Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide

Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide

Identical to the Men’s Bugaboot Plus II Omni-Heat, but offered in a wider size for men with extra-strong feet. This waterproof, seam sealed and insulated winter boot is a true workhorse for activities in cold winter weather. Fortified with new hardware, including bombproof eyelets for easy and secure lacing, we’ve also added double rivets for durability. The reflective lining traps body heat to amplify the warming power of 200 grams of Omni-Heat® insulation. When terrain becomes truly treacherous and unpredictable, the dual compound high traction rubber keeps you safe and stable.
Overall rating:
3.1 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
5 out of 10(50%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very bad choice

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Engineer
Location: Russian Federation, Moscow region, Dubna
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was going to buy such a boots during several years. But I did not have money enough. In Russia such a boots cost about 250 dollars. That is why I used more cheap models of Columbia and Merrell earlier and that boots were nice. With 200g of insulation. Finally I bought Bugaboot Plus II Omni-Heat Wide with 400g of insulation. I opted for the two models - Salomon and this one. But Salomon was a little bit more expensive. And I liked previous Columbia Titanium very much.
But this model is really bad. It is very cold in this boots. Now we have -20-25 degrees in Moscow region and when I walk really fast during 20 minutes I freeze in these boots. I have to wear my old half-price Columbia boots not to freeze.
And this is miserably. Because quality of materials is good, everything is technologically and convenient. But very-very cold. And for me everything else does not matter. And I do not know what to do next. To buy cheap, but extremely warm russian felt boots?
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Philly snow storm

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
CLY65
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1st time I wore them was in 9" of snow. They kept my feet dry but after 3hrs. the toes started to get cold, but that was twice as long as my previous name brand boots. I am going to get the brown ones as well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Boots I,ve Ever Bought

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
LongIslandTechGuy
Location: Bohemia N.Y.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just had a blizzard with 2 foot snow drifts, This time I was Prepared I bought a new snow blower new gloves new Columbia snow pants and these boots to go with it, When I first got them they fit me perfectly which is great because I have REALLY big feet I'm a 13 but really a 13 wide and the sizes for these boots are perfect (even with thick boot socks) so order the size you are. These boots let me step in 2 foot snow drifts without getting my socks wet but not only was I dry I was warm for hours in 15 degree weather with a wind-chill -1. Not only will I buy these again but I am Buying my mom a pair right now! Well worth the money these will last me for YEARS Best boots I ever Bought! (I don't work for Columbia This is Review 100% True).
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Boots

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Bmik
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought a pair of these for myself and my wife. Needed good winter boots to deal with New England winters and for snowshoeing. We have been out a couple of times snowshoeing in northern New Hampshire and the boots have been great. They are plenty warm enough, comfortable and are not heavy to walk in. We like 'em!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost too warm.

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fly51
Location: Northern Iliinois
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Firstly, Columbia wins the bet. These boots did fit well. As the website advised they ran small, I ordered the Wide model. They are almost too warm depending on the amount of activity you are doing while wearing the boots. Overall, good boot!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Uncomfortable

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Steve35
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice looking boots but after a short dog walk my feet were killing me. I hadn't noticed well enough in the store how terribly uncomfortable they are. I'll be exchanging them for something else.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Protection from elements

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
1234BILL
Location: North of Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Obtained and used immediately. Kept feet fairly warm. Used with two pair of socks worked great. Good traction on ice and in snow. Replace old pair Columbia boots that's why I bought from you this time!.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

skeptical of temp claims

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
bsimon
Location: Minneapolis
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought a pair of these at a local retailer yesterday. I wore them today, in mid single digits temperatures (F). These are replacing some well worn hiking boots that were not designed for cold weather. Wearing the same socks as in my old boots, my feet were as cold this morning as they were in the old boots in similar temps. I have serious doubts that these will be comfortable at minus five, much less the claimed minus 25. As of now I'm disappointed.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product has poor foot support.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Carol63
Location: Bloomington, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased these boots a couple of years ago. When I wear them sometimes the balls of my feet hurt so bad when I walk it them, it's hard to wear them. Also when we're on an extended trip in the truck, my feet just start burning in them and I have to take them off because I can't stand them being on anymore.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus II Omni-Heat® Wide
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Concept

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Jen98
Location: Janesville, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The first use it worked great... but has not worked since. The light blinks as if the battery is charging. The light comes on as if the boot is working properly, but no heat comes from it.
I do not recommend this product.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.