Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Griphoist™ Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Griphoist™ Pant

Built with durability in mind, the Griphoist integrates the strength and resilience of polyester with the comfort of cotton for a rugged casual pant that’s ready for action.
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
14 out of 17(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too small

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
trymd
Location: phila, pa
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
These pants are made of a good material and look good.
I am 6'3" and 190 lbs, wear 32/34 and these weren't even close. Sent them back for refund.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok pants-

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
sdexplorer18
Location: san diego
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pants are ok. Nothing makes them stand out. Pants fit at hip so you may need to size up if you wear them higher or plan to tuck shirts inside.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great adventure pants

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrizBear
Location: Pacheco Valley, Ca
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The pants are almost everything I wanted. They are rugged, comfortable and pretty much true to size. They did run a tad long. I ordered a 30 inseam but they appear more like a 31. I wish there was a 29"offering. They adjust nicely to temperature 29 degrees today and the pants kept me warm. The pants really do look surprisingly good. I am ordering more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid overall

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Morgy
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Versatile pant for sure. Sturdy, functional, and still with a good style
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pants EVER!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ste712
Location: Cincinnati
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had other popular pants forever. Never fit right. Found these on accident. I now wear nothing but Columbia Roc/ Griphoist. Out in the field or in the office they are great. I am 6' tall 190 lbs a 32x34. This fit is better than ANY other pant I have found, I bought 10 pairs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and suitable for walking through brush.

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Oddduct
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abrasion resistant with freedom of movement due to the gussetted construction and earth tone color selections make these a solid selection for fishing use along brushy banks and I plan to also use them for small game hunting as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I have returned the pants for an exchange.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bob57
Location: Byron Center, Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ordered them on Monday . . . but hadn't received them by Saturday and on Monday I left for the week. When I returned on Friday, they were between the storm door and front door. Okay. When I tried them on, they were too short. I had ordered length: 32. I really would have liked 33, but my only options were 32 or 34 . . . and I thought 34 would be too long. So I've sent them back to Oregon to exchange for a pair at 34 . . . we'll write another review when I get that pair.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits Great On This Husky Guy!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
JTollefson
Location: Concord, CA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a pretty husky individual but I did not find these pants too tight, as other other people have suggested. These seem to be comparable to my "straight loose" jeans and are actually very comfortable. The material seems heavy-duty and the UV reflection is noticable on a hot day! I also like the extra pocket.
I even like the color I chose (Trail), which is like the desert brown I was going for. So much of my close is blue and I wanted a new color to contrast with my shirts.
I almost didn't buy these after reading that other person's review, but these actually fit great and I will probably be buying these again!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Right Idea, Wrong Execution

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
CessnaFlyer
Location: Richland, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The design, material, and colors are great. Problem is the fit. Ordered the Griphoist pants based on other reviewer comments that the pants fit slim. I'm 6'3" and 210 with athletic build. It's hard to find slim fit pants in 36 x34. Label says ultra slim throughout; fit is ultra relaxed. More material in the seat and legs than other Columbia pants I've worn in the past. The waist was even large. This is the second pair of Columbia pants that seem to have sizing problems. These would be great pants if you're looking for great outdoor pants in a relaxed fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The Epic Search Goes On...

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
littleboyblue
Location: Omaha, NE
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I, being a tall slender fellow, have a difficult time finding clothes. It seems to be a typical battle cry of the lanky crowd, but nonetheless this battle was won by big business clothing once again.
The pants fit perfectly around the waist and was slightly longer on the inseam (which isn't a gripe of mine). But while everyone else is complaining about how slim fitting they are, I had the opposite point of view. The pants were too baggy.
When I tried them on I felt like I was back in the nineties. So the epic search goes on...
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

slim?

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
meyer11
Location: Powel, ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
did not realize they were slim made and had to return.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Inconsistent Labeling

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
ICTGolfer
Location: Wichita, KS
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The labeling for this product is inconsistent. The website description doesn't indicate they are ultra slim fit. However, when the product was received, the tag on the pants did indicate ultra slim fit. Very disappointing. Wish Columbia would make these pants for normal guys instead of metro (ultra slim fit) guys.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice comfortable material

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
RonG
Location: Long Island, NY
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect weight for all seasons. Front zipper pocket nice feature. I like to carry my wallet in my back pocket but these pockets all loose and feel like a wallet can be lost or taken without notice. They are deep enough but lack the velcro closures of other Columbia pants. I actually have to carry my wallet in the front zipper pocket that is much more secure. A rear zipper pocket would make these perfect and get a 5 star rating.
Pants are very comfortable but I have to be mindful of losing my wallet from back pocket.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Boating, Other
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect all purpose Pants

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
toksa
Location: Longmont, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a step above Cargo, giving you the comfortable fit of a casual pair of pants that also can be worn out to dinner. I plan on doing a lot of travel outside of the country with these pants and these are the perfect fit. Constructed very well and should be durable for all your purposes. Sizing is about spot in may be a hair smaller but nothing that would cause any issues.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Vacation
Conditions: City, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected.

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Russ09
Location: Auburn, Alabama
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After purchasing these pants online, I did not really know what to expect. When I wore them, it seemed like they were made just for me! They fit perfectly and didn't shrink after washing them a few times. I really use them for working in a retail environment but also use them for other activities.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Other
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Limited selection

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
KenJ
Location: Gibsonia, pA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the perfect pants - great fit, great wear at a great price. But why only one color - when are you going to add more?
Activities: Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Other, Vacation
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Pant - But ONLY ONE COLOR!?

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thambos
Location: North Carolina
My favorite Columbia pants (for fall and winter casual). I travel a lot and appreciate the zip pocket behind the right side pocket. This offers me a security pocket (important in travel). I found the size perfect for me. Also bought a pair of Roc Ultimates. They are great as well, but their fit is a big large compared to the Grips.
But why, oh why does the Griphoist come in only one color? I would own several pair if they made them in different colors!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Griphoist™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the pants

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
okiefo
Location: waukesha wi
This is my second pair of these pants. Liked them so much I had to get another.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.