Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide

Columbia Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide

An instant classic when it first hit the scene in 1993, the Bugaboot is back and better than ever with the addition of our exclusive Omni-Heat® insulation and thermal reflective technologies.
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Woot on the Boot !

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer avatar
dynamicsportadventures
Location: Upstate NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is actually my second pair so i always have a fresh pair to wear. I use one pair for work and the other for outdoor adventures. Awesome Boot !
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Tony14W
Location: Delta Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My previous pair of Bugaboot's finally gave out after 10 years. I have size 14 extra wide feet and finding boots that fit are a real challenge! These boots fit perfectly right out of the box and are extremely comfortable...they fit better than my old pair! This has been a cold winter in this part of Colorado and my feet have been warm every day at work. Time is always the true test of workmanship but the construction seems to be very strong so far. Thanks for this product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Men’s Bugaboot, Omni-Heat

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Markboug
Location: Elmhurst Twp, Pa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Felt very comfortable for awhile. However the molded rubber inside rubs the ankle bone on my right foot and becomes very painful to walk in I finally had to wear an ankle brace padded to protect me from the pain of rubbing the bone. Other than that it's warm and comfortable and waterproof
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Most Comfortable Ever

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
BigBlueSkiesBigWhiteDog
Location: Houston, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these online for my husband a week before our trip to Grand Lake, CO for a week of day-hiking at Rocky Mountain National Park during early October. His reaction to trying them on was, "I think these are the most comfortable shoes I've ever worn." (Which surprised me because usually his reaction to something new is the complete opposite!) He wore these on the trail without wearing them in and suffered a nasty blister, but I believe this was more an issue with his socks rather than the boot. With a blister-protector, the boots worked great the next day he wore them. And we did get to try them out in the snow too, yay! Would definitely recommend these to anyone interested.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I was very disappointed

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
MindyontheMountain
Location: Pollock Pines, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought these for my husband and we live in ca but right by Tahoe so we get over 60 ft. of snow annually these didn't make it through the season. The seam split by the sole and they were done leaving me in a bad situation mid winter as he wears a 13-14 and those are difficult to find. The funny thing is my boots are also Columbia's and they are going on their 4Th season???
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytwodogs
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Please wait while more information about twodogs is loaded.
Additional information about twodogs could not be loaded.
onJanuary 26, 2013
Doesn't Columbia replace faulty products? They used to.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy boot - warm ... as long as you are in motion

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Alan2005
Location: Richmond, VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased a pair of these boots to wear on a trip to Yellowstone NP in February 2012. This trip consisted of 4 days in the park with alternating periods of snow shoeing / light hiking along with long periods of standing still with spotting scopes and binoculars while viewing wildlife in the distance. When I first received these boots they were very stiff across the top flange where it wore against the front of my leg. I put about 12 miles on the boots before the trip walking around locally and spent 2 weeks of nights and weekends just wearing the boots around the house (sweltering) - this definitely helped to flex up the top of the boots, but I ended up just keeping them laced a bit more loosely than I might otherwise have done.
Daytime temps during the trip to YNP ranged from -15 to +15 (as expected) and it snowed every day. As long as I was in motion - even light walking - these boots were fantastic - very warm. When standing still for more than 15 minutes, however, my feet very quickly became quite chilled. Probably would have helped if I had brought a closed cell foam pad to stand on top of the snow and ice, but I thought these boots would sort of cover that. Worked really well for snow shoeing. My feet remained dry in all conditions, even walking for hours through a moderately heavy snow storm.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent boot for hiking, cold weather, very comfortable

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Niagarahiker
Location: Niagara Falls
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these boots for my son I also have a pair of my own,We use them for fishing and hiking in the Niagara gorge winter months. Very comfortable boot, good traction, and very warm.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need a Wide Toe Box?

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Hurt66
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you have foot problems [bunion, hammer toe, Morton's Toe or metatarsalgia] then this winter boot is the boot for you. I ordered these boots on January 17th and they were delivered on the 19th. Initially they were a bit stiff but after two days of wear around the house they were ready to go. For the next ten days I would wear these boots trudging through the snow and ice of Sun Valley, Idaho. The boots were fantastic. Best of all, my feet were free of pain.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Snowshoeing, Vacation
Conditions: City, Snowy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring on the snow!

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
GuitarJoe
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has got to be the most comfotable boot I've ever worn. Lightweight, warm and durable looking forward to years of use from them. Now if only we could get some snow this winter here in the northeast....
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Camping
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a great pair of boots for the hubby

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
wendymommaof3boys
Location: Vancouver,washington
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Getting my hubby to finally agree that he needed new boots was a chore but.. I finally just ordered and when they arrived...great fit, loved the color, and he was very pleased with the shoe
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding, Vacation
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Come-On Winter; I'm Not Afraid!

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
JMFD
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots are going to conquer the White Mountains of New Hampshire this Winter. They are light-weight, have a gripping sole, and are "toasty warm". This Omni-Heat insulation is no joke either; it literally bakes your feet as you are wearing them. They are a little stiff at first, but break-in is not really an issue if you like to "test drive" your gear before you need to depend on it, as I like to do. Best money I have spent in a long time.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

too high

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
sunny88
Location: north texas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It takes a bit of getting used to because they are so high in the ankles but warm & comfortable especially nice that they are roomy for thicker socks, keeping them.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Windy, Other
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Randi
Location: Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband said the ones that had worn out were the best boots he ever had. So for Christmas I bought him another pair. He'll love them.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boots!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Attaboy51
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a wet fall this year in Wisconsin and bought these for deer hunting. Feet stayed warm and dry. The new insulation feature is great and I could not believe how light these boots are. I reccomend these to all the hunters out there.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Hunting Big Game, Hunting Upland
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold Weather Boots

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
bh906nhl
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The boots came in a timely fashion and the sizing was pperfect. Well designed and constructed product.
We have not had any snow/cold wether yet, but I am certain that they will work perfectly when we do.
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Bugaboot™ Plus Omni-Heat – Wide
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bugaboot Hits the Mark

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
PAWoodsman
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
  • Expert
I bought these boots to replace some work boots that were completely worn out. After wearing them for several weeks, I now feel that I made a mistake. These boots are too nice to be used as just work boots. They perform well in the woods when I cut firewood and my feet are always very warm and dry. My only complaint was that they were very stiff out of the box and the corner of the tongue of the left boot dug into my shin rather painfully at first. But once I broke them in that disappeared and they fit well. These are great boots and I look forward to getting years of use out of them.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.