Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat

An instant classic when it first hit the scene in 1993, the Bugaboot is back and better than ever with the addition of our exclusive Omni-Heat® insulation to ensure that your feet stay warm and comfortable during activities in winter weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.483 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
52 out of 57(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Review 1 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big boots

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
They're clunkier than I though they'd be. They're hard to drive in; I can barely feel the pedals. And they hurt my ankles because a hard part presses into them. I figured they would loosen up and they did. They seem as if they'll be very warm when the bad weather comes.
I would recommend this product.
+12points
22of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Weedsport, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and looks good!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cold weather boot

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Eastern Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found the boot comfotable & warm. I haven't used them in temps below 15 degrees but I was warm then--they say -24 I hope to never test that claim! I would recommend them to friends.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

colombia rocks!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: erie edge, ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the product itself is amazing. my girlfriend loved them!! shes an all season beachcomber and they have worked out fantastic for her! im much MORE impressed with you guys as a company..one that cares!! you up-graded my shipping to me, free of charge, as you were concerned they wouldnt make it in time for christmas! that was above and beyond!! kudos and THANK YOU for that!! id recommend you to all for the quality and the customer care that you have!!
Activities: Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Open Ocean, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Cleveland
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Perfect boots! The fit is true to size band are very warm and comfortable!
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Cement/Asphalt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A good warm Heavy boot

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Buffalo, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This boot is really keep you warm, but however it is heavy and i think it is not easy for everyone to use it!!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Bugaboot Plus

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Raleigh, NC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have foot problems so it's difficult for me to find shoes that fit properly as well as being comfortable and keeping my feet warm. These boots are wonderful! I love them so much that I ordered the men's boots as a Christmas present for a friend. Thank you, Columbia!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Boots

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Gillette, WY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully designed, light weight but very warm. I bought a pair for myself and am now buying a pair for my daughter-in law. We live in Wyoming and it gets quite cold here and icy. I love my boots because they keep my feet warm without sweating and I don't slip on the ice. This pair I just bought were a bit too small (1/2 size or so) we are reordering up one size! Can't wait to get them!
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Hunting Big Game
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm boots!

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Mt. Hood, Oregon
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these boots for my outdoor job at a ski area when my Sorel Caribou boots didn't keep my feet warm enough. The Bugaboots keep my feet warm and toasty, the fit is true to size and the traction is good. I buy all of my boots a half size larger than my street shoes. I would definitely recommend these boots for working or playing in the snow. I also plan to use them with my snowshoes.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and warm!

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Savannah, ga
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Wore them on vacation on the ski slopes while watching my kids ski and my feet were so warm ans comfortable!!
Activities: Vacation
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Bugaboot Plus

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Massapequa, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome boot keeps my feet toasty warm in the cold snow. A little tough to move around at first but once you use them they are awesome.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My boots are made for comfort and protection :)

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Five of my co worker reccomended these boots to me since they were all black and light weight. I am outside for my job so it's uniform approval :) I am very glad these boots are light weight. I am a petite woman and when I wear boots I always feel like I have to use force to lift up my legs when walking in boots, but not these:) I also love how my toes have lots of room to wiggle around and they are kept warm and dry:) Thank you :)
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even better than before!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Bugaboots in the early 90's and loved them. I never had cold feet ever no matter how cold. I also loved the traction on the bottom. Never slipped around while wearing them. They finally wore out and I looked for new ones. WOW - they were back and they were taller than the old style one's which was my only complaint of my former boots. So they are perfect as far as I am concerned. I also liked the color choices.
Activities: Trail, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

liked my old ones better

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: NH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought myself a pair of this type of boot in 2004.I loved the style the comfort and it always kept my foot warm up until this year 2012.They finally ripped.So i went to get another pair and I would have to say they are no way as good as my old ones.They hurt my ankles and were really stiff.i didn't like them at all.It felt like i was walking in a ski boot.It was awful.So i would like to know if your company has any of the old ones left at all from 2000-2004.If so how can i buy them.They were the best boots i ever had and lots of people where i live in NH are really upset about not being able to find that boot style and finding out its not being sold anymore.I need a woman's 10 1/2.If you can help me that would be wonderful.You have my contact info on file.some boots just should stay the same and never go out of style.So if its not broke don't fix it.Thank you for your time.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing, Snowboarding, Vacation
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stiff vice

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Endicott, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Between me and my husband there are FOUR pairs of Columbia boots in the house and all serve us well and are fabulous. For this latest pair, I find it hard to believe that a prototype ever was on a human being. It feels like my feet are in a plaster cast. I can walk around in my husband's size eleven Bugatech Omni with more ease of movement. What could have happened. Because I was so happy with Columbia I wore these out anyhow thinking it must be me --- not so -- after four wearings my shins and back hurt and I can't return them!!! We walk variously around country and streets close to two hours every day. What a disappointment.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Cement/Asphalt, Muddy
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best in the snow

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Waukegan, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had Columbia boots before and loved them. When I wore out the old pair, I only wanted a Columbia replacement.
Activities: Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing, Vacation
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Boot :)

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Montana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The bugaboot is great for cold weather hiking! I use them for work every day and haven't had any complaints. They are a little stiff at first, but they just need to get broken in. Excellent field work boots!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these online a week before our trip to Grand Lake, CO to spend a week hiking in Rocky Mount Nation Park in mid-October. These boots were absolutely wonderful! Great for scrabbling up steep rocks and light-enough for our day-hikes. I wore these the whole week we were there, including in the cabin at night as semi-house-shoes! The fit was perfect, even with a thick mountaineering sock, and I did not have to wear them in before hiking in them. And they were true-to the name, snow proof. During our last 2 days in CO we got to test out the snow-proofing, yay! I would definitely recommend these boots to anyone considering.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Need to be broken in

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must preface this review by saying that I've only warn these boots a few times, so they are not fully broken in yet.
That being said, ouch! These boots are very stiff around the ankles and can pinch hard enough to make your toes a bit numb, even with the laces tied at different levels of tightness. The first 3 days I wore these, I had to take them off after a few hours because my toes were starting to hurt from being numb for so long.
HOWEVER (and this is a big one!), each time I have worn them, this has been less and less of an issue. I work as an outdoor educator, so I'm outside and on my feet all day, every day. Today was the 4th day I've worn these boots and they hardly gave me any discomfort during the 15 hrs (and 4+ miles of hiking) I had them on. So, I'm feeling optimistic that they will be as comfortable as all of my other Columbia gear by the end of the week!
As far as warmth goes, these boots rock. I'd never bought anything with OmniHeat technology before (thinking it was kind of a gimmick) and these boots definitely have me converted! We've had some cold weather the past few days (mid-low 20s) and my feet stayed toasty warm all day with just hiking socks!
I haven't had a chance to take them out in the snow yet, so I can't speak to how they'll perform there. But I did hike up a (partially dried up) creek bed in them today and stepped in some pretty intense "puddles" (4-6" deep). These boots stopped any and all leaks from getting through! Can't wait to take them out in the snow.
The bottom line:
These boots seem to rock. Be patient with them at first, since they do require some breaking in. But they seem to be worth it so far!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bylolanoa
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about lolanoa is loaded.
Additional information about lolanoa could not be loaded.
Update
onDecember 15, 2013
Short version: Pinching around ankles/stiffness disappears once boots are broken in. Lacks arch support. Stylish and look like new after a year of heavy use. Leaks sometimes. Warm if you're moving around, would not recommend for standing/sedentary warmth. Overall highly recommend.
Long version: As I anticipated, these boots quit pinching as soon as they were broken in (less than a week after I posted my first review). When wearing a pack or hiking long distances, my high arches start to hurt due to lack of built-in support, but this was easily fixed with a pair of drugstore orthotic inserts.
After wearing them daily for an entire season, dragging them through mud, slush, and generally beating them up, they look almost the same as they did out of the box! I consider this quite a feat, especially considering how light the colors are. I've also gotten lots of compliments on the style.
They are not completely waterproof. The tongue/lace area leaks a bit if snow gets on it and I noticed a bit of wetness creeping in around the toe area when I wore them yesterday in slush.
I have Raynaud's, so my feet get cold VERY easily and my toes go numb in anything less than about 40 degrees. With regular hiking socks, these boots were great for keeping my feet warm during an Ohio winter (I had them in temps down to mid-20s), provided I was moving around the whole time. If I am standing or sitting around, my toes start to go numb from the cold pretty quickly. I think this is a feature of the OmniHeat, which works supremely well when your body is producing heat to reflect back (i.e. you are actively moving around) but is relatively useless once you stop moving (I've noticed when wearing these inside my feet get overheated if I'm moving around a lot, but are quite comfy if I am sitting at a desk all day)
Overall I'm very happy with these boots! As a wilderness guide with circulatory issues, I will need something more heavy duty than these for sub-zero conditions, but for general use and shoulder season weather, these will always be my go-to! Looking forward to many happy seasons with these.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Women’s Bugaboot® Plus Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm Winter Hiking Boot

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Tacoma, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got these boots to have some warm winter boots that have good traction. They are fantastic! The little silver Omni-heat dots on the inside really do make a difference in keeping my tootsies toasty! I asked a boot expert and these would be great for winter hiking/backpacking too. Though they did say I'd be sweltering in the summer so I wouldn't reccommend them for a summer hiking boot.
PS, I got mine in the black and pink and they're Super Cute!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>