Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Drainmaker™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Drainmaker™

This fully drainable water shoe lets you catch the fish and release the stream.
Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
50 out of 50(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Drainmaker™
Review 1 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like swimming barefoot

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
KabukiJane
Location: Prescott, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing! Out of the seven water shoes I own, definitely the lightest and best looking--they drained so well it was literally like swimming barefoot. They also repel dirt like a magnet. Love love love them!
Activities: Trail, Swimming, Kayaking, Commuting
Conditions: Sunny, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes for water fitness classes!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Mamabunny
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shoes for water fitness classes and they are great. Good support and they dry overnight for the next day. I did need to tie the laces with a double knot so they wouldn't come untied during class but that works fine. Good purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best water shoe I have found

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
DawnT
Location: Minneapolis
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have spent a couple of years looking for a good water shoe that is as good walking on dry land as it is during water activities, and I think I have finally found it! This shoe is comfortable, dries quickly, is not too warm, and doesn't rub me in any weird places. As good in the kayak as it is walking the dogs. I agree with the other reviewers that say if you are planning on using it without socks to make sure you go down a 1/2 size. The only complaint is that the insole moves around a little too much for my liking, but it is so the insole is easily removeable for drying purposes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great but DON'T follow sizing chart-get your usual size

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
spennyp
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, this shoe is awesome! Columbia is one of my favorite brands, and the only brand I buy for any outdoor/physical activity apparel or gear. They never disappoint.
This shoe is comfortable and definitely dries quickly without rubbing or causing any blisters. I NEVER go without socks (they always end up smelling so bad and I hate the feeling), so when I started looking for shoes to wear when I kayak & take my dog hiking where we encounter creeks, I only really looked into sandals. I found these on sale though, and decided to give them a try. I am SO glad I did! They are much better than sandals because they cover the whole foot, so when we are hiking I feel better having my entire foot protected. And since they dry so quickly, I am just as comfortable as I would be in sandals.
The only problem I came across is the sizing. I usually wear a 6.5-7.5, but according to the sizing chart on the website, I should have ordered an 8.5. I just knew that would be wrong, so I went ahead and ordered a 7.5, and it fits perfectly. So I don't suggest using the sizing chart provided here, just go with your usual size!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Ror423
Location: Burnsville, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife like the style, color and quality of this shoes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best water shoe I've owned

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
CJ29
Location: Washington DC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hello. I am a marine biologist who spends all day in and out of the water. I have been wearing these for about 3 weeks now and love them! They are comfortable and do not rub my feet raw (a real concern I had about a pair that looked like tennis shoes). They so far do not have any smell from not wearing socks, which is wonderful. They drain excellently; however, even when the shoe is dry my feet stay slightly damp for sometime after being out of the water. I just have to take them off for a minute then I'm fine. Other than that I have no other problems!
As for size, most shoes I'm a 7 1/2, but I bought an 8 in these because my foot measured that on their size chart. Just use the size chart they have online and you'll be fine
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MUST HAVE!

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Teach12
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I teach kayaking and canoeing to kids....these shoes are now a requirement for my staff. They are by far the best and most comfortable water shoe I've ever owned.
They dry great and don't smell.Transition beautifully from water to land allowing us to only pack one pair of shoes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great water aerobic shoe

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Melissa47
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just joined our YMCA for water aerobics and these shoes are great. They are not slick walking on the wet floors around the pool. I do have to tie in a double knot to keep from coming untied in the pool. Have had lots of compliments on them as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful shoe

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Wahoo60
Location: Covington ky
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the shoes, should have gone a full size smaller. I would have liked. They are almost slip proof. Walked in the rain forest in Costa Rica and had great traction every time. Not sure if the water drains out but I really like the shoe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
FishKris
Location: Orlando, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the white and grey shoes a couple months ago, and I wear them all the time! Their purpose as a water shoe does just that (even though when you step in a small puddle, the water will get in your shoe, even when you would rather have the shoe repel the water in that case)! The only complaint I have now is that most of the colors are not being sold right now! And my current Drainmakers have gotten very dirty, and soap and water seems to do nothing to get the dirt out. Other than that, it is a great shoe for anyone!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
lynzielew
Location: San Diego, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They are super light and very comfortable. Can't wait to test them to the max!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
cueballmama
Location: Gulf Shores, Al
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new rain jacket. I have never owned one but this is so much better than an unbrella. Have had many compliments. I love all the details, zipper + velcro, adjustments at wrist & all other places that need to be covered.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME WATER SHOES

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
KissMeKate
Location: Petaluma, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE these shoes. I swim everyday at my gym and I do water aerobics and these shoes are AWESOME. They are VERY light but yet they are super supportive and comfortable. I HIGHLY recommend these shoes! I am going to buy more in different colors to match different bathing suits.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect river hiking shoe!!

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
PDXGrl
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I went hiking in waterfalls and rivers with the Drainmaker (in cool grey and chartreuse). These shoes are amazing!! They had a great grip on the rocky river floor, very flexible - moves with you, drained as described, and dried quickly. They looked stunning too. I can't recommend these enough. I wish they had cool shoes like this for everyday non-water wear :). I usually take an 8.5 in shoes, but got an 8 since you don't use socks in these shoes and they fit perfectly!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
JumpInPuddles
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful shoes. I bought these to wear on a regular basis in place of rain boots or Chacos. I also wanted a shoe that wasn't bulky, and that I could wear for hours at a time. Based on other reviews, I went down half a size since I'll be wearing them without socks (socks would defeat their intention). The draining ability is accurate and comical- the first thing I did when they came in the mail was pour water in them. They fit great but a bit loose in the toe area. It feels great when the wind blows due to the shoe's breathable design. Love the color, too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of the favs

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
bkawa
Location: bflo,ny
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable lightweight all around excellent
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
TheNana
Location: San Antonio, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this shoe over the weekend for the first time. Very comfortable! The company description of the shoe is right on target. They are durable and had really good traction walking up and down a rocky hillside and into the lake. The only little complaint I have is with the shoe strings not staying tied in the water. I will be looking for some "bungie" type strings to put in them before the next trip.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes!!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Lisa67
Location: Galveston, Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 2nd pair of Drainmakers (I'd like to get every color). These shoes are awesome and I don't even use them in the water. I work 8-10 hours daily on a concrete floor and I don't know what I did before my Drainmakers. Their light weight, cool, & comfortable. I throw them in the wash and they clean nicely & are dry in no time. When I'm not working, I live in flip flops so I don't have very high arches.....these shoes are perfect for that!! I'm a true Drainmaker fan from here on................. Thanks Columbia!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great !

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
erikaintheworld
Location: Arizona
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definitelly water style shoes. I like te mesh on the front that gives plenty of " respiration " to your feet and allows it to dry quickly. Im not sure how would that work on heavy duty trails ( but they do have another style that looks 'harder' and thicker on the front. Definitelly good grip as well and light. I thought it was tiny bit too big but them also when people hike or walk for several hours your feet tend to swallow so I think this was a great buy !!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Drainmaker™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Arielle
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Columbia never disappoints me, I even where my shoes to work, standing on my feet all day, and my feet don't hurt. So cute and cool as well.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>