Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size

Columbia Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size

Stay comfortable, cool and protected during active outdoor adventures with this go-anywhere short: UPF 30 protection is built right in and quick-drying nylon provides excellent durability.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Review 1 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these shorts

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Merevino
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these shorts one week before vacation! I was so happy that they were fit to size and very comfortable!! The only two pair of shorts that I wore on vacation. Love the zipper pocket!!! thanks!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Sandy River Short

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Erin74
Location: Pa
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought 3 pair of these light weight easily packable shorts. Love them!! Comfortable and great for out door activity.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Big

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christine1973
Location: Charlotte, NC
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These were very large. I have to roll them over twice at the waist.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable.

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dusty15
Location: Bedford, PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice, light weight fabric. Among the nicest shorts I've ever owned.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good shorts

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ballynahinch
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like these shorts but I also ordered the cargo shorts and like them better. But these are comfortable and cool in the heat of the Florida summer. I would prefer if they were a little shorter but overall good shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Columbia shorts

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elsbells
Location: Anaheim,Ca
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shorts fit great with plenty of leg room without pulling when you sit down.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love These Shorts!

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
egwells2
Location: Birmingham,AL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a summer camp counselor, in AL. We are outside in the heat a lot and these shorts are great! They are cool and comfortable, and long enough to fit the dress code ( and they don't ride up)! I currently own two pairs and plan on purchasing more before camp starts up again!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect lightweight shorts

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Veee
Location: Oakland, CA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight, dries quickly, so great for travel and water sports. I've bought several in different colors, and this year's model has a pretty print on the inside of the waistband, for those who like to roll down the waistband (not me). My older pairs have held up quite well to extended use and repeated washings.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Workmanship---- fabric has changed

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth511
Location: Florida Keys
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love Columbia shorts however, these are not the same quality as shorts I have received in the past. Fabric is sooo
much thinner!! Had to order this size to get a 6 inch inseam length, because I could not get this length in any other short. They are too big. Needed sports shorts.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plus size Sandy River Shorts

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rcole
Location: OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these shorts. Light and cool. Use them to hike in and everyday wear. Perfect for Hawaii and AZ trips. Liked them so much I picked up two more pair. Would recommend them for plus size ladies. Very comfortable and will not ride up when walking.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatC
Location: North Carolina
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these shorts to wear on vacation, where we would be in or on the water every day. While on vacation, we had a lot of rain, so these shorts were perfect because they dry so quickly. They are extremely comfortable and the size was spot on, which is usually a problem with me. I will buy more of these shorts and certainly recommend them to friends and family.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Decent shorts

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
rosc
Location: wilkes barre, PA
These are good shorts for the price. Sizes run small however.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and airy

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Desertwoman
Location: Tempe, AZ
I bought these shorts for river rafting on the Rio Grande. They fit beautifully, are comfortable, and were dry before I got back into the car to go home.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new shorts

PostedJune 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
SpringerSpanielLover
This is the 2nd pair of Sandy River shorts I have purchased. When I received them I immediately ordered the second pair. The fit is so comfortable and they are so light weight. I love the elastic waist band.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pockets a little different

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheyenna
Location: Niceville, Fl
I love my shorts. they are extremely comfortable and cool. I wish they had a 4x the pockets are a different style than the Sandy River Short I had before and stick out some but that is because the short is a bit tight for me. But I wear them anyway because I love Columbia and its products.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Sandy River™ Short - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sandy River Short

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
jec2011
Location: Lowell, MA
I currently own 3 pairs of this short in different colors and from different years of sale. This latest one is a bit thin on the material, but still sufficient. I am quite happy with it in size 1x as it fits around my size 20 waist without making my size 18 hips and legs look like they are swimming in a dumpy pair of shorts. I like the new design with the print around the inner waist band. The color blue you offer is the only reason I was hooked into buying it as I already owned 2 pair in black and brown. It is very pretty.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.