic laces will make them nice and snug though.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I think I'd buy Drainmaker if I could do it again

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
USCGR2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shoes are fine. They do what water shoes should do and they do it well. I do like the pull string and that's part of what prompted me to go with these over the Drainmaker. But the eyelet on mine broke the first time I used them. I don't know if that will increase the wear or not in that area. I also think the Drainmakers are a tad more comfortable. I tried them at the store and loved them. The store didn't have the Powerdrain and, for various reasons, I elected to go with that model instead. I purchased online so I won't exchange due to hassle, but I'm hoping to save for a Drainmaker. I know people who LOVE those shoes (and do PT tests in them) and I don't know that the "beefier" take on the Powerdrain provides much that overrides what I know I like on the Drainmaker. It was my choice, but I'd exchange if I could.
That said, like the DM, these were excellent in traction and are not *uncomfortable* - quite the contrary - I just like the DM better.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Powerdrain™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Think I'll love them

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
becca3
Location: Boston MetroWest
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't worn these outdoors yet - but fit is good and quality top-notch, as expected. I think I'll get a lot of use out of these this summer... very light-weight, yet appear to be very durable. I wear 10 usually, but bought 9-1/2 to wear without socks.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.