Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant

Columbia Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant

Re-engineered and ready for action, the Ultimate ROC pant has retained all of the classic style and function of the original version, while gaining an active edge.
Overall rating:
3.96 / 5
4
 / 
5
(276 reviews) 276
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 276 reviews
5 Stars
132
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
16
1 Star
25
221 out of 271(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Review 1 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Field Pant

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: South Dakota
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I primarily use these pants in a mixed conifer forest and a scrubland environment. In a typical day at work I cover 5-10 miles over rugged terrain and through brush. These pants are very sturdy. I have yet to rip a pair. The crotch is well cut to allow clamoring over logs without constricting movement. In fact, they haven't yet worn through at the crotch, like most pants that are heavily used tend to. The water repellancy is good for quick spashes, but extended moisture will wick through to the skin. On the plus side, the material dries quickly and repells stains. The lightweight material also sheds burrs well, but if walking through thorned plants, you will feel them.
I would recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ultimate Roc Pant

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Just received my pants. They are super comfortable but size 32 is more like a 35. I have heard that manufacturers have made sizes to make fat people fell less so and guess this is an example. going to order a 30 but at 5'9 and 160 the way these are suspect I might need a 28 that is not made.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Take everything you liked about the ROC and take it to the next level. Made from even more comfortable fabric that's still durable. The Omni-Shield water and stain repellency is not a gimmick. Also has fewer wrinkles than the old ROC, but unfortunately not wrinkle-free.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Nomadic Wear

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Pants fit perfect. Light and airy, but still keeps cold out. Durable and recently got caught in a rain storm, the water beaded up rather than soaking up and they dried fast. Great Pants for all purpose.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel pants

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Customer avatar
I bought two pair for a two week trip to Italy in August. They were super comfortable. I like the zip pocket in the leg as my wallet felt more secure there. I was able to tolerate the heat and cool weather. They run a bit long but shrunk a little in a hot dryer.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Happy, but....

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Customer avatar
I like the overall feel and look, but the pants run very long. I had to return to get a shorter size. Keep this in mind when ordering to avoid having to pay double shipping by having to re-order.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and light

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Sharp looking pants that are a bit bulky but comfortable. They ran long and needed alteration, but not a huge deal. Very versatile with right-sided zipper-enclosed security pocket just above the knee. They work well as travel pants where comfort and style along with security are needed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Advertised

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Stain resistant, you bet. I wear my 'ROCs to work and I end up on my hand and knees as often as standing. The pants come out of the washer looking new.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byFishingSailor
Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about FishingSailor is loaded.
Additional information about FishingSailor could not be loaded.
New cut is not as good as old ROCs
onJanuary 22, 2012
I have had four pair of the old ROC pants. Went to Dick's to get a new pair. New cut is too low in the rise. They have to hang low like sissy pants not like outdoor pants where you have to move. Also, legs are cut like sailors bell bottoms. Bring back the old cut!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great pants, terrible fastener

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
While the pants are great, the fastener at the waist is incredibly frustrating and rarely stays closed. If you're walking on stable, flat ground, it may work, but for a more active pant, that's not always the case. Even with a belt cinching it, it often fails.
The fit is nice, the material is comfortable, and they perform admirably in wind and rain. If they used an actual button, they'd be my favorite pants.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfortable

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia
These are the most comfortable pants I have. Fit is excellent and the cut is unique. I actually bought 2 pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLuv2Travel
 
Please wait while more information about Luv2Travel is loaded.
Additional information about Luv2Travel could not be loaded.
Great for travel!
onFebruary 23, 2012
I have three of these. The leg zippered pocket is great for holding your cash and documents where pickpockets won't look. These pants are the perfect weight for any weather condition. They are easy to clean, even if you have to wash by hand. they have a ripstop ability not mentioned in the description but it really minimizes damage and takes stitches very well. I'll buy one in every color.
BTW I've worn these pants with a jacket on one occasion and it was still great.
Thanks Gert.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pants, But Watch the Length

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Chico, Ca
These are as comfortable and good looking as I hoped. Good for outdoors and also for a casual day at the office. Love the little side pocket. Fits my phone perfectly. Only negative is the length. It is not true to size--way too long. I've worn a 34 inseam all my life--this version of 34 hangs far and drags the ground. I've read this in other reviews and wonder if the designers have a reason for this?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No exaggeration: My most comfortable pants

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Oregon
I bought a pair of these in a store and then came back and bought two more pair online. They are stylish and incredibly comfortable. The fabric is soft and breaths well. I'm about to do some traveling that will involve some 12-hour flights. These are the pants I'll be wearing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feels like PJs

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Charlottesville, VA
I bought one pair at the Columbia store and liked them so much that I ordered another. The pair that came in the mail had a terrible chemical smell to them that, luckily, went away with one washing. Some others have complained about the snap, but I have no complaints since I wear a belt and it's never unsnapped on its own. These are very comfortable pants, although they run a little bit large compared to Levi's jeans, and the pockets are plentiful and smart but not bulky. I've finally learned to keep my wallet in the zippered right leg pocket and my back side feel great now. Sometimes I need to look down and make sure I'm not wearing pajama bottoms, though, because they really are that comfortable!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most comfortable pants I own!

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Read the reviews and picked up a 30" inseam instead of the 32" I usually wear, and these fit great! The fabric is a little on the thin side for a chilly day, but it is also what gives it the incredible "pajama pant" feel that another reviewer described, without lacking any of the durability you would expect. These pants have proven themselves very versitle - I have worn them for both active outside activities and dressed up at the office. I will definately be picking up several other colors.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Pants

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
I love these pants! They are so comfortable. I originally went into the Columbia store to get different pants, which were no longer offered. These were recommended by the salesman. I tried them on and immediately loved them. They were so much more comfortable than any other pants I had been trying on (different brands). I bought them before a business trip to Asia. Good thing I was wearing them on the plane because turbulence made my cup of Sprite slide off my tray table and into my lap. The Sprite beaded off the pants very well. They would have been completely dry had I been able to get out of the pool of Sprite in my seat quicker. The pants dried off quickly and my flight was comfortable. When I got home, I bought a second pair (different color) without having to think about it.
I definitely recommend them to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Pants

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Customer avatar
These pants are very comfortable. I like a thin, pliant fabric, and these pants meet that requirement. They ran a size or two large on me, in both length and width.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These pants "rock"!

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Lake Lanier, GA
  • Expert
I purchased these for fishing and found that they not only wore great but looked great too. I've worn them in fishing shows and seminars then jumped in the boat and "taken them fishing". Great pants...plain and simple!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love these pants

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: MN
I was a bit hesitant to order pants online but so glad I did get a couple pairs of these. I own the original ROC pants and rarely wear them since they just don't feel as good as some of the other pants I own. Up until now my REI slickrock pant were my favorite. These Ultimate ROCs feel tough. THey have very comfortable stitching on the pockets which makes you want to have your hands in your pockets all day. The snap is a welcome feature for anyone who looses sewn-on buttons like I do. Belt loops are super durable. Attractive embroidery on the rear. Feel tough and look good and are my new favorite. Cons are the cell phone pocket is not large enough for smart phones.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Use to LOVE...butt

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
User submitted photo
I used to LOVE these pants. I purchased these pants about a month ago from a local outdoor sports store. I wore then about 3-5 days a week for work. When I say "work", I'm not talking about something physical, but mostly sitting in a car, sitting talking to people, and sitting in an office. Within a month, the seat on these pants split horizontally. If they were a poor fit, I would expect the split to happen vertically. As it is the rip looks like the pants have been shredded and it follows the fabric texture. Hope you see the pun in the title.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byFS3BRMC
Corpus Christi, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about FS3BRMC is loaded.
Additional information about FS3BRMC could not be loaded.
Same thing happened to me
onJune 8, 2014
Same dilemma for me (split in middle of pant)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Men’s Ultimate ROC™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Columbia, SC
I was hesitant at first to buy these pants because of the price and some of the other reviews, but I bought 2 pairs right before christmas and am very glad I did. I didn't realize this at first, but these pants are very water resistant. Not to say you wont get wet, but for an example, We just had a freak snow storm in SC twice since christmas and I rolled around in the snow for about an hour each time and the sweats I was wearing underneath for insulation never got wet.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next>>