Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size

Road rage, relationship anxiety, spread-sheet-induced stress; it’s nothing the view from the top of a 12,000-foot peak can’t fix. This multi-talented trekking pant will have you breathing in that healing alpine air in no time.
Overall rating:
3.69 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
20 out of 26(77%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Review 1 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little long

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
maja
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought 1 size larger based on reviews, Good in the butt and thighs, a little too big in the waist. Way too long. Scrunch up works ok, but wish they would get this figured out.
Some measurements would be nice.
Very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfortable and easy care

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Megs5703
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and easy care for our tropical weather. Runs a little snug in the hip and thigh area so I ordered 1 size up and they were perfect. Many features on these pants make them versatile and perfect for outdoors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for apple shaped bodies

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
greycoral
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear a size 16 in several other brands of pants, and I ordered a 16W, 18W, and 20W to try on. The pants seemed to get roomier in the bottom and the legs as the sizes went up, but only marginally in the waist. I couldn't even get the 20 to button comfortably even though the rest of the pants were so large it was comical.
Definitely not good for this apple shape, you probably need to have a pretty defined waist for this style to work for you.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hiking Pant

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
CyndyK
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would have love to keep but sizing runs very small and did not want to continue to pay for shipping in case the next size was also wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

good product , size is wayyyyyy offf

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Meirav
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good product , size is wayyyyyy offf
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small waist

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
dispatcherdee
Location: Canada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pants! If the waist was a bit bigger they would be perfect, the legs are loose in comparison. The only improvement would be having an elastic waist. As others have stated they run a bit small2 sizes up should be ok! I bought only 1 size larger.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabric feels soft

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
SunshineAdventurer
Location: AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised at the fit, quality, and feel of the fabric as I usually don't order on-line clothes. The pants are a little long but that just means the shorts portion is long as well; hitting just above my knees (which I love). I am 5'5'' and usually wear 18W. I ordered 22W and the fit is just right.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Africa Tri

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
nails123
Location: Near Seabeck, Washington
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These convertible pants are just what I wanted and needed for my trip to Africa.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasantly Surprised

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Adri20
Location: Billings, MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on previous reviews, I expected these to run small and short. I am 5'10 and typically wear between a 20 and 22. I ordered the 24 regular (inseam 32). The fit is actually a bit baggy. I probably would've been fine with my normal size, but the waist is adjustable and typically layer underneath. The length is fine as well. Either the inseam measurement is off or because they are a bit large, the pants are not sitting at my natural waist.
Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase, and look forward to breaking these in!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tight fit

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
DJD60
Location: Howell, Nj
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered 1 size up just in case, but it was still too small in the seat. It pulled both front & back. Very disappointed in fit. Returning
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Really Well, Comfortable

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
IndianaJane
Location: Indiana, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these pants to wear for archaeological excavations where I am exposed to the heat and the sun. These pants did an excellent job keeping me cool and washed well. I ordered a few sizes larger than I wear after reading previous reviews to accommodate bending, crouching, and kneeling and I wanted ample room for these movements. I definitely did not need to order quite so big, as one size larger than I normally wear would have been sufficient. The adjustable waist is a great feature. I will likely order another pair of these pants for the next field season.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for curvy women

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Madeline
Location: Springfield, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everyone is correct about the sizing of these pants-they do run small. However, it's not an overall too small, it's the hips that run small. I had to go to the next size up to fit the hips. But, I had to use the adjustments at the waist to make the waist much smaller. This causes a lot of bunching up in the back. Uncomfortable.
On the inside, there are raw edges of the pocket seaming that are not soft - they are stiff.
I love having the pockets and the belt loops. Fabric is great. Overall quality is wonderful.
The style of these pants lends itself best to the those women with little or no hips. Curvy women beware.
I'm giving these pants 3 stars just for the fit.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hike Colorado

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer avatar
PeakHiker
Location: Denver
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Went up two sizes because of other reviews! One size up would have been fine! I usually wear a 20, I ordered the 24 and the waist was too big. I did keep them as I had no time to exchange and beacuse the waist does have a adjustable elastic band, I set on the smallest setting. I really liked this because when we go back country hiking my waist can fluctuate daily.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice pants - too small

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
earthturtle64
Location: Lansing, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product would have been nice except it is about 1 size smaller than the stated size. Tight in the thigh around the zipper.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Keikosmommy
Location: Ca
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So hard to find plus size clothes. Glad I read the reviews and ordered 1 size up. Slightly big in the waist but hips and highs are form fitting. Glad for the internal adjustments and all of the pockets!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs more pockets!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
jaftlc
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought these pants because plus hikers are a tough find. I'm really disappointed in the sizing... after reading other reviews I ordered 2 sizes up and they just fit. Little tight across the hips but if I go up one more they'll be too big in the legs.
They are a nice hiking pant. They were long enough without needing a tall (which is unusual for me) they're a nice light weight breathable fabric. I wish there was a leg pocket on each side. IMO the whole point of hiking in hiking pants is the pockets!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

eeh

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
LisaS
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not very impressed with these pants. They run very small and my body is not proportioned for them. The Saturday Trail Pants worked better for me. I did keep them because I was desperate.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally comfy - just run small!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
TheDogMom
Location: Ojai, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did read the reviews before ordering and ordered two sizes up. They are perfect! I do wash them on cool and line dry in case of shrinkage. I do wear these pants A LOT due to their comfort and durability. The bottom of the legs are easy to zip on and off as well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

shrink terribly

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
valerie81
Location: mn
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
first off they run small and i am glad i knew this before i bought them but i was un-aware on how bad they would shrink. now i cant even wear them because after washing them they no longer fit
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Silver Ridge™ Convertible Pant – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product worked great for layering

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Jaen
Location: Bozeman, MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had to go up one pant size because my usual size was too small. The legs were long for me, but not a problem because of the drawstring at the bottom. Worked well for very cold mornings and warm afternoons of wolf watching in Yellowstone. Could zip off the long pant and have shorts.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>