Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe

Columbia Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe

With bigger, more numerous drainage ports in the heel and forefoot, the updated Drainmaker II drains water 33% faster than its predecessor. Add siped lugs for increased traction on wet surfaces and new internal frame support and you’ve got an ideal lightweight, quick-drying shoe for staying safe and comfortable during extended waterside activities.
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Review 1 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for The Narrows

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer avatar
soybean589
Location: Richmond, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was planning a return trip to Zion Nat'l Park in Utah to do the Narrows hike from the top down. First time, I wore typical waterproof hiking boots that came above the ankle. Well, I remember how much my feet took a beating from the supportive, yet unforgiving hiking boots. I knew when I did the hike again I wanted something that would be extra grippy in water, supportive, yet flexible, and didn't come up above the ankle. So I bought these shoes with all that in mind...and these shoes completely met my expectations! I was able to hike 9 hours in the first day, not slip and fall in the water, and the shoes drained any excess water. They didn't dry completely overnight when I was at camp, but that didn't really matter since I was still walking through the river the next day. My feet were adequately supported, yet still had the flexibility to cross the river and still grip on the algae covered rocks. Interestingly enough, all the gear shops around Zion also carried this shoe so that confirmed my purchase even further. =)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Maybe it's me

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
MNgirlfromNJ
Location: Minneaoplis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Maybe it's just me but, I found these shoes to be so unforgiving. I purchased them for use at Disney World since we had planned on going on water rides I figured that would make it easier.... but once I tried them on when they arrived I found them to be like walking barefoot on concrete. There's NO cushion in these folks. They're a hard rubber sole, so if you're a tad heavy set, and need some cushion. Don't go with these. I returned mine if that says anything at all. I think they're pretty, and the construction of them was sturdy and well made.... but definitely not good for long time spent on feet.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My wife loves them.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Rustic62
Location: North Georgia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair for my wife. She says they are comfortable to walk in, drain quickly after getting wet, and the soles have very good traction. They are great shoes for kayaking, canoeing, wading, short hikes to and from the water.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

water shoes

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
RNKare
Location: Vanc, WA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Has great grip in the pool. Good cushion. Only down is the laces come undone frequently despite double knotting in water classes. find a way to anchor them down!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Comfortable shoe i have

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
jandbguide
Location: Paisley, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this shoe for a trip, we went to Disneyland so we were on our feet for at least 12 hours a day. My feet never got tired at all. With all the water rides the stayed dry. I would totally buy this product and recommend this shoe to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I researched and found this shoe

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
SilverFoxSC
Location: Murrells Inlet, SC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this shoe for water aerobics and I researched significantly before I made my selection. I am 70+ years and have some joint pains so I wanted and needed a well-made shoe. This one is wonderful. I ordered a size 6 (a half size smaller than my normal shoe) because of all the reviews I had read about earlier shoe models. They fit perfect although the 6 1/2 might have worked too. They are comfortable, supportive, lightweight, and do not interfere or make it harder to do the water aerobic moves. I like that the insole comes out for drying and they dry in a day. The shoe laces came untied the first day, but I have learned to double tie the laces so they stay tied. I am so glad I selected this shoe.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New favorite shoe!!!!!!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Mich6000
Location: Wa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE these shoes. In fact I have bought 3 pairs. They are very comfortable and run true to size. I have worn them everyday since I bought them which was about a month or more ago. Perfect summer shoes, no socks, getting wet is not a factor, you just slip them on and off you go. I wear them to work which can be a water rich environment and wear them everywhere else. I have gotten more compliments on the riptide/spark orange pair than ANY other shoe I have ever owned, and I am a shoe girl! People love the color combos of these shoes! I highly recommend these.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for water aerobics

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
AzMaws
Location: Glendale, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have heel spurs and needed cushioning while doing aerobics in the pool. These do the job. They are so light I can swim with them on. There is nothing negative I can say about them. The size is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boating Camp

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Meggie
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work at a kayaking, canoeing, and outdoor camp for kids and these shoes are perfect!! They are great out on the water and comfortable to wear all day long. Durable and breathable I highly recommend these shoes. My summer would not be complete without these shoes!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This water shoe is great.

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Lee76
Location: Pingree Grove, Il.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried several other brands and this is the best.
Drys fast, comfortable, runs a little big, had to send it back for a smaller size, they did not charge me for shipping on the smaller size. Fast delivery, what more could you ask for.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable but a little large

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
CampingGal
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoe is very comfortable and looks great. Ordered my normal size, 5.5, but runs a little large. Like the shoe so returning for a size smaller.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My first pair of water shoes

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Wetnoodle
Location: Rocklin, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just started my first water exercise class
for arthritis. These shoes help with my balance. I've only used them four times, but they do help me. Only concern is the shoe strings are a little short.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thrilled with the shoes

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Kayak55
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was on a 4 week kayaking vacation in Key West FL and used the shoes on a daily basis. They dried quickly and were comfortable wet or dry. Very cool in the heat. Footing was great no issues with slipping. I highly recommend these shoes for anyone who is around water!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Kauai

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Khill
Location: Jackson, WY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased a pair for the entire family. These shoes have enough support for short walks/ hikes and are great for wearing in the water. No drag when walking in the ocean, great grip on the rocks and quick drying when done.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Drainmaker™ II Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer avatar
FishKris
Location: Orlando, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I previously owned the original Drainmakers (and still wear them) but they have been worn a little too much and have gotten dirty. So, I upgraded to the Drainmaker II and I love them! At first I was a little hesitant about the sizing (they are a little more snug than the original shoe) but after wearing them around they work better with my feet. I wear them pretty much every day either at work or out fishing on the boat and my feet are not even sore. This shoe is great for anyone who has owned the original or is looking for an all around great water shoe!
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byFishKris
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about FishKris is loaded.
Additional information about FishKris could not be loaded.
To Redbeauty25
onApril 6, 2013
I can see why you would feel a lack of support with these shoes. However, they complete the job of having excellent stability and drainage in wet situations which is good with a water shoe. My original drainmakers rubbed against the back of my heel for the first day, but wearing socks and walking around made it go away. Give them a shot! The only down side I've noticed so far is that they will begin to smell very early into usage.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byredbeauty25
seattle, Wa
 
Please wait while more information about redbeauty25 is loaded.
Additional information about redbeauty25 could not be loaded.
onMarch 31, 2013
I just got these shoes today, doesnt seem to have much support in the bottom and they rub the back of my heels just enough to irriatate, i sure hope this all goes away because i like the shoes alot.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)