Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size

Road rage, relationship anxiety, spread-sheet-induced stress; it’s nothing the view from the top of a 12,000-foot peak can’t fix. This multi-talented trekking pant will have you breathing in that healing alpine air in no time.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
22 out of 29(76%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Review 1 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nanny5

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Eugene, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own three other pairs of Columbia pants the same size as I ordered this time. The sizing on this pair was so far off it's hard to beleive they were the same size as my other pairs. I was so disappointed as I really liked the new color and the pants appeared to be of good quality and I thought they would be good for traveling overseas (light weight and wouldn't take up much space in a suitcare)
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I cannot say how much I adore wearing these pants. I wore them all winter with a base layer for added warmth. The woven material stayed dry in rain and snow. Moving into summer, the legs provide extra protection against morning chill and dew and convert into shorts as the day heats up.
The subtle grey I purchased is professional and transitions beautifully from the office to the field, keeping me comfortable and functional everywhere I go. I plan to order more in other colors so I can wear these great pants more days of the week.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

return

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Holland, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It turns out they were slightly small and I have to return them. Hopefully, that will go smoothly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Pants!!

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Redding, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these for my career, needed quick dry, comfortable, light weight, cool and breathable. They were everything I hoped for.
I spend the vast majority of my day bent over or squatting in the mud and water, and these pants go from soaked to bone dry in 1/2 an hour or less. Also, super comfortable to be doing extended movements in, I have had no problem leaning over, squatting or stretching.
I have used these pants in 100+ degrees, and in 60 degrees, they work great in both conditions, being neither too heavy nor too light weight for either condition.
The zip off shorts are such an amazing feature, LOVE it! If the bottom 1/2 of the pants get wet or muddy, I simply unzip them, rinse them off, and hang them out to dry (a 10 minute wait). The mud and dirt come off the fabric like it was never even there!! The ankle zip widens the leg enough that I can convert the pants to shorts or vise versa, while standing and with my shoes on.
Only bad thing I have to say is that they run a smidge small.... If there was one more size up I would have returned them and purchased that size, merely for a little added room.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality Control on sizing needed

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: North Carolina
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought a size up, 20W, because I know from past experience that Columbia sizes run small, but even though I very comfortably wear size 18W, even in cheap jeans, these pants are way too tight around the waist and thighs, and I will not be able to wear them on my vacation. I am very disappointed.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing is totally off the mark.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Monroe, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I read reviews before I bought these pants, and ordered a size up as others recommended. I can get these pants on, but if I ever need to sit down, I'm almost sure they'll split in two.
These pants are ridiculously inaccurate in sizing. Order a size or two up, and don't expect them to fit even then.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

run very very very small

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
the pants are okay, but having read reviews that they run small, I ordered 2 sizes up and they were still too small!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Too small

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I used the size chart and bought 2 sizes larger than I normally wear. I got them in the mail and they were still too small! So now I have to send them back and order a larger size (3 sizes bigger than my normal size) and hopefully they'll fit. They're really cute pants though.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Small!

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had read other reviews that these run small. I usually wear a 18 or 20W so I ordered the 20. I could not even zipper them. I think I would have had to order at least a 24 to get them on.
They will be returned. I will say the quality and all seems fine, but I was unable to use them. And I was really hoping they would be great for travel when I start in one climate and end in another.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked great for layering

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bozeman, MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had to go up one pant size because my usual size was too small. The legs were long for me, but not a problem because of the drawstring at the bottom. Worked well for very cold mornings and warm afternoons of wolf watching in Yellowstone. Could zip off the long pant and have shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

shrink terribly

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: mn
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
first off they run small and i am glad i knew this before i bought them but i was un-aware on how bad they would shrink. now i cant even wear them because after washing them they no longer fit
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally comfy - just run small!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ojai, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did read the reviews before ordering and ordered two sizes up. They are perfect! I do wash them on cool and line dry in case of shrinkage. I do wear these pants A LOT due to their comfort and durability. The bottom of the legs are easy to zip on and off as well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs more pockets!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought these pants because plus hikers are a tough find. I'm really disappointed in the sizing... after reading other reviews I ordered 2 sizes up and they just fit. Little tight across the hips but if I go up one more they'll be too big in the legs.
They are a nice hiking pant. They were long enough without needing a tall (which is unusual for me) they're a nice light weight breathable fabric. I wish there was a leg pocket on each side. IMO the whole point of hiking in hiking pants is the pockets!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

eeh

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not very impressed with these pants. They run very small and my body is not proportioned for them. The Saturday Trail Pants worked better for me. I did keep them because I was desperate.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ca
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So hard to find plus size clothes. Glad I read the reviews and ordered 1 size up. Slightly big in the waist but hips and highs are form fitting. Glad for the internal adjustments and all of the pockets!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice pants - too small

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lansing, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product would have been nice except it is about 1 size smaller than the stated size. Tight in the thigh around the zipper.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Really Well, Comfortable

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these pants to wear for archaeological excavations where I am exposed to the heat and the sun. These pants did an excellent job keeping me cool and washed well. I ordered a few sizes larger than I wear after reading previous reviews to accommodate bending, crouching, and kneeling and I wanted ample room for these movements. I definitely did not need to order quite so big, as one size larger than I normally wear would have been sufficient. The adjustable waist is a great feature. I will likely order another pair of these pants for the next field season.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hike Colorado

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Denver
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Went up two sizes because of other reviews! One size up would have been fine! I usually wear a 20, I ordered the 24 and the waist was too big. I did keep them as I had no time to exchange and beacuse the waist does have a adjustable elastic band, I set on the smallest setting. I really liked this because when we go back country hiking my waist can fluctuate daily.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for curvy women

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Springfield, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everyone is correct about the sizing of these pants-they do run small. However, it's not an overall too small, it's the hips that run small. I had to go to the next size up to fit the hips. But, I had to use the adjustments at the waist to make the waist much smaller. This causes a lot of bunching up in the back. Uncomfortable.
On the inside, there are raw edges of the pocket seaming that are not soft - they are stiff.
I love having the pockets and the belt loops. Fabric is great. Overall quality is wonderful.
The style of these pants lends itself best to the those women with little or no hips. Curvy women beware.
I'm giving these pants 3 stars just for the fit.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tight fit

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Howell, Nj
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered 1 size up just in case, but it was still too small in the seat. It pulled both front & back. Very disappointed in fit. Returning
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>