Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe

Sporting a revamped upper and clean design lines, the Switchback 2 provides low-profile support that looks as good on the street as it does on the singletrack.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
21 out of 22(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Review 1 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I've been looking for.

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
OutdoorEnthusiast72
Location: Mebane, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shoe has held up exceptionally well. Hiking on rough uneven terrain, through mud and water and never lost my footing. My latest test was a 3 mile hike up a mountain. The trail was full of rocks and boulders. Every step was sure and steady. I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Shoe!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Guinnessgirl39
Location: Baltic, CT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To be honest, Columbia Shoes are the only ones I can wear with any kind of comfort because I have to wear special orthodics in my shoes. I have long been a fan of Columbia but appreciate them even more now! The Woman's Switchback 2 is an awesome shoe, stylish and comfortable. Thank you Columbia for making a shoe that fits when you have difficult feet!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pretty good

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Fanghongjian
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shoe is pretty good, and very comfortable. I love it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good choice

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Happy21
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never had shoes from Columbia, only clothes. I was very happy with this shoe. I just wish had 11 1/2. I have a hard time finding shoes and will be purchasing from Columbia again. Very happy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Debbie63
Location: Camas, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the shoe, very cushy to walk in. It doesn't have enough arch support. I add inserts. My foot is a little on the wide side and it fits perfectly. The length is a normal size 10.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good walking Shoe

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
SJI365
Location: San Juan Islands, WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This shoe was disappointing- it is relatively comfortable but seems to provide little support and is not in any way water resistant (even walking along a trail with very little and very short grass, found my toes wet very quickly). Has good traction but overall disappointed.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not True to Size

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
MsJump
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these for my daughter who loves her current Columbia shoes. She needed a new pair because she wore her current ones until they were falling apart. When she tried them on they were way too big.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Newton
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my needs

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Kid22
Location: Danville, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great from the get go. No break in time was needed. Love the support & comfort of the shoe. I wear them around town, to walk the dog, and for hiking easy terrains.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These Columbia's are great!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
SarraL
Location: Cleveland OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Women's Switchback 2 shoes are the most comfortable athletic shoe I have ever worn. Was always a faithful Asics shoe buyer, but these are 10 times more comfortable and the support is amazing.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Woman's Switchback 2

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Fiddledee
Location: a farm in Ayden NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't buy non-dress shoes very often, but I always buy several pairs of them at once: always the same style, color and design. I live on a farm and teach children also, so I am always in a pair of "tennis" shoes. I try to rotate them throughout the week for their own good and for the good of my feet. I have found the Columbia shoes to be OUTSTANDING for my purposes: everything from cleaning barns and feeding ponies to teaching my Suzuki violin classes. The only problem is that by the time I get around to replacing my shoes, the style has changed, so I simply call the Columbia tollfree number and speak to one of their aways helpful staff to try and order shoes that are similar in every way to the shoes I am replacing. The most recent incarnation of my everyday shoe is the woman's Switchback 2. I found it to be a little lighter in construction than the shoe it is replacing, but I quickly got used to it. I did find it to be a little larger than the other shoe tho the same size. I always take the liner out and replace it with an over the counter orthotic insert. I went back and replaced the original Columbia insert and also put the orthotic insert back in and they FIT PERFECTLY. I always hear you shouldn't use two inserts, but my feet feel GREAT and as long as that is the case, I will do whatever it takes to stay that way. I have always found the Columbia shoes to be long wearing, always comfortable and a great value. My old Columbias have been relegated to a pile beside the back door for really bad, mucky days at the barn. The only reason I really have to retire them to that exclusive purpose is because after slogging through pony poo for so long.. eventually the soles of the shoes absorb the barn odors to the point that you don't want to wear them in polite company...
: )
Otherwise... I might not have to buy new shoes at all. I might also add that the woman's Switchback 2 is a great value, very affordable.
I can't say enough good things about these shoes and the company that makes them and their helpful employees!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Switchback

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
SandyPants
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new Columbia shoes. They are exactly what I wanted.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helped me survive Disneyworld

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
MBeth
Location: Roscoe, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received these the day before Disneyworld, due to an order glitch (which was handled very well by customer service), so didn't have any time to break them in. They were very comfortable - no blisters or sore spots - and no sore feet at the end of the very long days. Lightweight and cool. They were exactly what I was hoping for.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Liked the subdues colours.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
High2
Location: Montreal
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tried to buy the same model I purchased while travelling in Australia. It has been modified and is slightly larger.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Shoe!

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Shoanna
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight, comfortable, functional, an all around great shoe for hiking, walking, and even shopping! Stylish and colorful. Loving this shoe!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sunny, Cement/Asphalt, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Women's Switchback 2

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
jecc
Location: Phoenix AZ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoes are very lightweight and colorful (fuscia pink). They fit fairly well; I am a 9 1/2 and I have to go up to size 10 to fit correctly. It was the same with the last shoes I got from Columbia. I found the shoes immediately comfortable and started wearing them the day I got them.
Activities: Trail, Camping
Conditions: City, Sunny, Rainy, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is so comfortable.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
AuntieAnn
Location: San Antonio, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I think these are the most comfortable Columbia shoes I have purchased. They are rugged enough for the outdoors, but feel like house slippers on my feet. They also hug my narrow heels and I haven't found any areas that rubbed my foot after wearing them, 2-3 times, so far. I love the color and they just look "cool".
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shoe!

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer avatar
PC918
Location: Albuquerque, NM
I bought a pair while visiting Seattle. I put them on and wore them out of the store and I LOVE these shoes! I normally wear a wide width, but bought regular width and they fit perfectly. They are lightweight and very comfortable. I will buy another pair!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect shoes

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
liying
Location: new york
I bought this shoes for my sister. She likes it evry much.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Switchback™ 2 Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

extrenely comfortable

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
MinniesMa
Location: Spokane
I can't believe how light these shoes are! They are super comfortable too.
They are a bit wide in the toe box, but not too much.
I am on my feet all day at work and these shoes are far more comfortable than the Dr Scholls I was wearing!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>