Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe

Columbia Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe

Versatility is the name of the game with the Talus Ridge. Designed to strike a perfect balance between burly boot and lightweight active hiker, it integrates low-profile support with the waterproof-breathable superpowers of an Outdry membrane so you can hike, jog, scramble, climb or snowshoe in all kinds of conditions.
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Review 1 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent investment!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lorna58
Location: Bear Valley, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Columbia did a fantastic job in creating this boot! I find the sizing to be very true, roomy not only through the toe box which allows for heavier merino wool socks but also easily accommodated the exchange of the original foot bed for an orthopedic foot bed. The Out Dry technology performed great this week in temperatures that dipped down to -4 on icy packed parking lots and in the 40 degree melted snow slop three days later. They are light and comfortable and up to the challenge of putting in a 9 hour day here in the cross country ski center in the high Sierra! Awesome!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Talus Ridge Mid Outdry Shoe

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lou007
Location: Steilacoom, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second pair of these shoes. I bought these primarily for a winter shoe for running in agility trials, but also wear them for walking the dogs in the rain, snow and mud. They are light weight, but still offer the stability and traction I need for running in dirt arenas and they keep my feet warm and dry. They are not easy to slip on or off, but since I am running in them, I need a snug fit. I have a high instep, so I've had trouble finding shoes/low hikers that don't cut off the circulation on the top of my foot when laced up tight. I've worked around it by not running the laces through all the eyelets/holes on these shoes, but am still able to get a good, snug fit!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keeps feet dry

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lizzey
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the hiking boot. So far keeps feet dry. Seems to have good support. Only difficulty is putting on and off. Have to unlace quit a bit to get foot past ankle so allow about 5 minutes to put on and another 5 minutes to take off.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hiking boots ever

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
wrongway
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So comfortable right out of the box! Bit wider toe box is very nice. I ordered a .5 size bigger than my normal shoe size and with thick hiking socks they fit perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the hiking boots!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
CRS3
Location: Red Lodge, MT
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a short wide foot. It's hard to find the width in a Ladies shoe. These fit great! I have already been on the trail in wet conditions and they are all you said they would be!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather26219
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I just got these shoes and am very happy with them. I have already worn them twice on two 5 mile hikes to break them in and they feel awesome. No breaking in necessary. I did order 1/2 size larger and they fit great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What comfort!

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Balloonist
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the fourth or fifth pair of Columbia boots I've purchased but the first I plan to keep. What a great pair of boots. Got them on Friday and took a 3 mile hike the next day over water, mud and up a 450 foot vertical ladder in 97 degree heat. My feet were dry and extremely comfortable; the only rub marks were around the top where I've not worn boots for a while and that was minimal. The toe box on this boot is wide, which is the problem I had with all the other boots I had ordered; the toe boxes were too narrow. Quite fashionable but not functional for my feet. Thanks to a great support person I was able to get the perfect boots when I had actually given up. I normally wear an 8 or 81/2 but went to a 91/2 in Columbia. They are a bit loose but will work well with an antiponator insert.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

design needs some tweeking

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MinniesMa
Location: Spokane
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots for some short summer hikes. The boots are very comfortable- the toe box is very roomie. I did have one problem:
The first time I put them on I tried to pull the laces tight on the lower foot and the tab eyelet (third from the top) ripped. The tabs at this point are made of vinyl-type fabric. I took the boot to a local shoe repair and had eyelets punched through the boot itself and reinforced.
I could have returned the boots, but this was quicker and I think a more permanent solution.
I did send an e-mail to let Columbia know of the problem I had..I got a very positive response and they may be looking at the issue..
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A little too small for my long (SZ 12) feet

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
SaraS
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The boots were nice and would've worked well but they were a little short for my long feet. Disappointingly, I had to send them back.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Womens' Talus Ridge Mid Out Dry

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Satch
Location: Davisburg Mi
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,and workmanship!Always where a size ten but had to reorder to a ten and a half,well wotrth the effort. Very happy.
Activities: Trail, Other
Conditions: City, Rainy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snowshoe and XC ski - PERFECT!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wagner7
Location: Bend, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got back from a weekend in Bend using brand new talus ridge shoes. I wore them one day at work to break them in (not that they needed it at all) to be on the safe side and then left for the mountain. We did 7 miles snowshoeing, 6 miles on XC skis and another 3 mile hike over 2 days. Not only did my feet stay bone dry and toes warm (after the obligatory "get em going"), but they were more comfortable than my running shoes and stylish too. I would say that they aren't that breathable which was good for the cold weather. My guess is that in the summer they might be a bit too warm, but that's strictly my guess. A GREAT winter boot though! Props.
** Note - I do wear a 10.5 in Asics running shoes and 11 in Nike and went with the 11 in Columbia due to other suggestions on size and it was a good call.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has excellent features

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buba54
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so light weight I felt like hiking even farther distance then normal. The waterproof feature was exceptional.I went though rain and mud. I didn't think they would ever be the same. Cleaned right up. I have a bad ankle that flips out of joint alot,these boot kept that from happening. I might even purchase another pair.well worth the expense.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Other, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater, Commuting
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, White Water, Bug Infested, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Talus Ridge™ Mid OutDry Shoe
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I just love my new boots!

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diser
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They're so comfi, yet durable & tough. No breaking in necessary, just lace up & go! Great support and flebablity. Snug too!
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.