Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe

A low-profile, high-traction shoe with a secret weapon: Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining keeps your feet warm and cozy during aerobic activity in fall and winter weather.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 8(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Review 1 for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Columbia Women's Descender shoes

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Tadpole
Location: Apison, TN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only tried the shoes out twice and so far I really like them. The tongue of the shoe scratches the front of my ankel a little if my sock isn't high enough, but other than that minor detail, I like the shoe. It's very light weitght and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice quality

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Satch
Location: Davisburg Mi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very light weight shoe well made,good for the price. wear a ten ordered ten fits true to size. Bought for the gym wish there was more cushion in the sole not that great for any type of impact such as treadmill. Will keep regaurdless b/c of price
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfortable shoes

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Jime
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm very happy with the purchase
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not waterproof

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
KellyJ
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
These shoes are great in a number of ways: comfortable, warm, grippy...but they're not waterproof, which is main reason I purchased them. I've been walking my dog in the wet Oregon weather, and couldn't believe my socks and feet were wet! (In damp grass, no less - not even rain.) So if you don't care about getting your feet wet, they're great shoes.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic lightweight shoes

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
NWHikerGal
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shoes! I originally got these shoes thinking that I would use them as spare camp shoes for backpacking, as they are incredibly light and have a perfect loop cutout at the top of the tongue for clipping them to a carbiner. However, since they are so comfortable and lightweight (like walking on little clouds), they have become my go-to around town shoes. I just ordered my second pair in fear that they might discontinue the model at some point. I have narrow feet, and for once, I did not have problems with my heels slipping in these shoes. I wear a size 7 in normal shoes and generally a 7.5 in running shoes, and 7.5 fit comfortably in these for me. I highly recommend these shoes and hope Columbia continues to make them. While they are not ultra-supportive, they have much more structure than the true minimalist shoes, especially considering their light weight.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for hiking

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
jackie2777
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a little larger than the other brands' size. Nonetheless, it still fits comfortable. Great for hiking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fun style and look

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
HMPSue
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More comfortable than a recent name brand purchase shoe. My orthotics fit great.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Descender™ Omni-Heat™ Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not quite the perfect fit

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
gahiker
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First I should state that my feet are not the average shape. One foot is a size longer than the other, the other is a size wider than the other, and both are not quite a medium nor a narrow width so shopping for shoes is always difficult. I was looking for a shoe that was lightweight, had good traction, warm, and fit well. This shoe met all of the first three criteria admirably. The real bonus, they were warm. It is very difficult to keep my feet warm. Unfortunately, it did not fit my foot right so I needed to return them. If they had fit my not-ave foot correctly these would have been my favorite pair of shoes for all outings (except something classy).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.