Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big

Columbia Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big

One minute you’re tackling a ridge, the next minute you’re running a river. These convertible pants are the ideal solution for both multi-sport outings and unpredictable weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Review 1 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
CArpboy
Location: Australia
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Another great product from Columbia, with good fit/functionality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
TLPFlyFishing
Location: Sacramento, CA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, light weight and they dry quickly. Perfect for wading or just walking around town.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice pants

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shearwater
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A bit thicker than ultra thin but perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thought I'd try them.

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ClarkKent
Location: North Dakota
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these on a whim....tried the mom and found out that they were light-weight, extremely comfortable, and perfect for outside summer wear. I'm going to order more for next year.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convertible pant

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
mtmy2k
Location: Beaverton, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worked out very well and took up very little room in my suitcase. My only complaint was one of the cargo pockets had a ripped seam (or had not been sown, not sure which) making that pocket useless. Had I had more time before my trip I would have returned them. Otherwise they were fine.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Convertible Seam Fell at wrong place

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
sibankman
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice fit in general but the zipper and related seam irritated my leg as I walked around -- so I decided to return the pants instead of risking not enjoying wearing the pants.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent fit and function

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scubadog
Location: Oakland CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are the perfect solution for tropical vacations. Super light weight and comfortable. Tons of pockets to store travel documents securely, plus phone, music player, and anything else you want to bring along.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good... but

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kazoo
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a very light weight convertible pant. Some of the stitching has begun to come out already (after 2 wears), but there are no holes as the material has been "welded" together (similar to a tent seam I believe). I'll have to see how it wears after a couple weeks abroad. One other critique is that there is no zipper to widen the cuffs in order to easily remove the leg sections.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

summer travel pants

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bropie
Location: Carson City, NV
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traveled all over the world but last years trip to Europe was a big surprise. The big mans polo I had just put on was not cutting it. I was sweating through it in less time than it takes to write a review. On the island of Corfu, Greece there is a Columbia Sportswear shop. I told my wife let's just check and see if they have something that might fit, I wear a 4XLT (hard to find even in the States.) Lo and behold, the clerk asked me long or short sleeve and what color. I had a selection of shirts and pants that fit, comfortably, were lightweight so they wouldn't be too hot (this was early fall/late summer in Greece). So, we picked up 4 shirts. Made the rest of the trip very comfortable. I swore then that I would pickup some slacks when we got back. So, summer is coming with another trip to Greece and Italy, time to add a couple pants that fit, are cool, lightweight (easily hand washed) and comfortable to hike and walk around in. Plus, zip off the bottom half and I have a great pair of shorts. If you want a great pair of pants that are easy to wear, comfortable, cool, are easy to make shorts of and are great to walk around in then look no further as the Columbia Convertible Pants are it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glenn6868
Location: Port Aransas, TX
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pant light weight
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fabric and zip off legs

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jacki2
Location: Beaverton
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
She made the fabric a little heavier and buffed up the zips a little as well. The pants fit better for some reason. Wish they came in black and navy in the larger XXXL sizes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Change to Non-X... Sizes, Belt Needs Improvement

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Seguerski
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These Pants feel and fit great. I like to be able to put these on in the morning, unzip the legs off when it gets warm and keep going.
I love that the sizes have changed for X-whatever to actual waist sizes. The durability of the belt may come into question over some time and the pant length may be a little long for hiking with sport sandals (although the shorts length is great).
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pants with a purpose

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
wingwinj
Location: chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight travel pant which works great as a space and weight saver for the adventure travel. Lots of issues with the belt -- hard to open, feels and is "cheap"
The product work but it doesn't feel substantial and the test will be how it holds up after washing and tough wear.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.